Wedding Reviews for 4* Abbey Hotel 18th Century Castle Manor

Average Rating: 5 out of 5 - based on 39 reviews



on Mon, 23rd of December, 2019
We had our wedding reception in the Abbey Hotel on the 7th of December 2019. The level of professionalism and service we received right from our initial show around was exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble! The food was fantastic and cooked to perfection, right down to the temperature of the

Read More

fillet of beef. All guests we have spoken to have remarked on it. The day from start to finish was absolutely fabulous. The wedding coordinators were brilliant and very responsive with emails and calls. Sarah was wonderful on the day and had everything running like clockwork, no detail was overlooked. We could not have been more thrilled with how our day went and would highly recommend the Abbey Hotel for any future couple looking to book their wedding reception.
on Wed, 16th of October, 2019
Absolutely fabulous venue. Beautiful setting unfortunately due to our Irish weather our outside time was limited but lots of photo opportunities in the hotel. Wedding planners extremely pleasant and helpful as were any of the staff we met! I had numerous dietary requirements from numerous guests and

Read More

all were met and my expectations were exceeded. Everyone was taken care of. Highly recommend this wedding venue for location, staff and food. All areas were closely monitored by Julie and her team and anything I overlooked was mentioned to be and rectified quickly and discreetly. If I were to do it again Id be back in the morning!
on Fri, 12th of July, 2019
To Geraldine & Tom Grealy and Family and all the staff

Thank you so much for giving us the most fantastic day on 6th April 2019. From the moment we had the pleasure of meeting you, you accommodated us in every way. Nothing was too much trouble and our every request was catered for. The

Read More

attention to detail was second to none, from the drinks reception to table settings and beyond. We had a lot of props that required a lot of set up on the day and Geraldine and her staff listened carefully to what we wanted and set up and displayed everything exactly as we wished. We also have to commend in a special way the Chef, the kitchen personnel and the staff involved in our dinner service. We have received so many compliments from our guests about the food served on the day. The presentation and attention to detail with every dish was amazing. Furthermore the service received from every staff member was impeccable and truly faultless. We cannot recommend the Abbey highly enough. Its staff instils confidence. They are a pleasure to deal with and are so skilled at what they do. Geraldine even emailed us some candid photographs she had taken of us on the day – just like a friend or a family member would do! That personal touch provided by the Abbey is in our opinion why it is so special. We enjoyed every moment of our day and we cannot thank Geraldine and her team enough for making our dream day a reality. We are already looking forward to returning to the Abbey and to meeting everyone again. Sarah and Ciarán x
on Wed, 10th of July, 2019
The hotel and staff exceeded all our expectations and delivered a fabulous day and night of fun and celebrations. The food was fantastic and the service just as good. Julie, the wedding co-ordinator, was exceptionally well organised, ever available and just lovely to deal with.
on Wed, 10th of July, 2019
Thank you to the Grealy family and all the staff, the Abbey was our first choice and we are so glad we went with it. The planning, the build up and the day itself we can not recommend the hotel enough. Thank you to Julie who made us feel so relaxed took the stress out it, and the staff on the day

Read More

nothing was left undone. Our guests are still talking about the food and service, we got some many compliments, thanks to the bar staff for food for some guests very late night of the wedding meant so much, Thank you to everyone for making our day just perfect. Best wishes Mr & Mrs Moore.
on Thu, 7th of February, 2019
We had the most amazing wedding day at the Abbey Hotel. Thanks to the Grealy Family, all the staff and especially Julie, the Wedding Coordinator who made our day so special and stress-free. The hotel was fabulous, the service was incredible and the food was amazing. Our guests are still raving about

Read More

it. We are so happy we chose the Abbey Hotel and we would highly recommend future couples to book it for your special day. Thanks again for a memorable day. Lisa & Marc

on Thu, 17th of January, 2019
We had the most memorable and amazing wedding reception in the Abbey Hotel on the 21st December 2018. From start to finish the staff of the Abbey Hotel delivered the most professional and outstanding service we could have asked for. The hotel was so beautifully decorated and welcoming to our guest.

