Wedding Reviews for Ambassador Hotel

Average Rating: 5 out of 5 - based on 16 reviews



on Wed, 31st of August, 2016
It has taken a while for me to write this review as I couldn't put into words how utterly amazing Gillian O'Mahony was in helping us create our dream day at The Ambassador Hotel and to all of her team on the day who all worked together and made it all go so perfectly! We attended the hotel's wedding

Read More

fair a year prior to our wedding and this was the first time we had been back to the Ambassador since it's refurbishment and we were so impressed. The whole hotel from top to bottom is beautifully presented, the bar/restaurant rooms were all excellent and the Belleview suite for the wedding reception was exquisitely laid out, so much so that we took photos and sent them to Gillian afterwards asking for this level of presentation to be repeated on our wedding day which it of course was, in addition to our personal touches which we requested all which Gillian kindly did, proving her thoughtful attention to detail. We both live in England so we were only able to get back a couple of times to meet with Gillian to run through everything. Each time she went out of her way to organise everything perfectly for us and she always replied so speedily to every email I sent which helped me feel so confident in her abilities to make sure our day would be everything we dreamed it would be. Our food tasting was out of this world and we only wanted some slight tweaks to it, which the lovely head chef who came and spoke with us in person completely adhered to. We also asked for a couple of things that they didn't offer on the menu and which Gillian sourced for us and made happen which we were so grateful for! The hotel is perfectly set on the hillside overlooking the beautiful city of Cork, this offered fantastic photo opportunities for our wedding which we will cherish forever. Honestly have your wedding at The Ambassador Hotel as the staff really do go out of their way to make it the day of your dreams, I couldn't fault anything they did, we felt so supported throughout the whole process
on Tue, 9th of August, 2016
“Wedding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

We had our Wedding at the Ambassador on the 2/6/16 and would highly recommend anyone looking for a hotel for a civil ceremony or reception to consider this beautiful hotel! From start to finish we dealt with Gillian O'Mahony and this

Read More

woman is like the fairy godmother for wedding planning! From our first initial meeting at the hotels wedding showcase we both fell in love when she showed us around and booked the very next day!! She helped to calm my nerves (a lot!) And took care of any special requirements we needed as we were also getting married there and had the ceremony and reception room beautifully decorated! Quotes from family and friends were that it was like a fairy tail! Everyone was raving about the food it was delicious! The bridal suite was beautiful and had stunning views of the city. Our guests had a very relaxed time at the drinks reception as they got to enjoy the beautiful weather outside. The staff we dealt with were so friendly and professional we would both like to thank Gillian, April, Alex, Denis, Graham,Dillon, David and Edel and the rest of the staff for their hard work on our amazing day and our wonderful stay at the Ambassador! We look forward to our next stay!

on Wed, 30th of September, 2015
We had our wedding reception at the Ambassador hotel in September 2015. We could not have asked for more and would highly recommend the Ambassador hotel as a wedding venue. On the lead up to the wedding, Colm and Gillian were highly professional and accommodating, no request was too big or too

Read More

small. All the little details and personal touches we asked for were all taken care of. Dinner service was top class, our guests were very complimentary about the quality and quantity of food. The reception staff looked after our guests, rooms are tasteful decorated and spacious. The Bellevue suite is beautiful, and was a stunning backdrop for our wedding. Colm and the staff made our day memorable, their attention to detail, professionalism and the courtesy they showed our guests was outstanding. The hotel, food, staff and service was wonderful. We could not have asked for more. To any future couples reading this review, don't hesitate to choose the Ambassador Hotel , we will never forget our special day there.
on Fri, 28th of August, 2015
Words can barely describe how wonderful our special day was. Colm and his entire staff waited on us hand and foot, nothing was to much trouble, they even orgainsed the sunshine. Our guests are still talking about the food and service they recicved. We would recommend this to anyone who is looking

Read More

for that special service.

