Wedding Reviews for Great Southern Hotel Sligo

Average Rating: 5.0 out of 5 - based on 42 reviews

Is Great Southern Hotel Sligo available on my wedding date? »

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Fri, 20th November, 2015

Thank you to all the staff at the Sligo Southern for all your efforts it making our wedding day everything we wished for. It was a long year of planning and stress but without your help we would never of coped. The food was great and service was really to be highly praised, to come out so fast for all those guests without one complaint. You are running a fantastic venue with the best service i have ever seen at a wedding. We wish you all the best with future business and will highly recommend you as the venue to go to in Sligo for an amazing stress free event.

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Fri, 20th November, 2015

A big thanks to all at Great Southern Hotel for making our wedding day such a fantastic occasion. Catherine was our main contact with Emily and Deirdre adding their assistance along the way. All of our guests were warmly welcomed by and catered for throughout their stay thanks to the Chefs, receptionists and bar and all the team. Almost half of our guests travelled to Sligo and were delighted with the hospitality showed to them by the staff at the Great Southern. The food was of the highest standard and the friendly service at the bar was well received. The hotels pool proved the perfect option to ease the tired muscles from all the dancing the night before! The positive ... Read more

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Fri, 20th November, 2015

To Catherine & the Sligo Southern Wedding Team Thank you for all your help in making our day run so smoothly, the meal and service was exceptional. The drinks reception before was so much fun and everyone enjoyed the cocktails on the balcony. The bedrooms were so spacious and cosy and brand new!!! We loved our whole day and would change nothing. Thank you for the lovely surprises in the room and the way you decorated the whole venue into a fairytale!!! We will be over to stay again soon to stay with some family. Love Glenda & Roger xxx

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Thu, 19th November, 2015

Just a quick message to say thank you so much for everything in the lead up to our wedding and on the day itself. We were so happy with how the day went and people gave us so many compliments on the hotel, food, service, etc. We genuinely could not have been happier with everything .Pass on our thanks to everyone in the Southern Hotel.

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Thu, 19th November, 2015

I had my wedding reception here and it was spectacular! The ballroom is beautiful and they have so much decor to offer. The staff is very attentive, helpful, and professional! I cannot say enough great things about my wedding at Southern. Emily was so great to work with, and made sure that the day turned out amazing and stress free! The guests have not stopped talking about the food and how amazing everything tasted! Would recommend this as a wedding venue to all couple searching for the perfect venue! Love Anne

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Thu, 19th November, 2015

To Catherine, Emily & Deirdre Just wanted to let you all know how much i appreciate your help for making our wedding day run so smoothly. We all had a ball!!! The venue looked amazing and all the guest were singing your praises. The food was to die for and served piping hot. We were delighted with the table decor and the hurricane lanterns all over the room created a dream ambience. Hope to stay with you soon and revisit that beautiful bridal suite. Miss you all. Susan

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Wed, 18th November, 2015

The Southern was a dream come true for our wedding! We wanted to find somewhere that "had it all". The coordinators were fabulous and made sure everything was just how I imagined it, down to the very last detail. The food was absolutely amazing as well! Our guests are still talking about it and especially their beautiful home away from home bedrooms. It was absolutely perfect! Thank you to all the great staff of the hotel. We would highly recommend this venue for any event.

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Wed, 18th November, 2015

My wedding was perfect! I can't imagine a more beautiful venue and incredible staff. My guests were amazed at everything from the organization, service, food and beauty. I cannot say enough good things. Thank you Deirdre, Emily and all the Staff for helping us organise the most memorable day of our lives. The O'Donnell Family

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Wed, 18th November, 2015

We had our ceremony and reception at the Sligo Southern Hotel. It was beautiful! Deirdre and Emily were both very helpful and flexible. Our ceremony space was decorated lovely. The food was delicious; both the canapes at the cocktail reception and the dinner. Our guests expressed how much they liked the food. The reception space looked great. We used the hurricane lamps and crystal candle centerpieces provided by the Hotel and they were perfect. The candles added to the ambiance of the room. Our florist put loose petals around the hurricane lamps. Deirdre was prompt in answering e-mails and made herself available to us for meetings during the planning process. I would absolutely recommend the Sligo Southern Hotel!