Read More

The food on the day was incredible, which left so many of our guests talking about it days after. The service was so prompt and professional. Julie the wedding co-ordinator has to get a huge mention. She made our whole experience so easy, stressfree and enjoyable. She was so accommodating and no request was ever an issue. We are so grateful to all the wonderful staff of the Abbey Hotel for delivering such a magical and perfect day which we will never forget. To all future couples ye will not be disappointed booking this amazing hotel for your special day :)
on Thu, 10th of January, 2019
The Abbey Hotel was just amazing on Saturday for our wedding! Julie the wedding co-ordinator was so helpful, especially when we approached her with our idea to have a surprise wedding!
Our day was more than we could have expected, the function room was so beautifully decorated and laid out!
The

Read More

food was out of this world. I would highly recommend the Abbey Hotel to anyone that asks!
on Fri, 4th of January, 2019
The best day of our lives from start to finish. The abbey were an absolute pleasure to deal with. From the day we booked to the morning after. In particular, the night porter and night bar manager were amazing. We didn't want the night to end and they allowed us to stay in the ballroom as long as we

Read More

wanted. No pressure to move. I would highly recommend the abbey for a wedding. The food is next to none and the drinks reception was fab.
on Mon, 26th of November, 2018
Me and my Husband Noel had our wedding in the Abbey Hotel on the 3rd of November 2018, I had booked the Abbey over two years ago, I am so happy to have been an Abbey Bride. The Abbey really did give me a fairy tale wedding day which was what I wanted from the start of planning, no other hotel has

Read More

came close to the professionalism & curiosity shown by the Grealy family and the staff, at the Abbey especially Julie the wedding coordinator, Julie just exactly knew how to handle everything it came so natural to her, so from the bottom of both our hearts Thank you so much for making a Special day so very special.
Mr & Mrs Mac Dermott
on Wed, 29th of August, 2018
The Abbey hotel were extremely helpful and accommodating from the minute we booked our wedding. Although we dealt with 3 different wedding coordinators our day was always in safe hands. They were always easy to contact with any questions and replied promptly to all emails.

On the day we had

Read More

nothing to worry about. The drinks reception ran smoothly and many of our friends commented on how much they loved the fruit punch. From the moment I arrived, I had nothing to worry about and everything ran to schedule. Guests were called to the meal at 5.00 and we were all seated for speeches at 5.30. After the speeches, we were quickly served our dinner. The food was of an extremely high quality and every dietary requirement was catered for. The rest of the night was a fantastic success and we definitely had the best day ever.

Thanks so much to everyone at The Abbey Hotel for making our wedding day so special.
on Fri, 24th of August, 2018
Everything went just as expected. Food was amazing.
Thanks to Julie and the team for everything.
on Sat, 18th of August, 2018
It's very hard to pick a venue that ticks all the boxes, but The Abbey made it easy for us. The homely feeling on arrival, the helpful staff and of course the beautiful food. They have years of experience and its a credit to them. Our guests travelled from near and far and all were equally impressed

Read More

with their experience with the venue, staff, food and service. Thank you for giving us and our guests the perfect day!
We can not recommend The Abbey highly enough.
Best wishes for the future,
Mr and Mrs Gallagher. xx
on Fri, 9th of February, 2018
Paudie and I had our wedding at the Abbey Hotel on Saturday 12th of August and we couldn’t be happier with how everything went in the hotel. From the warm welcomes and fabulous food to the friendly staff and excellent service it was just perfect from start to finish. So many guests commented on

Read More

the ‘homely’ feel of the hotel with its character and fabulous grounds & gardens. We would like to say a huge thank you to the Grealy family, wedding co-ordinator Lisa Mulally and all the staff at the Abbey Hotel for a truly amazing day. The ballroom looked beautiful and everywhere was immaculate. Adrian & Lisa were so professional and ensured everything ran smoothly on the day – the timing of the food, speeches, music, tea /coffee & cake etc. From the first day we choose the Abbey Hotel Roscommon as our wedding venue they were so accommodating and nothing was a problem. We can't thank you enough and would most definitely recommend The Abbey Hotel to any future couples.