Juila and Robert
on Mon, 9th of February, 2015
Out standing service
We ask for quality on our wedding day and we got it in bucket loads
Top quality service
Food is 5 star quality
Moste reasonable rates
We have plans to return again on our anniversary
on Fri, 8th of August, 2014
Hi Chris,


We would just like to thank you most sincerely for the most magical day ever. From start to finish our wedding day was just beautiful. The Ambassador is simply gorgeous, fresh, clean with a lovely vintage feel. The staff were just so friendly and helpful that everyone commented on

Read More

how lovely they all were. The meal was perfect and the dining room was breathtaking with a beautiful fairy-light backdrop. There are so many things to mention but one I will mention, the sweet trolley!! everyone loved it! We had a few musical interludes and at first were not sure if the hotel could accommodate this but again, not a problem! we were treated as if we were the only couple ever to get married at the hotel which feels very nice, after all so much work goes into planning a wedding that after all the hard work it's the best feeling ever when everything goes to plan. The next day we were treated to another night in the bridal suite, no matter what we wanted it was there, all our guests were delighted with the day and a lot of our guests had booked in overnight and were all very pleased. We would recommend the Ambassador Hotel so highly and we will always remember the hotel with great fondness. Can't wait to visit again for a meal and a chat.

Joanne & David McCall. 2/8/2014
on Wed, 23rd of July, 2014
The minute we walked into the Ambassador we knew this had to be the venue for our wedding. From the minute we booked until we left after the wedding the staff went above and beyond for us. Every time we met with the wedding coordinator was a great experience they helped out with every aspect of the

Read More

day by giving us ideas about decor and planning right up to helping us find a photographer when ours cancelled at the last minute. The day itself went off without a hitch. The rooms were decorated so beautifully and nothing was too much trouble during the reception. We truely had the most amazing day thanks to Chris, Rhona and all the staff that played a part in our day. I couldnt fault the day and would highly recommend The Ambassador to anyone, you won't find a better venue.
on Tue, 22nd of July, 2014
We celebrated our wedding in the Ambassador Hotel on January 2nd 2014. We had made advanced enquiries with a number of hotels and it was only by chance that we called in for a coffee but immediately were taken with the intimacy and charm of the hotel. After meeting with Gillian and dealing with

Read More

Rhona, Alan and Chris, we were very happy to select the Ambassador as our venue. The wedding team couldn't be more helpful and facilitated all our needs and requests which allowed for a relaxed atmosphere in all the preparations. With the unique mix of nationalities and cultures, the hotel staff blended in seamlessly and everyone felt very welcome and comfortable. It was just after New Year so there was still a special feel with all the decorations and seasonal Christmas atmosphere. Once the party arrived at the hotel, EVERYTHING just went perfectly - the reception, meals, evening food, lighting, music, all the little details. As we write this, the memories bring big smiles to our faces. All our guests were singing the praises of the hotel on the day and at breakfast the following morning. We enjoyed the sumptuous bridal suite for two nights before continuing on our honeymoon. We are so very happy to have chosen the Ambassador for our wedding and are very grateful to all the staff for making it a wonderful experience for ourselves and our families. We're already looking forward to returning for our first anniversary. We certainly would recommend the hotel to any couple planning their wedding. It offers very competitive packages without compromising on quality or service. The hotel delivered on every promise and assurance. Kind regards, James and Regina
on Sat, 19th of July, 2014
We were lucky enough to celebrate our dream wedding day in The Ambassador Hotel on sept 14th 2013.The hotel speaks for itself, oozing charm and hospitality as soon as you walk in the door. Both Rhona and Chris felt like part of the family as our day approach, every detail minor or major

Read More

dealt with professionally & efficiently at all times putting our minds at ease about how fantastic our day would be, and they surpassed our every expectation.
The whole staff from house keeping to management are fabulous, they genuinely seem to care about all their guests and are so helpful, friendly & obliging- a credit to management.
I was looking for a comfortable but classy feel for our day and the ambassador delivered 100%, all our guests received a fantastic service and have raved about our venue since.
On the day the absolutely fabulous receptionist whose name escapes me now even took some photos from her desk for us that she thought may have been missed in all the buzz and hype.....how could you possibly ask for anymore.
The morning after my big day didn't go to plan, my little girl decided mommy was not to have a lie in. Again staff at the hotel stepped in and surprised my husband and I with our amazing champagne brekkie the following morning after a lovely lie in....its the little things that can make or break a big day and its these little details and touches that the staff in The Ambassador carry out with ease and sophistication.
The honeymoon suite is so full of charm, clean and welcoming that the hardest part of our stay was having to leave.
The ambassador provides an excellent professional but personal service, the menu choices are extensive and the chefs were so open and helpful when I wanted to changed a dish slightly after our tasting dinner. My guests raved for days about the quality of food and the fantastic service that each and everyone of them received from waiting & bar staff.
I would highly recommend The Ambassador to any couple looking for value for money for their big day, what you get is charm, class,sophistication, professional service but most importantly the ever so friendly open 5* service and personality which ONLY The Ambassador can provide.
we have attended many a wedding the length and breath of the country and hand on heart I can genuinely say the staff and charm of this hotel has never been beaten.



