Wedding Reviews for Markree Castle

Average Rating: 5 out of 5 - based on 53 reviews



on Mon, 19th of August, 2019
We had the most beautiful wedding celebrations; better than we could ever have imagined. This was mainly down to Markree Castle. Firstly, Deirdre and Nicholas and the team were brilliant, so responsive, accommodating, thoughtful, knowledgable, efficient and professional in every way. Our family

Read More

members, some of whom are disabled and elderly, were treated with the utmost care and respect which we greatly appreciated. Markree, inside and out, is truly magnificent. Every inch of it decorated with uniqueness and precision, as well as, maintained to the highest standard. We were allowed access to all areas and it was delightful freely exploring the beauty of it. The food was also beautiful. The canapés, wedding meal, buffet and breakfast all lived up to our expectations and pleased our guests very well. Overall, we could not recommend Markree highly enough. We were blessed to have celebrated the beginning of our married life there and we will definitely be returning to reminisce when possible!! Many, many thanks Deirdre, Nicholas and all the Markree team. Keep up the GREAT work!
on Sun, 4th of August, 2019
Where do I start?! From the moment we set foot in Markree Castle we were blown away by its beauty and old world charm. We knew straight away it was the venue for us.
From the jaw dropping entrance to every beautiful room throughout the castle, it really feels like you are transported back in time.

Read More


It has been carefully restored to a very high standard, the attention to detail is second to none and the service certainly matches this.
We dealt with Deirdre and Nicholas throughout the planning process and they couldn't have been more helpful. They really ensured our guests and ourselves were well looked after over the whole weekend.
The food, wine, and service was exceptional and our guests are still talking about the beef fillet.
We had the entire castle to ourselves for two days and we really felt at home.
Thanks to the entire team at Markree Castle for making our wedding weekend so special. It really was a dream come true, and we cannot wait to return soon.
Sharon & Alan
on Wed, 17th of July, 2019
Our special day was made perfect by the amazing castle and team at Markree Castle. Deirdre, Nicholas, Alex and all the staff were exceptional. Everything was organised so well and with such great detail.
And the venue ..... it’s spectacular! Our photos are stunning. The castle is such a

Read More

beautiful venue, we fell in love the first time we saw and fell in love again every time we’ve seen it since. Your guests will be blown away.
We were married in the chapel and it was definitely my favourite part of the whole day and venue. It’s so so beautiful and one of the reasons I fell in love with the venue in the first place.
We loved the exclusivity also and a number of guests commented on how nice it was to feel like everyone you spoke to was family and part of the day.
A number of guests are also planning to go a night stay as they loved their room, the grounds and the whole venue.
The food was delicious. Everyone enjoyed it, it was hot, well cooked, presented and served, good sized portions and an overall A++.
The dancing/evening reception area was also a great selling point. Our guests were able to make their way downstairs once the cake was cut and there was no hanging around.
The whole day was so seamless.

Thanks again to Nicholas, Deirdre, Alex and the whole team. We really appreciate your patience, expertise and professionalism throughout the whole experience. We’d highly highly recommend the venue to anyone!
on Thu, 4th of July, 2019
There are not enough characters to tell you how wonderful a venue Markree Castle is. It's breathtakingly stunning but warm and homely at the same time. Deirdre and Nicholas were outstanding hosts and nothing was too much hassle for them, they're both a fantastic asset to the venue. They followed up

Read More

with clear communication on everything and helped us with our every request. As a bride my attention to detail is pretty good but they had thought of things on the day that I never would have. When guests were away from their tables to go to the toilet or the bar, a member of staff would come over and put a cover on their food to keep it warm!! Guests are still commenting on the food, we had a choice of fillet of beef, seabass or chicken and they were all fantastic. We also had a couple of dietary requirements and my vegan friend tells me it was the best vegan wedding meal she had ever had. The whole day ran like clockwork but didn't feel rushed, Nicholas made sure we had some time to relax, sit back and enjoy the day. One of my favourite parts of the day was the quiet time with our bridal party right before we entered the dining room. We all sat and drank prosecco in the stunning room upstairs, they took our meal order and we had a little moment to breathe. The venue itself is breathtaking, even to just walk around and look at it, which many guests did. The dining room, the staircase, the bar, even the guest bedrooms are all outstanding. My only complaint is that there were not enough hours in the day, as everyone says it flies by but it was a happy, love filled day from start to finish and booking Markree was the best wedding decision we made. We will be back for many more visits, it will always have a special place in our hearts.
on Tue, 18th of June, 2019
To Deirdre, Nicholas and all the staff at Markree Castle.

We don’t know where to begin to start to thank you for giving us the most wonderful wedding day we could ever have imagined.

All your help and professionalism in the lead up to the wedding was just brilliant and it took away all the

Read More

stress and ensured we were able to enjoy the build up.

The day itself was just magical, with the venue, outdoor ceremony setup and food all fantastic.

Since the wedding so many of our friends and family have said to us how friendly, wonderful and helpful the staff were and it can’t be underestimated just how much that feeds through to the atmosphere at a wedding. The staff at Markree are a credit.

It has been nothing but a pleasure dealing with ye over the past number of months and we can’t wait to return to stay in the castle for a few nights!

Again thank you so much for giving us such a wonderful day and happy memories.

Mark and Carol
on Mon, 17th of June, 2019
Our wedding day at Markree Castle surpassed all of our expectations. The beauty and presentation of the venue was matched by the efficiency of service and quality of the food.

Deirdre and Nicholas were so helpful from the beginning and the fact that they and all of the staff were so chilled out

Read More

and professional on the day really put ourselves and our guests at ease. We had the perfect day and our guests are still talking about their experience at Markree!
on Mon, 10th of June, 2019
The location and venue are just stunning, from the manicured lawns, luxurious bedrooms and beautifully restored original features, the castle is the stuff of fairytales. Management were so welcoming and very attentive and accommodating to our needs throughout the planning process.

We were lucky

Read More

enough to have our drinks reception, speeches and our band play out on the patio - this was well organised by the team and made for a fabulous setting and atmosphere.