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Wed, 18th November, 2015

When my husband and I decided to start looking for venues, we knew that we didn't want to spend our entire life savings but we didn't want to compromise on quality of our venue. The Sligo Southern offered everything that we wanted and more! Kevin & Catherine did such a great job helping us get everything done for our wedding day. I can be quite the control freak and they were amazing at responding to every question we had and even supplying photos of previous wedding setups so we could ensure our vision was going to become the reality at our wedding. They made sure everything was exactly how we wanted it, straight down to the folding style of the ... Read more

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Fri, 13th November, 2015

Thank you Catherine & Emily We were both absolutely delighted with how everything went on the day, you and the staff of the Great Southern were excellent and you had everything perfect for us - just as you said. The bridal suite was beautiful and thank you for the bouquet of flowers, they were such a treat! We did not want to leave on the Monday morning, we would have stayed another few days!!!

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Fri, 13th November, 2015

A big thank you for helping and making our Wedding Day a huge sucess. The venue was amazing, so beautifully decorated and fantastic service. The staff were so helpful from start to finish. The day would not have been possible without your help and professionalism. The food was top class"

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Fri, 13th November, 2015

Dear Catherine & Emily Thank you all so much for everything you have done to make our Wedding Day so special. The staff are amazing and nothing is ever too much. All of our guests had nothing but the best to say about everything. The meal was out of this world and the attention to detail was brilliant. Looking forward to coming back and seeing you all again soon.

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Fri, 6th November, 2015

My Wife and i got married in the Sligo Southern Hotel on February 2014, from the moment we arrived we were made feel special!! Our wedding was organised by Emily and every little detail was thought of, it was perfection!! The staff are wonderful and really looked after us and our guests really well, we had a lot of guests that travelled over for the wedding and everyone commented on how beautiful everything was in the hotel the food was fabulous and the service was exceptional!!! It was fairytale wedding for us and we will definitely be back in the future!!

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Fri, 30th October, 2015

Had my wedding at great southern sligo in june of this year...I have to say I was blown away with the service they provided. I had a civil ceremony in the hotel and the way the ballroom looked for the ceremony was stunning.I had 270 guest sitting for a 4 course meal and every single meal was delicious, hot and on time.My guest really enjoyed there meals. I had 13 little kids at the whole day and they loved it they had plenty of room to run around. My wedding coordinator Emily couldn't do enough for us.It was the best decision I made booking the great southern hotel for my wedding ..loved it. .

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Thu, 29th October, 2015

Dear Catherine & Emily We would like to Thank you and all your wonderful staff for our very special wedding day last Summer. We are delighted we choose your hotel in the end after many weeks of searching for the perfect venue. We wish you every success for the future and will return to visit you all soon. Thanks so Much Siobhan!!!

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Thu, 15th October, 2015

Every little detail was first class from when my husband and I entered the hotel until we checked out the following day .we really couldn't of wished for more. The day was just perfect . The help and work in the months running up to the wedding was amazing and everything we asked for was done without any hesitation and we truely appreciated it all. Everyone who attended the wedding still raves on about the hotel and wedding two years on !! from the food to the staff who are just exceptional , and were outstanding on the day, emily the duty manager was amazing, so helpful,friendly and attendend to our every need !! Thank you again for making my ... Read more

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Thu, 15th October, 2015

Dear Catherine and all the staff of the Southern, just writing to Thank you all for your amazing work in making our day so Fantastic!!! We, along with all our family and friends had such a time to remember. We will never forget your kindness and such professionalism especially with the delay in our band. Thank you for the quick turn around and arranging music so quickly. We really look forward to coming to visit you all again soon. BEST WISHES Angela & Henry

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Thu, 15th October, 2015

Thank you so much Great Southern Hotel for a wonderful stay last week for our 1 year anniversary, it brought back so many memories of our fairytale wedding. Your a wonderful venue for a dream wedding and I can't thank you enough for all the support you gave us. See you again over christmas break!!! xxx Eilish

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Fri, 2nd October, 2015

David and I wanted to thank you and all the staff at the hotel for making our day so special. Everything from the food to the service was amazing and I would highly recommend the hotel to any future brides and grooms. Deciding on the Southern for our reception was our best decision. Keep up the great work.