on Fri, 9th of February, 2018
If you are looking for a hotel for your weddimg definitely book the abbey; Lisa who is the wedding co ordinator and the Grealy family who run the hotel really went above and beyond to make sure our day went off without a hitch. The food was amazing. They really cant do enough for you and from the

Read More

moment we booked the hotel to our wedding day they made everything easy and put our minds at ease from the start. The service was prompt and professional and had all our guests complimenting from start to finish. They really made a great day brilliant and we cant thank them enough.
on Fri, 9th of February, 2018
Where to start, we cannot say enough good things about the Abbey. This is mostly down to Lisa the wedding coordinator. She was an absolute pleasure to talk to and discuss things with. She's a woman that knows her job inside out. Nothing is a problem to Lisa. The meal was simply fabulous, efficient,

Read More

hot, fresh and there was no shortage of seconds. Even some guests complimented how nice the cup of tea was. The ballroom and the Abbey itself looked fabulous. The Greally family were on hand to welcome us and delighted to see the horse and carriage. The staff were brilliant especially the bar staff, again no delays getting served. If your thinking about the Abbey for any event, we would highly recommend it. Ita and Shane.
on Fri, 9th of February, 2018
We had our wedding which was a civil ceremony in the Abbey hotel last Thursday 28th December. .Anything I say about the Abbey hotel would not do it justice. It was fantastic from start to finish. .Lisa the wedding co-ordinator is an amazing person, brilliant at her job & Tom the owner is gentleman.

Read More

.Nothing we asked for was ever too much hassle,from the very start always at hand to assist in any way..The day itself the suite for the ceremony was beautifully decorated and the hotel really emphasised the Christmas feel..The meal was absolutely fantastic,our guests kept praising it.Staff were so helpful and were excellent in particular Luke at tending to the young children and making sure they had all they wanted. .I would recommend any couple thinking of getting married to really consider Abbey hotel. You will go along way to find anything better..Thank you for making our day so special. .Jacinta &Michael Tiernan.
on Fri, 9th of February, 2018
Hi Lisa,

Myself and David and my family cannot thank you and all the staff at the Abbey for hosting our New Years Eve wedding. Everyone was very helpful and friendly throughout the planning and on the day itself. The food was amazing and there was seconds which kept all the guests happy!! When

Read More

we arrived to the hotel everything looked lovely; yourself and Dooleys flowers had the hallway and the ballroom looking lovely. We were very impressed. I had lots of ideas and you took the time to make all these happen on the day.

Once again, myself and David would like to say a huge thank you to all at the Abbey and hope to visit again soon.


Emma and David

on Tue, 23rd of January, 2018
We got married on the 22nd December 2017 in the Abbey Hotel, I cannot recommend this venue enough, the service was outstanding from beginning to end, our guests all talked about how beautiful the hotel looks and how amazing the food was on arrival and the meal was delicious it was so efficient,hot

Read More

and there was plenty of seconds even though people were not able for them. Lisa was our wedding coordinator, she is fantastic at her job, she was absolutely brilliant in the lead up to our wedding and on the day itself. She made the planning of our special day so easy, nothing was any hassle, any questions we had were answered promptly by email or phone. She was extremely helpful and an absolute pleasure to deal with. Also in the lead up to the wedding the reception team and Elaine in reservations was always on hand and there to help. The waiting team was outstanding, the attention that we were given was second to none. We would like to thank Lisa,Tom and the Grealy family and all team at the Abbey Hotel for the beautiful wedding memories we will have forever. We would highly recommend the Abbey Hotel.
Tanya and Michael Caslin xx
on Wed, 22nd of November, 2017
We held our wedding reception in The Abbey Hotel in Roscommon on Saturday the 28th October and we had the most wonderful day of our lives. The Grealy Family and all the staff in the hotel were absolutely brilliant. Our guests were full of praise for the meal - it was served piping hot and the food