Food choice, service and quality were all fantastic and the castle now being able to offer couples a menu tasting only provides further reassurance. Breakfast in the bridal suite the following morning was also fantastic! We were able to remove the soup course from the meal which we found meant people were satisfied yet not stuffed and therefore ready to dance after the meal! The downstairs entertainment area is a gorgeous and very unique location for partying late into the night and also allows for a seamless transition from the meal into the evening entertainment. Our numbers were 160 which meant to dance floor was nicely full all night - perhaps larger numbers might struggle a little for dancing space? The kitchen area also provided a quieter space especially for some of our older guests to relax and have a chat. Our only recommendation would be to check exactly the inclusions for the drinks reception which may help you to plan and anticipate a little more though it is so hard to gauge how much people may consume especially on a warm, sunny day outdoors.

Deirdre, Nicholas and all of the team really helped us to have what we can only describe as a magical day. Since our big day we have had endless compliments regarding the venue and all of its provisions and would whole heartedly recommend this venue to anyone and everyone seeking a fairytale day.
on Mon, 10th of June, 2019
Deirdre and Nicholas in Markree are so professional and great to deal with. Management changed between booking and our actual wedding date which I though would be a nightmare but Deirdre was fantastic! Would def recommend! Markree Castle.

The amount of guests that said their food the best food

Read More

they EVER had at a wedding, was lovely to hear!
on Tue, 7th of May, 2019
Markree Castle is the most amazing setting for a wedding ever!! We booked the castle as soon as we walked in the door!! And from the word go we were welcomed and helped by every member of staff.

Deidre and Nicholas helped in any way possible to the lead up and very hands on on the day. They

Read More

couldn't do enough for us. They are so approachable and only want the best for you. Deirdre even cradled our baby asleep while the speeches were happening. Thank you both so much.

The rest of the staff are also amazing, a special mention to the lovely Les, and the very funny Eoin!

The church, although small for a large wedding, was very cosy! We had doubts but it fit 140 guests for us, some standing, but no complaints. For us its the most beautiful part in the Castle.

Reception was great. Big windows let the Spring sunshine in on us all and people were loving the surroundings, and the canapés and prosecco!

Food was outstanding, from the starter to the tea! We had some doubts about the food as we heard mixed reviews, but when we got to the tasting day we found the food was amazing and had a difficult time completing our menu. We had the seafood plate and Cesar salad to start, Curried Parsnip Soup, Chicken/Duck or seabass as mains, and the taste of Markree to finish(the chocolate fondant is to die for!!) We have some critics in our families and one person in particular who is a chef reckons its the nicest sea bass he's ever had!! House wine was also tasty and went down very well with the food!

The evening reception was a surprise for the guests as they didn't know they were been taken to a 3rd location to dance the night away!! Plenty of space for dancing and mingling for the guests and nice and close to the bridal suite for the bride to change her shoes!!!

Guest rooms are also a real crowd pleaser!! Each in their own way amazing!!!

Advice - You need to see it to believe it. The pictures, as amazing as they are, don't do it justice. Go and see this absolute masterpiece.
on Tue, 9th of April, 2019
Just know that if you book your wedding here, you will not only have an amazing life experience, but you are guaranteed to have stunning photographs as well.

Guests raved, and can't stop saying, it was the best wedding they have ever and will ever attend.

Venue: My husband and I live in the

Read More

USA and wanted a unique destination wedding experience. While looking for castles all around Europe, the Markree definitely stood out aesthetically and had the best value. We rented out the entire castle for 2 nights and wished we had stayed longer! From the rich history and the attention to detail to the vast amount of rooms and acres of the stunning Irish countryside, the Markree was far grander than we could have imagined. Growing up with a parent who is a manager for Marriott, I expect a high level of cleanliness and the Markree was exceptional.

Food: The Markree's chef definitely gets a 10/10. Sadly, many times you expect the food to be subpar when made in large quantities, but not here. The food was hot, tender and most importantly, well seasoned. I feel confident that no matter what we would have selected from their extensive menu, it was sure to be something outstanding.

Staff: The real gem of the castle. Again, growing up in hospitality I understand the importance of having a knowledgeable staff that cares not only about your stay, but the stay of all of your guests. The customer service at the Markree is what you wish 5-star hotels gave you. There was nothing too little or big for anyone on their staff. Everyone made it a point to make sure your every need was met. Deirdre and Nicholas, our wedding coordinating team, were great from the very beginning. Having the pleasure of working with them for many months leading up to the wedding, they were absolutely wonderful. They were always prompt to answer any question or concerns we may have had, and made us feel completely comfortable and confident that our wedding was going to be just as amazing as it was.
on Thu, 4th of April, 2019
We cannot thank you enough for everything you did for our wedding last month. It was simply perfect.

Everyone at Markree was so kind and attentive and nothing was too much trouble. You have an exceptional team.

The food was absolutely beautiful. Many guests said it was the best beef they’d

Read More

ever had!

Special mention to Deirdre and Nicholas who made sure everything went so smoothly and seemingly effortlessly!

Markree is the most magical place and that is all down to the wonderful staff! we can’t imagine anything could have been better and will always treasure the amazing memories of the day and this place.

Kindest regards,
Michaela
on Wed, 20th of March, 2019
Our wedding was perfect with Markree castle as our venue. We were blown away with the whole service provided. Deidre and Nicholas were so easy to talk to and took care of the whole event so smoothly. They coordinated well with the rest of our suppliers. We can't thank Markree enough for the

Read More

wonderful service. Plenty of compliments from our guests as well.
on Wed, 12th of December, 2018
I could not leave it any longer to leave a review. Wow!! This is probably the only word that we can use to describe our wedding experience at Markree.
We honestly could not recommend this place highly enough. From the minute we viewed this venue all the way to the day after our wedding, we cannot

Read More

fault the service we received. In the weeks leading up to our wedding, Deirdre was fantastic and very efficient in answering our queries and getting back to our emails. Although we both live in Scotland , we found the planning and organisation of our wedding relatively effortless due to this. Nothing was ever too much to ask!! The day before our wedding and the day of our wedding, Philip co-ordinated the whole set up and running of the day making the whole process smooth and what we deem to be perfect.
I have to compliment the waiting staff and bar staff for their amazing warmth and service on the day. We had quite a few comments from our guests describing the impeccable service they received. There were also many comments about the skill of the cocktail making and shot pouring in the bar area.
The food was second to none. Although I may be slightly bias , I honestly think this was the best wedding food I have ever had. I must also mention the house red which also went down a treat.
Thanks again for making our wedding day everything we imagined it would be and quite frankly the best weekend of our lives.

