Wedding Reviews for Castle Dargan Estate

Average Rating: 5 out of 5 - based on 60 reviews



Clair Cawley
wedding on Sat, 25th of May, 2024
We had our ceremony and reception at Castle Dargan, and from start to finish, it was flawless. Taylor was absolutely amazing and made our day stress-free and relaxing. She knew all the good spots to take us to on the stunning grounds to capture amazing photos of our special day. Caroline was also

Read More

very accommodating in organising rooms for our guests; she really made that bit so easy for us. The staff were so lovely, one lovely gentleman went above and beyond for my son who had a little wobbler before I walked up the aisle and gave him a pocket full of sweets which put a smile from ear to ear on his face. This made my big moment stress-free; thank you again for that! The food was absolutely amazing. We could not fault it, and everyone really enjoyed it; the tayto sandwiches were a real hit, too! The whole day was just fabulous. Thanks again to all the staff at Castle Dargan who made our special day so memorable, You really outdone yourself.

Review submitted on Mon, 3rd of June, 2024
Yvette Edwards
wedding on Tue, 2nd of April, 2024
Castle Dargan is the PERFECT wedding venue, and with the help of the staff (Taylor and Caroline), you will be treated to a fantastic day filled with memories.
Taylor was our wedding planner and seamlessly worked with us in New Zealand to meet our needs. Time zone was never an issue. She also has a

Read More

great site to help you manage your expectations and prepare you for your day to ensure decorations, gifts, etc., are all laid out per your requirements. She is also there to help you on your golf ride around the estate for photos—and trust me, you will be thrilled!
Caroline was our accommodations organizer and was amazing at keeping in touch with us about room booking and pricing. She was extremely friendly when we met with her and provided a lot of clarity and help with ensuring some rooms were together, etc.
I highly recommend Castle Dargan as a wedding venue. Sean and I had a wonderful experience here, as did all my guests. We had a small wedding of 40-50 people, which was perfect.

Review submitted on Thu, 25th of April, 2024
Ciara Garrett
wedding on Fri, 15th of March, 2024
Taylor and her team at Castle Dargan Estate were amazing from start to finish. The attention to detail was second to none and they couldn’t do enough for us. All of our guests commented on the beautiful decor and scenery at the venue along with the professionalism of the staff. We had such an

Read More

amazing day!

Review submitted on Tue, 23rd of April, 2024
Aoife Geelan
wedding on Sat, 23rd of March, 2024
We had such an amazing wedding day at Castle Dargan Estate. We can’t fault them for anything. Taylor our wedding coordinator was so helpful with everything and very responsive to emails and calls. No request was too much trouble.

The food was lovely and the food service was great, keeping all

Read More

our guests happy and relaxed. Everything went off without a hitch.

It’s a such lovely venue for a wedding and the honeymoon suite was gorgeous.

Review submitted on Mon, 22nd of April, 2024
Hannah McManamon
wedding on Sat, 3rd of February, 2024
We had our reception in Castle Dargan last weekend and we had the BEST time from start to finish.

Management was excellent to deal with and we felt listened to. Our guests all had a fantastic time and the feedback has been great. We were all allowed to relax and fully enjoy ourselves so we

Read More

couldn't ask for much more.

Special mention to Zoltan, Nathan, Taylor, and chef Sonu.

Review submitted on Wed, 7th of February, 2024
Seana McAloon
wedding on Mon, 11th of December, 2023
Our wedding was held in Castle Dargan and we cannot say enough to praise the hotel and especially the team… they were constant professionals and nothing was too much to ask. A very special mention to Taylor our wedding coordinator who went above and beyond to ensure that our day was perfect.

Read More

Nothing was too much to ask for Taylor and the team. We couldn’t recommend Castle Dargan enough as a location to stay but especially as a wedding venue… the ceremony room also deserves a special mention.