Read More

as usual in The Abbey Hotel was fabulous. Our guests were so complimentary all day of everything to do with the hotel. There was a wonderful atmosphere all day and all the staff were so obliging to our guests. In the run up to the wedding The Grealy Family and Lisa the wedding coordinator were so helpful and that took so much pressure off us and allowed us to really relax and enjoy the day as we knew that they had every situation covered. Thank you again Mary & Billy Moore
on Wed, 22nd of November, 2017
We had our wedding in the Abbey 17th November 2017
To say it was a dream would be an understatement. From the moment we booked the abbey lisa and the team made sure all our needs were met . Upon arrival the night before my famply and I were made feel so welcome . The Grealy family have made the

Read More

abbey a wonderful home from home ...it truly is a hidden gem it also boasts a picturesque abbey ruins to the rear of the hotel which adds to its charm . From top of house to housekeeping staff service is impeccable and no job seemed like a big ask ..
The fortfield suite was perfect for our civil ceremony And Lisa made sure we were all at ease and got everyone where they nended to be .
We cannot find fault with the abbey all of our guests thoroughly enjoyed their stay .. food and service is fab
Definitely the Abbey is a perfect setting for weddings especially winter weddings as the ambience in the bar area with candles and fires lit .. no detail was left out we will be forever grateful to the Grealy family Lisa Mulally and all the staff at the Abbey Hotel Roscommon. Our dream day was made a reality ☺
on Wed, 22nd of November, 2017
We can't recommend the Abbey Hotel enough for a wedding ... They really know what they're at! It is a beautiful cosy hotel that can still cater for a big number (such as our wedding). The food was excellent, the ball room looked amazing and they we're incredibly efficient. Lisa and the team were

Read More

also very helpful in setting up different pieces for the day ... Sweet table, guestbook and the flowers for the tables. We had a fantastic day and I would have no hesitation in advising friends and family to choose the Abbey hotel for their big day.
on Fri, 13th of October, 2017
So my Husband and I gor married on the Abbey hotel on may 20th this year it was the most amazing day that we ever had the service was 100% we got all the help needed and also they made sure all our guest were all feeling special. The ball room is the most beautiful that i have ever seen and they

Read More

have also the most amazing views for pictures inside and outside the hotel. I recommend the Abbey 100%
on Wed, 11th of October, 2017
We had our wedding at the Abbey Hotel, Roscommon on 06th October.

We chose the Abbey Hotel because it is a building with great charactor, because of its reputation for great food and because it has only one large function room guaranteeing one wedding per day.

The Abbey Hotel and in

Read More

particular Lisa, the wedding coordinator, could not have been more helpful in the weeks leading up to our big day. They listened to us and took all we said on board while giving us ideas and guidance about how our day would go.

The food was incredible! All of our guests raved about the meal. The groom himself is ceoliac and the Abbey made sure that he missed out on nothing. Canepes and evening finger food was specifically prepared for him and our other guests with dietry requirements.

The function room looked beautiful for our day. Lisa placed all our personal touches perfectly around the room and even if our guests didn't notice, we certainly did.
on Tue, 10th of October, 2017
We had our wedding in the Abbey on the 29th of April 2017. I can't praise the staff and owners enough. From the minute we contacted the hotel for a viewing they made us feel very welcome. Everyone in the hotel is extremely helpful and friendly. They were always available to answer any questions we