Love,
Emily&Dan
on Sun, 9th of December, 2018
I cannot recommend Markree Castle enough. I got married at Markree Castle on Oct 1, 2018 and we stayed there for three nights with all of our guests. The experience is one that we and our guests will cherish for the rest of our lives.

My husband and I visited a few different wedding venues in

Read More

Ireland, but none of them compared to Markree. Unlike some other castle hotels, Markree has struck the perfect balance – they offer hotel-like services and comfort, but have not lost the feel of the castle. In addition, everything about Markree - the common spaces, the dining room, the grounds, and the guest rooms (all of which are recently renovated) – is beautiful.

Philip, Cora and the Markree staff were all great and helped the wedding day go smoothly. They are very responsive, although very busy when weddings are going on so you may not always reach them immediately.

Lastly, the location, although a bit far from major airports, is on the beautiful West Coast of Ireland and a great jumping off point for additional travel. We and all of our guests headed south via the Wild Atlantic Way after the wedding and had a great time.

Our wedding day and three-day stay at Markree Castle were perfect. I wouldn’t have changed a thing.

My only recommendation for Markree is to work more closely with the brides on room assignments and provide photos as well as descriptions for the rooms.
on Tue, 4th of December, 2018
Myself and my partner got married in October of this year in markree castle. I cannot say enough about this stunning fairytale castle . From start to finish we had the most amazing experience in markree castle. From the venue , staff food accommodation EVERYTHING was what any bride could wish for.

Read More

Philip , Cora, patricia and Alex couldn’t of been more helpful to Us both. The whole experience was just out of this world. Our family and guests are still talking about it and we all will for a long time to come. The only down fall is that the whole day went far too quick ! I had a few couples coming up to me and saying that markree made them want to get married all over again. Well done to you all in markree for spending the time and money in turning a gem of a castle into one of the most stunning wedding venues in ireland to date. We can’t wait until your next open day to get back for a night ! And we are hoping some of our Single friends will be booking you guys very soon so we can get back again for another magical weekend!
on Mon, 10th of September, 2018
Words cannot express how grateful and how much we appreciate everything the Markree team done for us. From when we first met, the emails, calls and meetings in between and up to the big day, they were amazing support, help and calmer of nerves. Having them beside us every step of the way made our

Read More

day became one of the best in our lives and we will never forget their kindness. From the bottom of our hearts, we'd like to thank the Markree Castle team and wish them every success.
on Thu, 6th of September, 2018
We wanted to say a HUGE thank you to the Markree team for everything they did for us in the run up to our wedding and on our wedding weekend. We were so happy with our beautiful venue, Markree Castle was everything that we had dreamed of and more. We truly appreciate the large effort that was put

Read More

into making our wedding day special for us. Thank you all for taking care of us – the team really did go above and beyond. Our families and friends all had a wonderful weekend, which was a result of their fantastic organisation and management. The service was second to none and we really were blown away by their kindness and attitude. All the team were all extremely helpful and accommodating before the wedding (thank you for answering our many questions!!) We very much appreciated their professionalism whilst wedding planning, and then again on our wedding day.
on Thu, 6th of September, 2018
Huge thank you to everyone at Markree for making our wedding day the most amazing day ever.
From the first visit we had to the castle right up to the wedding, you have all been so lovely to coordinate a wedding with. Great advice, suggestions and made the whole process fun and relatively simple for

Read More

us. We have the fondest, most incredible memories at Markree. We cannot thank you enough.
on Sun, 2nd of September, 2018
Thank you so much for a fabulous wedding day!
Everyone who came has spoken to me about the fabulous Castle and how they loved it. Everything went so smoothly and it wouldn’t have happened without your support. Here’s hoping some of our Irish relatives choose Markree Castle for their wedding

Read More

so Sam and myself can come and stay again as guests.
on Wed, 25th of April, 2018
Dear Philip, Cora & Team,

Just a note to say a huge thanks for our magical wedding in Markree.

Writing the thank you cards gave us a lovely excuse to be transported back to that wonderful weekend.

Wishing you an incredible 2018!

Deirdre & Con
on Wed, 25th of April, 2018
Philip, Cora, Trish & Staff @ Markree

Thank you for making our wedding day so special. Everything was perfect, we wish you all success

Jean & Padraig
on Thu, 26th of October, 2017
We fell in love with Markree Castle the moment we stepped inside while it was still under renovation. By the time the renovation was complete we were completely blown away. Couldn't believe we could have exclusive use of an historic castle for our big day. Difficult to single out one particular

Read More

aspect but the dining/banquet room was what amazed our guests the most and the food served on the day was exquisite. We had an amazing day and wished we had stayed on for a second. Particular mention to Philip who helped us organise the day and Cora who went above and beyond expectations to help us and our guests. I would definitely recommend Markree Castle.
on Thu, 26th of October, 2017
Where to begin! What a magical weekend we had in Markree Castle. We were lucky enough to be one of the first couples to get married in the magnificently refurbished Markree. Excellence from beginning to end. Philip, Cora and the entire team were warm, attentive and efficient from the moment we

Read More

viewed the Castle and the beautiful grounds. . Having the entire Castle just for our friends and family made our wedding extra special. We felt completely at home – well if our home was a 14th century castle! We kicked off the celebrations with a prosecco reception, relaxing in the luxurious drawing rooms. We just managed to beat the rain for a couple of group shots with an impressive castle backdrop. The restored dining room is a sight to behold, with incredible attention to detail.
The chef played a blinder, with every meal more delicious than the next. From the canapés on arrival and 5-course dinner, to the late-night snacks, full Irish breakfast and barbeque, the skill in preparation and the quality of the ingredients was apparent. Downstairs, Markree has created a cool evening venue, complete with vaulted dancefloor, gin-bar and chill-out lounge. The guests love exploring all of the nooks and crannies – I can still see my Mam’s face as she discovered the dedicated kitchen with a never-ending supply of tea and coffee!After a lengthy sing-song, we all headed for our rooms. Everyone loved the individual, spacious bedrooms – each with its own unique feature including free-standing baths, round towers and wonderful views. The bridal apartment is a world unto itself! It is made up of an elegant drawing room and bedroom, and a huge bathroom complete with twin shower and free-standing bath. The original stonework adds a lovely cosy feel to the apartment.
We couldn’t have imagined a more perfect venue for our wedding and will treasure our memories forever. All of our guests have been singing the praises of Markree Castle, and we’re just trying to come up with an excuse for our next party there! Thanks again to the kind, helpful and professional team.
on Thu, 26th of October, 2017
One word - WOW.