on Thu, 17th of July, 2014
Having searched for our dream wedding venue for what seemed like an eternity we had almost resided to the fact that we would never find it and we nearly gave up. It was a cold, wet winters day when first stepped foot into the hotel to have a look around and we were instantly captivated by its

Read More

intimacy and old world style. We didn't even have an appointment to view the hotel, we just went up there on a whim hoping that the staff would let us have a look around. To our great surprise we welcomed with open arms and the fantastic Gillian showed us the venue and discussed everything they had to offer. Instantly we were hooked, the hotel was perfect, a country house full of vintage charm right in the heart of the city. We thought we would have to travel miles to find a venue like this but thankfully it was right on our doorstep the whole time. I think in total I spent about 20 minutes in the wedding car going from my house to the Church and then to the Ambassador. This gave us loads of time to enjoy our day with our friends and families. Rhona the events coordinator and Chris the manager could not have been more helpful throughout the whole process. We ended up changing our wedding date and it was absolutely no problem to them, they were so reassuring. Rhona was amazing and was the best events/ wedding coordinator I could have asked for, no task was to great for her. It's hard to put into words how wonderful she is at her job. Everything was done to perfection and the prepared to the finest detail. Chris, Rhona, Gillian and Alan were all there to give us a big welcome when we arrived at the hotel on our wedding day. The food was faultless and flawless. The best meal we have ever eaten. The chef, kitchen staff and waiting staff were fabulous. All of our guests had a great day and lots of them even said it was the best venue/ wedding they had ever been to. We couldn't be more grateful to the Ambassador Hotel family for giving us the most amazing day of our lives.
on Wed, 16th of July, 2014
Myself and my Husband Martin had our afters at the Ambassador hotel last year 3/5/2013, It was that most amazing hotel .The most amazing staff,we went with this hotel solely down to it's staff.The day we went in for a look we met Chris the manager. We felt like we knew him all our lives and straight

Read More

away we knew this was the hotel for us.We couldn't have had a more perfect day. From start to finish everyone in the hotel looked after us and all our guests.People are still talking about the food till this day,it was amazing.We were invited back on our first year anniversary for a three course meal and over night stay and the standards were as high as we remember.We would highly recommend this hotel to every couple getting married as they will not be disappointed.
Kind Regards
Denise and Martin Hallahan.
on Wed, 16th of July, 2014
I can not recommend the Ambassador Hotel enough for Weddings. It being my Wedding day the 2 things I wanted was 1. No stress and 2 for everyone to love the hotel we had chosen. We looked at 8 venues for our Wedding and we were blown away by the Ballroom in The Ambassador. What a hidden treasure! We

Read More

decided to look at the ambassador based on location but we were so pleasantly surprised at how amazing the room was. The bridal suite was also fabulous. What really got us was how lovely and accommodating the staff were. There was nothing too big or too small for Rhona and Chris to deal with before the Wedding and on the night everyone made us and all our guests feel like royalty! I knew in the build up to my Wedding I had nothing to worry about at all. The staff were in contact saying everything was under control and emailing to remind me of things I may have forgotten. The menu tasting was an event in itself. We were spoilled for choice. I had a lot of guests with Dietary Requirements (including myself) and these were catered for to the best standard I have ever received. Every guest was blown away with our wedding room and with how gorgeous the food was. Everything was 5 star quality. We got a beautiful gift from the hotel as well upon arrival and we had so much bubbly brought to our suite through out our stay. The breakfast the next morning was delicious and again was accompanied by more bubbly. 6 months on I am still hearing about how beautiful the room was, how lovely the staff were and how delicious the food was. I can not recommend it enough. If it was not on your list of places to view I would add it to the list. It is great for all types of weddings, especially vintage. I hope this helps in your quest for the right venue for the perfect day!
on Fri, 16th of May, 2014
Perfect Wedding
We had our Wedding at this hotel on 6/10/2012 and we couldn't have found a better hotel if we tried. The hotel itself is absolutely gorgeous. It’s full of charm, very homely and cosy while having a vintage feel to it. The staff are fantastic, especially Patricia and Alan and also