Read More

had, they could recommend bands, photographers etc and would always work around out schedule if we needed to meet. The week before the wedding Geraldine and Lisa were on the phone for any queries I had. They even designed a separate menu for my aunt (she has special dietary requirements)- the day before the wedding. The day of the wedding was completely flawless and that is thanks to everyone in the Abbey. The food, service and drink was out of this world. We didn't have to worry about anything on the day of the wedding thanks to everyone in the hotel. Even the morning after the wedding, Tom (the owner) went and carried down my uncles breakfast, (my unlce is in his 70's), got him the paper and sat beside him discussing the weather. The best decision we ever made was to have our wedding in the Abbey. I am proud to say I am an Abbey Bride. I wholeheartedly recommend the Abbey Hotel for ANY award it has been nominated for.
on Wed, 4th of October, 2017
Damian and I got married in the Abbey Hotel on the 1st of July, the venue was outstanding and the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful especially our wedding coordinator Lisa. The ballroom was impeccably decorated and the honeymoon suite was amazing it was a truly wonderful wedding

Read More

experience and we highly recommend it to couples in search of the perfect venue for the wedding of there dreams. We couldn't recommend it highly enough.
on Mon, 2nd of October, 2017
My husband and I had our Wedding Reception at the Abbey Hotel on 11th August 2017. We cannot thank the staff enough for our special day; both the service and food were outstanding. All our guests were complimenting the food! The hotel and surrounding grounds are perfect for stunning photos. Lisa the

Read More

wedding coordinator looked after us with any queries we had in the run up to the day. Tom Grealy looked after us on the day and he ensured everything ran smoothly, our day truly was amazing. Highly recommend The Abbey Hotel.
on Sun, 1st of October, 2017
Amazing.
on Sat, 30th of September, 2017
From start to finish nothing was a problem for the management and staff at The Abbey Hotel. All of our guests commented on the venue,food and service.
It's been five weeks since our wedding and our guests are still talking about the wonderful time they had at The Abbey Hotel.
We can never thank

Read More

them enough it's a day we will always remember.
Leanne & Alan Dunne
on Sat, 30th of September, 2017
We got married in September and cannot praise the Abbey Hotel highly enough as a fantastic wedding venue.

My husband and I live in Sydney and so had the difficult task of organising the wedding from there but the Abbey staff were very responsive on email and phone and helped us assist any of our

Read More

guests special requirements.

All of my guests from abroad as well as local, loved the venue. It has such character and we got some truly amazing photographs with beautiful scenery and backdrops.

The food was top quality and remarked on by lots of guests and the order of events went very smoothly. It was all so well organised that we could relax and enjoy the day with zero stress. The package was very reasonably priced in comparison to some other hotels.

We were 100% happy with our choice of venue and would highly recommend it to any future brides and grooms.


Alan and Carmel Flood.
on Fri, 29th of September, 2017
Where shall I start... The Abbey Hotel is amazing, our wedding was magical. I stayed in the hotel for 3 nights prior to the wedding and I was so well looked after, the staff were fantastic and very welcoming. The morning of our wedding was what I can only describe as perfect, so relaxed and once

Read More

again there was lots of fun and laughter with staff and the Grealy family. We had a lot of guests arriving from Dublin, Meath and the USA and they were all made feel so welcome, each guest received top quality service. Our wedding reception was what every girl dreams of, the food was exquisite and the layout was 5 Star. The hotel grounds are stunning, such a treat for photographers! From start to finish it was professional and the wedding coordinator Lisa was brilliant, we can't thank her enough. It was without doubt the best day we have ever had and it's all down to the hotel staff and the Grealy family, fantastic people. We will be forever grateful. Magical memories from The Abbey Hotel.
on Fri, 29th of September, 2017
The Award Winning Abbey Hotel Roscommon- the Midlands Premier 4* Wedding Venue still a firm favourite with couples from near and far.

Are you recently engaged and looking for a picture perfect location for your special day. Every couple want the reassurance that your day will run smoothly and

Read More

without a glitch. "The team at the Abbey Hotel Roscommon (who were voted as one of the Top Rated Castle Wedding Venues in Ireland and the recent winners of the Best Chef/Best Restaurant Award) have almost 60 years expertise in the wedding hospitality industry. Owned and run by the Grealy family, this charming 18th century castle manor venue is the perfect location for an intimate civil wedding ceremony or a more formal gathering in out magnificent newly refurbished ballroom" explained Geraldine Grealy, Sales & Marketing Manager. The Annual Wedding Fair will take place on Sunday 21st January 2018 from 2-5 p.m and exhibitors are invited to book their stands early. Enquiries call 086 3276584

Abbey Bride Nicola Pearson had this to say about her wedding experience at the Abbey Hotel.