Beautiful surroundings, amazing food and fantastic staff.

If you want a fairy tale castle wedding - this is the venue for you.

Myself and my husband had our wedding reception at Markree Castle in June 2017.

There are 30 beautiful bedrooms in the castle. Your guests will

Read More

feel like Kings & Queens!
This is a private venue , so any guest that is staying there will only be part of your wedding party.

My family and I had the wonderful experience of staying in the Castle the night before the wedding.
The morning of the wedding was the most fantastic experience.
Myself along with all my friends and family got dolled up in the Billiards room.
Fiona from Polished Ireland took charge of hair and make up.
She was the dream team along with Brenda & Nina. I couldn't recommend them highly enough!

If any bride is lucky enough to get ready in Markree the room to get ready in is the Johnny Cash Bedroom - just wow! A super space to get into your dress. Fantastic photo opportunities , both in the room and exiting onto the masterpiece staircase.

On return to the castle following our ceremony our guests were blown away by the beauty of the refurbished venue and gardens. We were all greeted by a champagne & canape reception . They were divine!

We had our photos taken at the castle. Our photographer was Conor Doherty who has plenty of experience in Markree. His relaxed approach suited myself and my husband. I would recommend him to any friend or family member! The sun shone for us so we were able to use the gardens. We also took advantage of the billiards room, the chapel & grand entrance hall and staircase for some extra photos.

The piece de resistance of Markree Castle is the dining room. It is palatial. The room is split into 4 sections. There is no need to worry about this, the room flows and all guests feel part of the party.
As mentioned above, the food in Markree is amazing and plentiful. No guest will go hungry. Any guest with allergies need not worry, just have a note of their requirements and where they are seated and they will be well looked after and catered for.

The evening entertainment takes place downstairs in the basement. This level has been opened by the Corscadden Family as part of the renovations. You will find a dance floor and 2 bars one of which is a well stocked gin cocktail bar. There is also a kitchen downstairs where any guest can pop into for a cup of tea or water. The evening food is also served in here. We danced the night away to the Bentley Boys.

To Patricia , thank you for making us feel like Markree was our home away from home for the two nights we stayed.

A special thanks must also be mentioned to Markree's fantastic wedding coordinator Cora.
From the day we met her for an off spec show around in the newly opened venue she made everything go smoothly and seamlessly.
Cora's attention to detail and passion will make your wedding day the best day of your life!

A must view for any bride to be!

Karen & Barry
June 2017"
on Mon, 11th of August, 2014
We had our wedding at the Markree Castle in April 2014 and from the get-go we were treated like royalty. We can only describe our wedding day as magical! It truly was everything that we had dreamt of and so much more.

We could not have organized such a brilliant day without the help of Jeremy,

Read More

Simon and their amazing team. We cannot thank you enough for making our day so perfect, your guidance, advice and support gave us and our guests an unforgettable experience. The staff balanced professionalism and friendliness seamlessly and made the day glide along without a hitch. Our guests thoroughly enjoyed the food, accommodation and venue. Some guests said it was a wedding to remember, the best ever!

We loved that we had the whole castle at our disposal for our wedding, it made us feel very special. We had our ceremony in the quaint, medieval looking chapel and our reception in the elegant, regal dining room – it felt like you had stepped back in time! The convenience of having everything on the same site made it very easy for us and our guests, especially for the people who travelled long distances. Most of the guests stayed that night and had a delicious breakfast the next morning. It was so nice to spend additional time with them at breakfast.

We loved, staying at this enchanting, authentic castle, where you can relax, unplug and get away from it all. Its set in a secluded idyllic countryside - it just doesn't get any better than that! We loved it so much that we stayed an extra week and had a very relaxing and enjoyable time there. The staff couldn't do enough for us – it really was the most amazing experience from start to finish. Our experience at the castle has definitely exceeded our expectations!

We thoroughly recommend this place to anyone, wanting to have their wedding there or to experience a castle stay in Ireland.

Thank you for making our day so special – we had the best day of our lives!

Wayne & Mary
on Sat, 19th of July, 2014
We would highly recommend Markree as a wedding venue. It's so beautiful there, making our photos look great. The staff are so helpful, everything was perfect, nothing is too much for them and they helped take all the pressure out of organising the day. Having the place to ourselves made the day feel

Read More

so much more special and personal. The food is also out of this world, the best we've ever had at a large event! Our guests were also really impressed with Markree and many of them are planning return visits.
on Wed, 25th of June, 2014
Our wedding took place in Markree Castle on a sunny day in May 2014. We first visited Markree in January of 2014 and immediately felt welcomed by the roaring fire and the relaxed atmosphere in the Castle. The decision to have our civil ceremony in the Castle chapel was made very quickly.

We

Read More

can’t say enough about Markree and the staff. The Castle itself is completely unique and its surroundings are stunning. We worked initially with Jeremy who guided us through the wedding packages and food options available and Simon who dealt with the finer details for the wedding. Both Simon and Jeremy were always a pleasure to deal with and quick to deal with our queries. No request was ever too much. The lead up to the wedding was a calm and stress free time thanks to Simon’s easy-going but highly organised manner.

On the day itself I got ready in the bridal suite which was a lovely start to the day. The day itself went 100% to plan, totally exceeding our expectations in every way. The chapel was beautiful, the dining room was amazing and the food was super. The service was lovely and our guests commented on the relaxed atmosphere of the occasion. Our friends and family loved staying in Markree; the novelty of having the entire Castle to yourself is very impressive! Other guests stayed in the Home Farm cottages and were looked after by the lovely Aimee. The staff looking after the bar and reception were always helpful and friendly.

We never thought that organising a wedding could be as easy and stress-free as it was. We loved everything single thing about Markree Castle and can’t wait to go back there.