Read More

April on reception who is always ready for a conversation and a laugh. The management and staff couldn't do enough for us. We honestly couldn't fault the place if we tried. The views are amazing there, especially from the bridal suite. You can see over the whole city!! The rooms are very spacious and beds are extremely comfortable. We would highly recommend the Ambassador hotel to anyone and can’t wait to stay there again in the future.
Helen & Gearoid..
on Fri, 16th of May, 2014
“Just Perfect”
My husband and I had our Wedding reception in this beautiful Hotel last year and I would always do it again. The staff is really lovely and the organisation before the wedding and on the day was just brilliant. I'm German and my husband is Irish and we wanted a German dessert in

Read More

our menu and the Chef of the hotel made the best Apple strudel I have ever tasted in my life for our menu tasting. The Event Manger in the hotel is very professional and she was always available for questions and gave us a lot of tips regarding our reception. The evening itself was wonderful and the food was just divine and all our friends and family where delighted with the staff. The hotel itself has a beautiful vintage look and the rooms with the balcony are just perfect and everything was spotless. I would recommend the hotel to everybody, if family, couple or just for a city trip. The price of the rooms is more then great and our wedding package was absolutely reasonable.
I Would always go there again and recommend it to every couple that is looking for a great venue for their Wedding reception.

Svea & James
on Fri, 16th of May, 2014
We chose to have our wedding here, in the Ambassador Hotel, Cork, in September, 2012. From our first investigatory visit all the way up to when we left two days after our wedding, we were made to feel welcome, no issue was insurmountable and the quality of what was delivered from staff

Read More

was second to none. We'd looked at a number of hotels around Cork but, when it came to our own particular set of requirements, the Ambassador Hotel matched them most closely. It was also in no small way helped by the fact that the lovely Holy Family Church is just across the way from the hotel which helped massively with both our own and our guests' convenience on the big day; the hotel should really use this as more of a selling point.I'd heard that the food in the hotel was good before I ever went there and I'm delighted to able to say that the standard was high in both our tasting menu evening and on the day itself with the goat's cheese and the beef coming in for particular positive mention from a number of people that I talked to. The day (and night) went off without a hitch with staff keeping us updated as to what was going on, when it was happening and so on and, as a sign of how good a day we were having, the band had to ask us if we were ready to start nearly an hour after they were due to; we just hadn't noticed that it was that late! After an evening of dancing and celebrating. we enjoyed the relative relaxation of the residents' bar before retiring to the luxurious bridal suite which, because we got married on the Saturday, was ours for both the Saturday and Sunday night. It was lovely to have our champagne breakfast with the great views from the bay windows in the suite which overlook much of the panorama of the city centre. A huge thanks to all the staff that we dealt with: Chris, Patricia, Roy, Alan, Don and all the others whose names I've forgotten - you were all truly friendly and professional

Kieran & Sheila
on Fri, 16th of May, 2014
“My fairy tale wedding venue”
I had my wedding in the Ambassador Hotel on New Years Eve 2013. There are not enough words in the dictionary to describe how helpful, warm and genuine the staff were from start to finish. They met every single one of my bridezilla demands, no matter how big or

Read More

small they were. They advised me in every single aspect and were so helpful and genuinely interested.

The day itself exceeded my wildest dreams, I had kept it together for the whole morning and during the ceremony and it was only when I walked into the Bellevue suite that the tears started to flow. I have been imagining walking into my wedding reception with my new husband for 13 years and nothing could have prepared me for the magical room that was in front of me. Chris, Rhona and Alan truly outdid themselves, it was breathtaking and even my new husband was dumbfounded (trust me when I say it takes a lot to excite him). The decor of the whole hotel really tied in with my vintage style wedding, from the moment we entered I knew we had made the best choice. The drinks reception was perfect as were the pre dinner canapés, scrumptious. Dinner itself was faultless and the staff, outstanding. Huge thanks especially to graham who served the top table. All of our guests were raving at how yummy the food was and how warm and friendly the staff were. They had everything cleared promptly so the real party could start and were there through the whole night if I had any questions/ demands and more importantly did everything I asked of them throughout the night.
If I could give 100 stars I would!!

Joanne & Kevin—31st December 2013
Great! you are going to make a supplier or venue a favourite. But first you need to ...
Log in Or Create an Account