Review submitted on Wed, 13th of December, 2023
Sarah and Darren Drummond
wedding on Fri, 17th of June, 2022
Caroline and all the wonderful staff at Castle Dargan were a pleasure to deal with from day one. We had the most wonderful time and really enjoyed every part of the few days we spent in the hotel. Everyone who we encountered over the few days were extremely accommodating! I’m sorry I don’t

Read More

remember everyone’s name to thank individually but each and everyone of the staff helped with whatever was required and nothing was a problem! The morning of the wedding it was very wet and windy, I was naturally very disappointed as we were hoping to have the wedding outside however, come 1pm the day was beginning to look good. When I suggested that we should move everything outside 50 minutes before the ceremony was due to begin, while there were a few raised eyebrows (my parents included!!) the hotel staff came together to make it happen. We were extremely grateful for this. Thank you again for the most memorable day Castle Dargan, fab service, food and an extremely friendly manner from all staff - it meant so much to us.

Review submitted on Wed, 10th of August, 2022
Fiona Goggins
wedding on Tue, 28th of December, 2021
A venue I would highly recommend. Caroline is very reassuring which is needed trying to organise a wedding during a pandemic. Very professional, anything we asked for was absolutely no problem. Food was out of this world as was the service. When we had to postpone last year they were very

Read More

accomodating in every way. They make you feel so relaxed that all you can do is enjoy your day. The grounds are exceptional for photos. I can't praise this venue enough or its staff especially Caroline.

Review submitted on Thu, 28th of July, 2022
Erika & Donal Walsh
wedding on Fri, 10th of December, 2021
Caroline and all the team in Castle Dargan were fantastic to deal with. They are so professional in everything that they do and made the planning and build up to our wedding so easy and stress free. The venue itself looked amazing on the day which made for some great photos. The food was fantastic

Read More

and the service by all of the staff was even better. I cannot recommend this venue highly enough.

Review submitted on Thu, 28th of July, 2022
Aoibheann & John Harrison
wedding on Sat, 30th of April, 2022
We had our wedding in April 2022 in Castle Dargan. We can't thank all the staff in Castle Dargan enough for all they did for us, we had the most magical day. Caroline, Zoltan and Jessica were absolutely fabulous to deal with from start to finish! No request was too big or too small, Caroline's

Read More

attention to detail is 12 out of 10! With all the emails and calls back and forth with ideas and edits and revisions she managed to make it all come to life on the day and didn't miss a thing! The food was absolutely beautiful, it was so difficult to choose at our menu tasting as everything was so delicious and Matt made the experience so enjoyable for us and offered great advice about our options! The tayto sandwiches went down an absolute treat at 2am too! They even organised gluten free bread and gluten free crisps for our coeliac guests! The function room looked stunning as did the coach house for our drinks reception, and every single staff member couldn't have been more helpful on the day. Jessica was brilliant to work with to sort out all accomodation, she kept us informed every step of the way and was able to facilitate all of our requests such as grouping certain guests in rooms close to each other or giving some guests ground floor rooms etc. Our day was extremely wet but Castle Dargan made such a gorgeous backdrop for our indoor photos, the porch and stairs were stunning - it's great to have an option for lovely indoor photos when mother nature kicks in! Thank you so much to Caroline and all the staff in Castle Dargan, we had our dream wedding day!

Review submitted on Thu, 28th of July, 2022
Elaine & Darren McKeon
wedding on Sat, 2nd of October, 2021
We had the most amazing day at our wedding on the 2nd of October 2021. From start to finish everything went perfectly. The staff were all amazing and nothing was too much trouble. It made the day extra special. Thank you so much to Caroline, Michelle and all the staff. Highly recommended.
Olivia & Dermot Rooney
wedding on Sat, 30th of October, 2021
We had our wedding on the 30th October, 2021, and it was fantastic from start to finish. The staff were all so attentive, and made us all feel so special. Michelle was our wedding coordinator, and she was so lovely to deal with. We also had met with Caroline for some things, and she also was just so

Read More

nice and friendly to work with. The food and service was all fantastic. We would highly recommend anyone that wants their day to be special to get in touch with Castle Dargan and enjoy the experience.

Review submitted on Thu, 11th of November, 2021
Lauren & Stephen Battles
wedding on Thu, 21st of October, 2021
What an amazing day and night we had at Castle Dargan celebrating our wedding. The views were amazing, the food top tier and staff ensured the whole day ran smoothly. Thanks so much to Michelle, our wedding coordinator, who was just so lovely to work alongside. Another thanks to Caroline, who was a

Read More

great help when it came to sorting our rooms and ensuring all our guests were accommodated for. Zoltan was always on hand on the evening, and ensured our entertainment went to plan. We really couldn’t have had a better day. We are still on a high from it. Everyone just had such an amazing day. Thank you so much to all the team at Castle Dargan!!
-Mr and Mrs Battles

Review submitted on Thu, 11th of November, 2021
Lianne & Craig McMorrow
wedding on Fri, 16th of July, 2021
We recently had our wedding at Castle Dargan! What an amazing venue! It is such a beautiful place for a wedding, and the grounds provided the perfect backdrop for our wedding photos. Tanya, the wedding coordinator, is fantastic and ensured we had a magical day, despite all the COVID-19 restrictions.