Thank you.
Suzanne & John
on Tue, 24th of June, 2014
We chose Markree Castle as our wedding reception after attending a great wedding there the previous year. The castle and all the staff came highly recommended, and we are absolutely delighted with the choice that we made. We had viewed many other potential wedding venues, but were charmed by the

Read More

beauty of Markree, the exclusive availability of the castle for the wedding day, and the excellent value for money that they offered.
Throughout the months leading up to our wedding Simon and Jeremy from Markree Castle were so helpful to us and made planning and organising our wedding hassle and stress free. They were very obliging with all of our requests, and were so pleasant to deal with.
We had a wonderful wedding day in Markree Castle in May. Our guests were really impressed by the venue, and all had a great time. The Castle looked beautiful, and Jeremy did a fantastic job making the already stunning dining room look even more spectacular. The castle and grounds also looked fantastic in the photographs. The staff made sure that the day ran really smoothly and could not have been more helpful to us and our guests. It was an outstanding party!
Our guests stayed both in the castle and in the homefarm cottages, where they were looked after splendidly by Aimee, who was absolutely charming, lovely to deal with and extremely helpful. Guests with small children were especially happy to stay in the cottages where there was an abundance of space and beautiful surroundings.
Huge thanks to all at Markree Castle for helping to make sure that we could not have had a better wedding day.
on Mon, 9th of June, 2014
We got married at Markree Castle in March 2014. From the time we booked in April 2013 right up until the wedding we could not have been happier with the service provided. We made our booking with Jeremy and he and every member of staff we encountered were brilliant, so accommodating and helpful

Read More

yet easygoing - instead of adding to the pressure of wedding planning as so many hotels do with demands for deposits, final numbers etc, the staff at Markree took everything in their stride and quietly got things done! We put our trust in Jeremy, Simon and the others and we were proved right - everything turned out brilliantly on the day.
My bridesmaids and I stayed in Markree the night before the wedding. We had a beautiful meal and stayed in a lovely large room which easily accommodated myself, 3 bridesmaids, a hairdresser, beautician, videographer and 3 photographers (don't ask!) on the day. They even let us use other rooms for showers etc.
We had hired the chapel for the ceremony and on visits prior to the wedding we had been nervous that it would be cold and dark on the day. We were assured this would not be the case and on the day the chapel was cosy and comfortable, and created the perfect atmosphere to start proceedings. My one regret of the day is that I didn't taste the homemade punch served for the drinks reception as all the guests raved about it. Dinner was called and served on time, and was beautiful. Jeremy coordinated everything wonderfully from our entrance to the speeches after the meal. When we finished in the diningroom the dancefloor was all ready to go and we found the separate dancefloor and bar area added to the comfort and enjoyment of our guests. Evening food was served twice - 11pm and 1am - a genius idea from Jeremy! The bridal suite was gorgeous and comfortable and we didn't wake until breakfast arrived up at 12.
I'd like to specially mention Simon - his efficiency and sense of humour got us through any potentially stressful moments!
on Fri, 6th of June, 2014
SPECTACULAR!! Having spent a magical day in Markree Castle for my older brother's wedding 7 years ago, there was no doubt in my mind where I wanted to spend mine! No other venue came close. From once we met with Jeremy and Simon after we got engaged, everything was so simple. They couldn't have

Read More

been more obliging. We had an incredible tasting of our wedding menu, a month before the wedding, and it was Michelin star standard. Despite catering for 130 people, the food on the day was to the very same standard. Two months on, people are still talking about the food! The castle is hugely authentic and the character inside is unlike any other building I've been to. The stunning rolling staircase is ever bride's dream!! The roaring fires lit inside, create the most welcoming and homely atmosphere and the beautiful smell of turf hits you as soon as you enter the lobby. Each bedroom is so different with stunning countryside views from every window. On the day of the tasting, despite having a very busy restaurant, Jeremy spent a long time with us going over the menu. We were really made to feel super special. The grounds are impeccable and filled with stunning Spring flowers. As for the drive way in to the castle, definitely has the WOW factor! I can't give Markree Castle and all their staff the enough praise. My new inlaws are already planning a return! Thanks so much Jeremy, Simon, Lorna, Sharon and all the staff at Markree Castle for helping us have the wedding day of our dreams! We will definitely return very soon!!
on Tue, 27th of May, 2014
From the first moment we visited Markree Castle, we were spellbound by the venue and surrounding gardens. We then met Jeremie, Simon and Lorna Jane who worked with us to make our day one of the best days of our lives. They were very easy to work with not only on the lead up to our big day but also

Read More

on the day. They were all extremely professional and calm which in turn, made us confident we had made the right choice.

During the preparations for the wedding Simon was available, almost at will, to deal with any requests / queries we had. Details for the day from menu choices, including some special dietary requests, table plans, band recommendation etc. were worked through with quiet efficiency.

We had 130 guests and held a humanist ceremony in the hotel chapel which, although small, Jeremie ensured it accommodated all our guests. One aspect of the day that we loved was that due to the number of guests attending we had exclusive use of the venue and everyone there was there to celebrate with us. There were a lot of young children at our wedding but this did not phase Jeremie or Lorna Jane in the least, our band, Backwater Jack, even put on an impromptu disco for the kids when they were setting up. We would also like to mention Dave, the kitchen staff and the restaurant staff for providing a memorable meal which received many compliments from our guests.

There are approx. 30 rooms in the hotel, each decorated in its own unique style. Guest also have the option of choosing apartments in the converted stables which many of our guests, especially those with children, availed of. Any overflow guests had easy access to other hotels in the area.

We would highly recommend Markree Castle and its’ team for your special day – we can’t wait to go back for our anniversary!!!
on Sun, 25th of May, 2014
We had the best day ever thanks to all the wonderful staff at Markree Castle . They could not have been nicer to deal with both on the day and during the months running up to it , Great venue & great team would have no hesitation in recommending this very special place , Thank you :)
on Fri, 9th of May, 2014
Markree Castle speaks for itself as the historic building is situated on the most beautiful grounds however the staff and relaxed atmosphere of the venue really made up our minds. Simon, Jeremy and Emma were so accommodating and even created my favourite dessert to add to the wedding menu! The

Read More

Castle has amazing food, a great wine list and we partied as late as we wanted. The venue is stunning (especially the dining room) and the majority of our guests could stay in the lovely apartments in the converted stables - some even made use of the hot tub the next day. We felt like we were at a very luxurious house party and it was lovely to have breakfast with all of our guests the next morning. Highly recommended.
on Wed, 23rd of April, 2014
I would really recommend Markree Castle for wonderful food and ambience. The castle has kept so many original features. A gorgeous huge log fire burns in the main hall, I fell in love with the place as soon as I walked in the door. The staff were personable , helpful and professional.