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Fri, 2nd October, 2015

To Catherine Just wanted to drop a few lines to let you know how much we appreciated all your help in the run up to our wedding. You made everything so wonderful, you saved us so much on decorations and flower costs, the room looked amazing, beyond our ecpectations. All our guests were talking about how beautiful it looked. The Food was five star and the service of all the kind staff was second to none. Thank you Catherine, see you soon. Andrew & Michelle

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Fri, 2nd October, 2015

Thank you to all the staff of the Great Southern Hotel for making our day so special, it was the most memorable day of our lives. Everything was superb over the whole weekend and we were so lucky with the weather, the drinks reception in the gardens was a real treat. The decor, food and especially the staff and service was tops. We look forward to come back to stay next year for a visit. Thanks again Sandra & Gary

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Thu, 24th September, 2015

Thank you Catherine & the whole team at the Southern Hotel for our beautiful wedding day. We had a super day and all thanks to your organisation, I would of been lost without all your help and support. We truly enjoyed everything. Thank you Linda & John

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Fri, 18th September, 2015

If you are looking for the perfect wedding venue than the Great Southern Hotel in Sligo is your only option. The professionalism, attention to detail & expertise are truly one of a kind. From the moment we met with Deirdre our wedding coordinator, our minds were made up that we were going to celebrate the best day of our lives here in the Great Southern Hotel. Deirdre was always available to meet & speak with us and incorporated some great ideas that we just simply didn't think of. She took the pressure off us and made us feel 100% confident that our big day was going to be just as special for our guest as for us. She went that ... Read more

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Fri, 18th September, 2015

Best day EVER!!!! Thank you so much to The Great Southern for making my dream come true. Could not have been more fantastic, from staff to the place, decoration etc.......

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Fri, 18th September, 2015

Thank you so much for your help and efforts in making our wedding day so special. It was more than we could ever dreamed of, we would also like to compliment your staff whose exceptional professionalism and friendliness will be long remembered" We genuinely could not have been happier with everything. Pass on our thanks to everyone.

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Fri, 18th September, 2015

I had my wedding at the Sligo Southern Hotel earlier this year and it was truly fantastic. We were made feel so special and important from the first enquiry right up to the big day. Deirdre, Catherine and the whole team were just amazing. They paid such fantastic attention to detail and really helped with planning to ensure the day went off without a hitch. I can't thank you enough.

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Fri, 18th September, 2015

My husband and I just recently had our wedding ceremony and reception here 2 months ago, and our already high expectations were blown away with how perfect it turned it. I have always wanted my wedding here since I was a little girl. Our coordinator, Catherine, was wonderful and helped with every step of the process. She made sure all of our accommodations were met and was there the day of to help guide us through the timeline and schedule. The day was smooth and relaxed with nothing that I had to worry about. She coordinated with our vendors to ensure proper arrival time and to make sure all bases were covered. We received so many compliments from the guests ... Read more

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Fri, 18th September, 2015

Thank you Sligo Southern Hotel for our Fantastic Wedding day. It was perfection. We loved our bridal suite and all the decor, the food was superb, the staff were so friendly and nothing was a problem. Thank you for organising our special request foods and looking after all our guests that travelled over to Ireland, they had a great visit and loved the hotel and our wedding day. Thank you. Love Ania

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Thu, 17th September, 2015

To all the wonderful Staff at the Sligo Southern Hotel. We want to Thank you so much for making our day so so special. We loved every minute of it and wish we could relive the whole day again. Everything from the welcome drinks, food and service was outstanding. The ballroom looked like a fairytale with all your decor and dream candelebras and fair lights, you were all such a great support in the lead up to the big day. Thank you Angela & Marc x

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Tue, 15th September, 2015

Thank you so much Catherine and to the crew at Southern Hotel for helping make a blissful evening for my husband, myself, and our guests. Everything was seamless, the staff was amazing, and we couldn't have been happier. Thank you, Sheenagh & Brianie!