Read More

Zoltan looked after us on the night, and he was such a big hit with the guests! All of the staff and management were just so helpful throughout our stay. The food and service was absolutely fabulous! Overall, it was a perfect day, and we couldn't have asked for more!
Thank you for everything!
The McMorrows x

Review submitted on Thu, 11th of November, 2021
Grainne & Jonathan Davey
wedding on Thu, 15th of July, 2021
Jonathan and I had our wedding reception at Castle Dargan Estate on the 15th of July. From Tanya, the wedding coordinator, to the management of Jibin and his team, we were treated like royalty. We were blown away by the hospitality we received, from when my family arrived on Wednesday, until we left

Read More

on Friday. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for a wedding. The food and the service we received were excellent. All of our guests were delighted with all the food that we received. Thank you so much Castle Dargan for making our wedding day so special.

Thanks,
Grainne & Jonathan Davey

Review submitted on Thu, 11th of November, 2021
Jennifer o Brien
wedding on Sat, 21st of December, 2019
On the 21st December 2019, we got married in Castle Dargan Hotel. From the moment we viewed the hotel and met their wedding coordinator Tanya, we knew it was the wedding venue for us. The professionalism, friendless of all staff was outstanding. Our wedding day went so smoothly thanks to Tanya and

Read More

their amazing staff. Our wedding guests are still talking about the fabulous food and location of the hotel. If you are looking for an exceptional wedding venue, with welcoming, helpful staff and gorgeous food, this hotel is for you. Thank you to all the staff of Castle Dargan, for making our wedding so memorable and organization of our big day stress free.

Review submitted on Sat, 10th of October, 2020
Dee Earley
wedding on Fri, 27th of September, 2019
Wow! Where do we start? What a day! And, what an amazingly professional service we received from all the staff in Castle Dargan. They were all top class - especially Breege, Tanya, Jordan, Patrick, the lovely bar manager (sorry forgot the name) and the lovely Mary. You are a super team and made

Read More

everything so relaxed and easy for us on the big day and prior to it. Nothing was too big an ask and you were all super with the 45 kids that attended our wedding. Thank you so so much for everything .

Review submitted on Sat, 10th of October, 2020
nIAMH BOYLE
wedding on Fri, 5th of July, 2019
The whole day went fabulously! A day I will never forget! Tanya was great and very helpful and Mary was great at helping me sort out the rooms. It’s a fabulous location for any event, especially weddings. Food was excellent. And there are great opportunities for photos.
CIARA GEOGHEGAN
wedding on Fri, 14th of June, 2019
My husband and I got married in Castle Dargan Resort in June 2019. We absolutely loved it and had an amazing day. We had our afterparty there also, and the whole weekend was fantastic! The staff couldn’t do enough for us and were always very friendly. Our guests had a great time and loved the

Read More

hotel too. We are both from Mayo and our family told us they loved being in the hotel for the whole weekend and found it very relaxing. My husband and I loved the hotel from the moment we walked into it over a year and a half ago and we were so happy to have our Big Day there. Tanya was so helpful and always quick in replying to any queries we had.

Review submitted on Sat, 10th of October, 2020
Laura mc intyre
wedding on Sat, 28th of December, 2019
We got married in Castle Dargan on the 28th of December 2019. It was an unforgettable day/night and we would like to thank all the outstanding members of staff (reception, bar, waiters, waitresses, management) for the fantastic service you provided. To name just one though, Tanya the wedding

Read More

coordinator couldn’t do enough for us and made sure every little detail was taken care of. From the moment we booked our menu tasting to the finer last minute details & finally to the big day everything was excellent. The food tasted fantastic, it was hot, there was loads on the plate and everything ran on time, which we loved and so did our guests. Any extras we wanted, were no problem. The room was dressed superbly. The surroundings of Castle Dargan are breath taking. Our guests were very pleased with all aspects of the day, not to mind ourselves and, for that, we thank you. We can’t wait to go back and have a relaxing break. From the new Mr & Mrs Egan