The dining

Read More

room is fabulous and overlooks the garden. The food is delicious and the desserts are excellent. Beautiful wine and good service - the staff were attentive but not intrusive.

The grounds are beautiful for walks .

Explore the castle, each doorway and hallway leads to another set of guest rooms or sitting rooms, or views out the window to the rooftop of the castle. The Chapel us stunning, the stained glass windows are breathtaking!
on Wed, 26th of February, 2014
Choosing our wedding venue was one of the most important things for us to get right! We wanted something a little bit different and somewhere that had a real wow factor!

We had seen a number of castles that were beautiful, but ultimately the wedding would be held in a function room connected to

Read More

the castle (which was a 5min walk away and disconnected from the bedrooms!) Not what we wanted!

When we saw Markree we knew we had found our dream location. It was amazing!

First impressions count and from the beautiful drive into the castle, the excitement as the building itself was revealed, to the entrance staircase that lead into the warm reception room and open fire crackling to greet us - We knew we were onto a winner!

When I saw the dining room, with duck egg blue walls and ornate gold decorative plaster up the walls, I knew that this was where I wanted to have our first meal as husband and wife. It's like something out of Downton Abbey - Absolutely magical!

The sitting room area of the Castle is turned into your dance floor on the night and the bar is just off the sitting room. We felt like we were throwing a classy house party...in a CASTLE!

As Markree is such a small castle and the staff are so welcoming we instantly felt at home. The bridal suite is at the top of the stairs. On the day it was so easy to pop upstairs and freshen up which was invaluable.

We were so excited by Markree that we got into dates and packages immediately. When we had it booked we realized that we had not tried any food! All our worries were put to bed during our menu tasting. The food was presented beautifully, tasted fantastic and surpassed our expectations!

The wedding co-ordinators Jeremy and Simon were lovely to deal with. They went through everything step by step and any concerns we had were no problem. They made it easy!

Choosing Markree for our wedding day was the perfect choice for us and our only regret is that we cannot do it all over again. It was a dream come true! :)
on Thu, 9th of January, 2014
From the moment we walked up the steps and into the reception of Markree, we knew this was the only venue we could get married in.

We were greeted by Simon, who gave us a tour and took time to go through every detail with us. It was due to the warm welcome and the fantastic surroundings that we

Read More

decided on Markree as our venue.

We arranged our wedding in three months and from overseas. The staff at Markree were fantastic, efficient, helpful and most obliging. Everything we could possibly need assistance or guidance on they were always there to help.

From the florists to the registrar to the menu to the wines, they were there every step of the way and made our wedding planning and organising so stress free.

We chose to have our civil ceremony in the little church in the castle and it was beautiful. The accommodated all our musicians and friends and made it into a very special ceremony.

The day itself was superb. Quite honestly there would not be one thing I would change. The staff guided the day along in a superb and stress free manner. The food and service and everything you could wish for on your special day was excellent.

I would not hesitate in recommending Markree Castle as your wedding venue. You have a wonderful setting, fantastic staff, delicious food, accommodation for all of your guests, exclusive use on the day (depending on the number of guests) and you can have your civil ceremony there also.

Thank you all so much for a wonderful day and magic memories.
on Tue, 3rd of December, 2013
We had the delight of having our wedding reception at Markree in September 2013 and could not have asked for better. From our very first wedding enquiry to our most recent contact with the Markree weddings team, the service has been exemplary - professional, competent, friendly, always so quick to

Read More

respond and dedicated to ensuring everything was perfect on our wedding day, which it was. The castle looked beautiful; so many of our guests commented on what a wonderful venue it was, how delicious the food was and how amazing it was to have a castle totally to ourselves. We owe a huge debt of thanks to Jeremy, Simon, Emma, Patricia and everyone else at Markree for making our wedding day everything we hoped for and more.
on Mon, 25th of November, 2013
Where can we start. Well, without a doubt, the decision to get married at Markree was one of the easiest we made when it came to our wedding. Right from the start we were totally at home there and reassured that every detail of our wedding would be taken care of. The staff, Jeremy and his team

Read More

and all the others that we came in contact with, were very professional and competent but not fussy and over bearing. They were so relaxed but at the same time we were confident that no details would be overlooked- we were right! Everything from the Pimms reception to the afters was 100% spot on. The castle itself was the perfect back drop and even though it rained all day, we got the most amazing indoor photos. Our guests still talk about the food, and the dancing to the early hours. The whole day just flew without us even having to pause to think about organising anything, it all just happened and perfectly so. I would not stop for a second in recommending Markree to anyone. There is no where in the world like it.
on Mon, 11th of November, 2013
We had our wedding at Markree Castle in September 2013. It is a truly magical place and our guests were raving about the ambience of the castle from the moment you walk up the grand entrance staircase through to the exquisite Garden dining room overlooking the beautiful gardens and river. The

Read More

friendliness of the staff and the high quality of food provided, not just during the wedding banquet but also the next morning at breakfast were also mentioned by our guests. This is a genuine historic Irish castle hotel, not just a castle facade with a modern interior like other castle hotels in Ireland.
I could not recommend highly enough.
on Sat, 9th of November, 2013
From the moment we arrived in Markree we knew it was the venue for us and we had visited quite a few. The Team we so positive and helpful, nothing was too much trouble in fact we never heard the word No. Simon and Jeremy listened to our plans for the day of our Civil partnership and worked

Read More

diligently to ensure they were all delivered. Our guests thoroughly enjoyed the food, venue and accommodation and are still talking about it. We take away nothing but happy memories and look forward to our return visit for our 1st Anniversary. Gerard & Shane, Dublin
on Fri, 8th of November, 2013
We had our wedding in Markree Castle in Sept 2013 and from the very outset the assistance and courtesy afforded to us by Jeremy and all the staff was of the highest quality. We were instantly confident that we had picked not alone the right location but also the right people to entrust the most

Read More

important day of our lives. The day itself exceeded all our expectations and the personal service that was afforded to us has not been matched by any other wedding location that we have encountered.
The castle chapel was availed of for the wedding ceremony which added to the intimacy of the occasion.
We had guests attending from 5km to 5000km and all were truly blown away by the Castle. The rooms are a mixture of modern day comfort to yesteryear opulence. Finally what all wedding venues are ultimately judged on the food, it was absolutely first class from starter to dessert ( the beef was succulent and so tender ) and even though we changed our seating arrangement last minute the service was brilliant. Markree turned what was the most important day of our lives to the best day of our lives.
Thank you Markree.