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Mon, 14th September, 2015

Wow... I can't begin to express how incredible they are. From all the staff to the many surprises, they made our magical day absolutely perfect. Thank you so much to the team at Sligo Southern Hotel for making the beginning of our Marriage so incredible. We would recommend this hotel to all looking for that extra special attention on their special day. Andrea & Liam

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Tue, 8th September, 2015

Hi Catherine We just want to say a huge THANK YOU to yourself and all the staff for all your hard work in making our wedding day so special. Right from arriving at the hotel to the personal touches during the meal, we found everyone around us could not do enough in helping us in any way possible. The meal was fantastic and everyone commented on how good the food was. Finally to everyone else in the back round chefs, catering staff, bar people, waiters and waitress they all were fantastic. I would recommend the Sligo Southern hotel to any couple getting married. Gina & James

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Mon, 7th September, 2015

I recently got married at BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel. I worked closely with Emily who is one of the wedding coordinators. She was amazing every step of the way. I live in London and had to do most things long distance. She made sure everything was perfect and would send out friendly reminders if I was behind. The entire staff there were friendly and personable. The ceremony was outside in the beautiful gardens and they set it up perfectly. I couldn't believe how amazing the staff set up the reception. I was busy getting ready and just gave Emily all my decorations. The place was fabulous. I feel like I am rambling on but I only have good things ... Read more

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Fri, 4th September, 2015

To the Wonderful Team at the BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel- As we approach our 1 year anniversary Sarah and I would like to say 'Thank You' and let you and your crew know how appreciative we are of the great job you did last September. We could not have asked for anything more. Our friends and family till this day comment on how fantastic everything was. You all certainly made it memorable for us. We look forward to celebrating our anniversary with you this Saturday. Thank You Again! Robbie & Sarah

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Tue, 1st September, 2015

I had my engagement party here December 2011, we thought it was such a beautiful venue that we just had to have the wedding here too! So we booked it for our wedding in November 2012 and it was the best choice we've made. Stunning venue, friendliest staff and so welcoming & polite! The food is cooked to perfection! Recommended to almost everyone looking for a venue for functions!!

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Fri, 28th August, 2015

It was great working with you this past year...planning the wedding. You guys did such a great job. The food was delicious!! The venue was beautiful and you are so professional and fun to work with. Thank you for making our day so special and happen without any issues! Everything was perfect! Everyone complemented the food, it was fabulous. Our guests had a wonderful time."

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Fri, 28th August, 2015

I used the Sligo Southern Hotel as our ceremony and reception venue. It is simply beautiful and elegant, and really a gem hotel that does not require much effort in decorating because it is already stunning on its own! The staff were very professional, well dressed, and accessible for whatever our guests requested. I called and visited several times during the planning process and they were always available and eager to assist with whatever I needed. Our wedding turned out beautifully thanks to the Sligo Southern Hotel!

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Fri, 28th August, 2015

" I would like to express our gratitude to everyone at the Sligo Southern Hotel for making our Wedding Reception such a memorable occasion. From our first meeting with our Wedding Coordinator Emily and her team, we immediately realised we were in very good hands and their advice and expertise was invaluable in making all the arrangements and guiding us in our planning. The chef and team produced the most wonderful food for the reception and tailored the menu as required; nothing seemed to be too much trouble. The ability to offer a choice for all courses was a real bonus and was much appreciated by our guests and with an experienced waiting team the service delivery was faultless. We ... Read more

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Fri, 14th August, 2015

"Thanks so much to you and all the staff for making our Wedding Day so special. All of our guests commented on how professional everyone was and how well organised the day was. You really went that extra mile for us, not just on the day but throughout the year also. We are really grateful that we have so many memories to treasure from our Special Day." Gareth & Amy

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Fri, 14th August, 2015

"We would like to thank you very much for all of your hard work and effort. From the moment we booked the wedding we received nothing but invaluable advice, help and professionalism. The day was a huge success due to your excellent service, attention to detail and you’re never ending attentiveness." We will be sure to recommend the Sligo Southern Hotel to anyone getting married! Thanks again Marie & Steve

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Tue, 21st October, 2014

I attended my friend's wedding at the Sligo Southern and can honestly say it was one of the best weddings I have ever been to. Everything about the venue was perfect. We were able to get the train down from Dublin as it is literally right beside the train station, other friends travelled by car and were equally happy as lots of parking. From the moment you walk in the lobby the place is just gorgeous - really beautifully decorated - and the lobby had loads of space for us to sit and have tea and coffee and chat as everyone started arriving. We all arrived on the Friday - to make a weekend of it - and the hotel ... Read more

Is Great Southern Hotel Sligo available on my wedding date? »