On behalf of my husband and I, We would like to sincerely thank all the staff in the Abbey hotel, in particular the Grealy family and the wedding co-ordinator Lisa Mullally. We had our wedding reception at the Abbey Hotel on the 26th August 2017 and it was superb from start to finish. The food and service was amazing (our compliments to the chef). All of our guests had complimented the food and the service. The Abbey Hotel is definitely an excellent venue for wedding and we can't compliment them enough.Also we have lots of lovely testimonials from recent wedding couples. Here is what they have to say.


·
Always fabulous at the abbey couldn't get a nicer hotel with the friendliest staff and the added bonus of a family run hotel you meet one of the Greallys always on duty highly recommend the abbey for every occasion. Yvette Kedian


Breege Regan McCormack
On behalf On On behalf of myself and m
on Thu, 24th of November, 2016
On behalf of my Husband and I, we would like to sincerely thank the Abbey Hotel Roscommon for making our Wedding Day such a wonderful occasion on New Years Eve 2015. From the first instance we met with the Grealy family and Wedding Co-Ordinators Elaine & Aishling, we were sure they would go over and

Read More

beyond to make our Wedding Day very special, and that they all did, very well too we must add! We cannot thank you all enough for your first class hospitality and service. With being a family run establishment, we were very lucky to have many members of the Grealy family and our Wedding Co-Ordinators on hand to help, to ensure our day ran without a glitch. The food was without question of a 5* status and our guests throughly enjoyed same. We are so happy we choose this venue for our Wedding Day & we would highly recommend this Hotel to prospective Wedding couples. Thank you all so much for giving us a day we will never forget. Mr & Mrs Joey & Jenny Rooney.
on Wed, 12th of October, 2016
Just want to say a huge thank you for everything you did on Saturday and the lead up to our wedding.
You're an absolute pro and a pleasure to deal with! We had an amazing day. Everything was perfect!
The room, the tables, the food, everything was unreal. So many people said to us they have been

Read More

at weddings all over the country & never have got food as good!

Adrian & staff were absolutely fabulous. Can't thank you all enough.

on Thu, 6th of October, 2016
Can we both just say that the Abbey Hotel far outweighed our expectations for the wedding. The food was spectacular and the service was commented on by all our guests as the best that they had seen. You really did cover all the smallest details which were the finishing touches.

Many Thanks for

Read More

everything

Ciara & Patrick Connell
on Thu, 6th of October, 2016
The management and staff at The Abbey were exceptional and couldn't do enough for us. Aisling the wedding co ordinator is so friendly and accommodating, going above and beyond to ensure everything went smoothly on the day. The food was amazing and piping hot. The ballroom has been renovated since

Read More

our wedding and is stunning. I highly recommend The Abbey as a wedding venue.
on Thu, 6th of October, 2016
Aishling is very professional and very helpful. Nothing was a problem to her. The hotel was under renovations shortly before our wedding and she assured us everything would be fine and look fabulous on the day and she was right. We wouldn't change a thing. Thanks to Aishling and all the Greally

Read More

family for making our day so special.
on Thu, 6th of October, 2016
Everything was perfect in every way. The Abbey Hotel in Roscommon couldn't have done enough for us. The food was excellent. People are still talking about the outstanding meal 3 weeks later. The service was as good as the meal. The staff are lovely. I can without hesitation recommend this venue.
on Wed, 5th of October, 2016
Top notch place for a wedding,food excellent and service to match,would like to thank Tom , Adrian (Grealy) for making our day extra special , also to Aishling for helping us plan everything,you can't go wrong with the Abbey.
Great! you are going to make a supplier or venue a favourite. But first you need to ...
Log in Or Create an Account