Regards Declan & Maggi McGrath
on Fri, 8th of November, 2013
Had my wedding there 5 th oct 13. We had 110 people and we really enjoyed the day and everything was perfect, all my guest were delighted and said they loved the place and the food!! The setting, staff and food where stunning and Simon and Jeremy attention to detail and organizational skills where

Read More

exceptional, everything ran smoothly. Highly recommend anyone to have their wedding there. The whole experience of staying at the castle with your family and friends and having it exclusive is brilliant, everyone loved it and won't forgot it. Thanks for making our day great!!
on Sun, 29th of September, 2013
We had our wedding at Markree Castle Sligo on 6 April 2013 and we had an amazing day.

From the moment we walked in on our first visit to discuss reception ideas and book it nothing was ever a problem. We stayed several times in Markree before the big day and each time the service and cleanliness

Read More

of the bedrooms were second to none.

On the day itself we had arrived later than expected for dinner to start so we had to quickly sit down to dinner but that was fine. Canapes and sparkling wine with tea, coffee and biscuits were served for our waiting guests before we arrived and we had a Disney theme to our reception so Markree had sorted the organising of switching on the overhead projector to display old Disney films/cartoons and of course switch on our ipod for Disney music.

Dinner was delicious and served 1st class. Cutting of the cake and speeches were after. Everyone still comments about how lovely dinner was compared to other venues. Portion sizes were just right and quality of food superb.

We then were able to go into a different lounge area where the band were setting up. The only thing that could be changed about Markree was to have their bar area served by the lounge and not in the different bar area they have as none of our guests knew the music had started or hear their song requests.

It is a lovely intimate exclusive castle perfect for our numbers - 76. We stayed on the extra night and still received excellent service. We can't wait to go back again and again. Love Markree Castle!
on Wed, 25th of September, 2013
well you only do it once and you should do it right,markree was superb ,cliche and yes every couple seem to say it about their wedding day...........it was a whimsical fairytale dream,service and food outstanding very personal.................loved it.
on Tue, 17th of September, 2013
We have celebrated our wedding at Markree Castle this June and it was absolutely outstanding.
Everything was perfectly organised for us. We were so impressed to which extend our special wishes were considered and even at short notice. We enjoyed planning our wedding with an extremely professional

Read More

and nice staff.
The venue and the atmoshere created was superb. The food was absolutely delicious and very high quality. This was not just our experience but also mentioned to us by our guests. Thank you very much to Markree Castle for a perfect day.
on Mon, 16th of September, 2013
We had the most amazing wedding day at Markree Castle. It was a wonderful experience - better than we had dreamed of, and all of our friends and guests seemed to love it. It was wonderful to be able to get married in the chapel, it was a beautiful venue, and the wonderful 30 degrees weather enabled

Read More

us to have our drinks reception on the beautiful lawn outside. Simon, Jeremy and the staff were really great, and looked after us very well. They were friendly and supportive through the wedding process and on the day, we felt very looked after, and both the reception and dinner went down extremely well with everyone. It did feel like we had our own castle for the day! We really, really enjoyed being able to stay in the cottages on the estate with our families for the four or five days beforehand, and the next day after the wedding, following an afternoon at the beach in the sunshine, we had a fantastic bbq at the cottages, with close family and friends, all of whom stayed there. The Estate is amazing, so much space and so peaceful.
on Fri, 13th of September, 2013
Our marriage ceremony was held in Sligo Cathedral, which was beautiful, with the reception at Markree. My husband and I had decided to get married in Sligo as we had relations there and had previously attended 3 family weddings at Markree Castle and had a great time at every one.
We knew that we

Read More

wanted to make a weekend of it, as most of the guests were travelling from the UK but this meant that the months running up to the wedding logistically demanding - with 150 people needing to be booked in to all available accommodation in an around the castle (as well as the small matter of planning the day itself from the UK…).
The staff at Markree couldn’t have been more helpful and their support and attention throughout the whole process was exceptional. Jeremy and his team were so accommodating of all of our requests and really flexible to any changes we needed to make. Particular mention goes to Simon who was just brilliant in the months preceding the wedding – managing our (often changing) guest accommodation bookings with a really lovely manner, coming back to us promptly and making the whole process so much easier.
Many of our guests were booked into the ‘Homefarm’ apartments, where we had a fab hog roast the day before. Everyone who stayed there loved them and the addition of a hot tub was much appreciated! The apartments are extremely clean and the staff were brilliant - nothing was too much trouble.
The castle itself is imposing and impressive as you drive up and so charming and cosy when you get inside, our guests were bowled over. If you are expecting / wanting a glitzy refurbished, pristine hotel then Markree isn’t for you. If what you want is a real castle with character, charm, individuality and a very very warm welcome then this is your place. I am a fussy customer when it comes to hotels and while this isn’t the fanciest we’ve stayed in it’s certainly one of the most homely and welcoming.
The rooms are all kitted out with antique pieces and each one has its own individual identity (but this is in no way a theme hotel). The beds are clean and really comfortable and the communal areas are grand and beautiful, with log fires burning regardless of the season. The gardens are stunning which, if you are lucky enough to have bright weather, make for great photos. You don’t need the weather here though because the castle is such a great venue inside and out.
The wedding day itself couldn’t have gone better. The breakfast was fabulous, full Irish or whatever you fancy. Us girls all got ready in room 17 (huge and bright and in one of the turrets) accompanied by champagne and sandwiches. The drinks reception was great - we had chosen to take the corkage option and brought our own champagne, which worked really well when coupled with buckets of corona and lime from the bar.
The meal was amazing, our guests are still raving about the food, which was plentiful, piping hot and included a number of special changes that the chef had accommodated for us.
We hired a DJ and danced the night away until around 3am, when the late stayers then retired to the comfy seats for some late night tipples and chats. The staff didn’t ever rush us or make us feel that the night was over. Which was really important to us because we really didn’t want the lights-up, closed bar at midnight, abrupt end that we had experienced at other weddings.
We couldn’t recommend Markree highly enough - the stunning venue, the amazing staff, the many accommodation options and the surrounding landscape.
It really is a beautiful part of the world and the welcome you get at Markree is second to none. We wouldn’t have changed a thing and CAN’T WAIT for our anniversary stay (courtesy of Markree) next May.
Paul and Sarah
on Tue, 10th of September, 2013
There is just TOO much to say about how wonderful and unique Markree is as a wedding venue. We will hold the venue in our hearts forever - and as a picture paints a thousand words here's the link to our pics of the day -

Read More

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10151632987844874.1073741827.734824873&type=1&l=ec72ebb090

Our photographer was David Knight and the Castle have our entire suppliers list as I emailed them the details because all of them were absolutely wonderful!! The hospitality from Jeremy, Emma and Simon was outstanding and every little detail was catered to - and on catering - wow! Food is to die for. If you want show stopping Irish authenticity, military attention to detail and old world magic, charm and fairy dust on your big day - Book Markree Castle now!!

Emma & Rob - married at Markree 31/12/12 - yes - NYE - what a party!! xxx
on Sun, 8th of September, 2013
Markree Castle is the ideal wedding venue for so many reasons. It's an old fashioned Castle but unlike many other similar seeming places, the mix of the environment and the genuinely brilliant staff makes it feel like home. When we saw it, we knew it was just right place for us to have our

Read More

wedding. The chapel on site and the fact you can have all your guests stay in and around the Castle so noone has to waste valuable party time is fantastic. The food is amazing - not just our wedding meal, but every time we stayed there, we ate so well. It's such a lovely, relaxed place to be. With the attention you get from Jeremy, Simon and all the team (everyone who works there is so friendly and helpful), you would think you are the only person getting married. We were in touch quite a bit as we live on the other side of the country and everything was just so simple to arrange. This is because the team are so professional. They made it so easy to coordintate all the stuff you need to make your wedding perfect and did it with such good grace! They think of everything - from little things like tealights to important help to get babysitters (who were all brilliant, especially Emer).
The Castle itself is a dream to stay in. It's so quirky, all the rooms are gorgeous and the grounds are so beautiful. The weather for our wedding was a glorious summer day and it looked like a film set but we've also been there during the winter and the massive fire in reception makes the Castle so cosy and welcoming.
We have heard nothing but praise for how perfect this venue was. There was no fuss or stress which is just the way we like things - it was like having our wedding in our own house, that's if we were wealthy landowner types.....
If you are after a real party feel in a grand but comfortable setting, you should definitely book Markree. I'm really looking forward to coming back to stay again.
on Sun, 8th of September, 2013
Amazing day in a wonderful venue. Markree was a beautiful venue and a perfect place to celebrate a marriage. However, it was not just the venue that was perfect. The staff were brilliant and very supportive, and the food was wonderful. We had a brilliant day. Thanks!
on Sat, 7th of September, 2013
We fell in love with this place as soon as we walked in, not just because of the beauty of the castle and its grounds but because of the atmosphere of relaxation. We knew instantly that we wanted to get married here.




Our wedding day was a month ago and we definaty made the right choice.

Read More

Everything was amazing and we loved every minute of it. We will always be grateful to Jeremy and the team for making sure that everything went perfectly for us on the day.

From the very beginning they were so helpful to us with all the planning and preparations, and so the whole experience was much easier and more enjoyable than it could have been.

Of course the best thing about Markree is the stunning castle building and setting, which really impresses the guests, and as some of our guests commented, 'Made them feel like royalty for the day'. But for the couple, it is also important that the staff are helpful, accommodating and full of good ideas. Markree has all of these and manages to combine the best of everything with ease and class. For me personally, I found the experience of the staff, who ooze confidence and expertise with everything they do very calming and I trusted them to know what to do at every step of the way.

Markree holds a special place in our hearts and we look forward to visiting this magical place for many years to come.
Lauren & Eamon
on Sat, 7th of September, 2013
John and I enjoyed our special day so much at Markree Castle. It was the first venue that we looked at after we became engaged and didn't look anywhere else! It is a REAL authentic Castle!! Jeremy and the staff were always very accommodating and nothing was ever too much. The food was fabulous on

Read More

the day. One of the main things that attracted us to Markree was the fact that we would have the Castle exclusively for the day and that was what a lot of our guests liked about that. The intimacy of it. Plus, the grounds are just fabulous for photos. Our first anniversary is coming up shortly and hopefully we can stay again - unless there is a wedding of course!!
on Fri, 6th of September, 2013
We got married at the Markree Castle in April of 2013. We were both from the US (California, to be exact) so the wedding was for a small group of family and friends. There were 13 of us in all. The accommodations were perfect when we arrived. We did much of the planning and preparation based from a

Read More

list of local vendors that the castle wedding planner provided. Upon arrival the castle and accommodations ended up looking 10 times better than we imagined. Doing all the planning and prep from such a long distance had been making us nervous but as soon as we arrived we realized that it was well beyond our expectations. The staff was very helpful and my wife and I stayed in the castle, while the family and friends stayed at the cottages on the castle grounds (a beautiful 2 or 3 minute walk from the castle). The cottages are tended by Amy who lives in one of the cottages. She is always available and beyond helpful. There is also a spa and sauna in the cottages.

Back to the wedding. The chapel, castle grounds, stairway at the entrance and and rooms within the castle are all great for photos. The dinner was amazing; there was not a single complaint from anyone. The dinner was a three course meal that included an appetizer, entree, and dessert. Because of the desert nobody ate the cake but I wasn't complaining about that the next day. The castle also has a nice bar where we had some drinks after the wedding. All the staff were very helpful and kept the whole thing organized.

We look forward to visiting the castle for many anniversaries.
Great! you are going to make a supplier or venue a favourite. But first you need to ...
Log in Or Create an Account