Review submitted on Sat, 10th of October, 2020
Natasha McGowan

Dear Kim,

I would like to sincerely thank you and all the staff at Castledargan for making our special day so wonderful. You made the whole process from start to finish painless and smooth. From our very first meeting at the wedding fayre i knew we would click and i would find you easy to deal

Read More

with. There was nothing to big or small i asked of you that you didn't try to accommodate. You and your team made the whole experience seamless and effortless. Our guests thoroughly enjoyed the day. Compliments to the Chefs for the amazing food and the waiting staff for the prompt and professional service. Also the bar staff were excellent and served us until the wee early hours of the morning.

My mum slipped and twisted her ankle and a member of your staff assisted her to her room. Which we were so grateful for too. Dean and the band put on a great performance to get the crowd going and we just enjoyed ourselves so much.

So on behalf of Philip and myself we are so happy to have chosen your venue to host our wedding. Feel free to use my comments on any feedback reviews you may have because it truly deserves top marks in every aspect imaginable. Without doubt Castledargan is the best wedding venue in Sligo.

Kind Regards,
Natasha McGowan,


Review submitted on Fri, 4th of December, 2015
Grainne and Charlie
Hi Kim,
I Just wanted to send you a quick email to say thank you so so much for Saturday! I don't know where I was dragged off to after I got out of the car but I never got talking to you after that!
It was amazing! We loved every second of it. The hotel looked fab all decorated, the food was

Read More

amazing(everyone is still talking about it!) And, as usual, the service was second to none! One of my guests is a chef, has been for about 30years and he said he could not fault one thing. We were also told that having attended our wedding, it had restored some of our guests faith in weddings

Review submitted on Wed, 2nd of December, 2015
Sharon and Rory Gallagher
Kim, Matthew, Chrissie and all the team at Castle Dargan. Firstly, apologies this this is a little late. Thank You from the bottom of our hearts for the truly amazing job you did for our wedding on August 2nd 2014 and for everything on the lead up to it. . Kim no request was too big or two small

Read More

you made sure everything was perfect and were a dream to deal with. Matthew also an absolute star on the day itself – you all make a wonderful team and are outstanding at what you do. People are still telling us what a great time they had and raving about the beautiful food and brilliant service. Can’t wait to come back for a visit. Thanks again for giving us the day of our dreams xx
02/08/2014


Review submitted on Tue, 24th of November, 2015
Sam & Andrew
We can't thank you enough for all your help in making our wedding day so special. You made organising our day from another country an easy and stress free experience and you completely understood everything we had in mind which made us completely at ease. The entire team at Castle Dargan were so

Read More

professional throughout and were a pleasure to deal with - all of our guests were so impressed with the service they received. We could not be happier with how everything went and we have you to thank for that. It was amazing. Best Wishes - We'll be back! Samantha and Andrew Barraclough


Review submitted on Mon, 23rd of November, 2015
Karl & Nollag
I found the entire team brilliant. Everything ran so smoothly on the day. Kim and imelda were great for answering questions, returning emails prior to the big day. What a great day
Sharon Conneely (Kelly)
An amazing hotel with amazing staff. Great value for the service and experience we received. Staff could not be more helpful and attentive in particular Kim the wedding coordinator, Matt the bar and restaurant manager and Chrissie the reception manager. All our guests commented on their attention to

Read More

detail the hotel friendliness and helpfulness and it was all we could have asked for our special day. The amazing grounds and hotel itself makes it a magical place for a wedding!
Wedding: 29th May 2015

Review submitted on Mon, 23rd of November, 2015
Sinead O' Reilly
Wow... We had our wedding at this amazing venue may 2015.. It was superb on every level. I would recommend this hotel to absolutely everyone! We originally met Kim, the wedding coordinator 14 months before our wedding date, and she was an instant Ray of sunshine, she is professional, helpful, made

Read More

us feel completely at ease... Especially as we live in England ...nothing was too much trouble, and any question at all Kim was straight back to us on email within the hour!.. Just incredible, we felt like the service was so personalised and we were made to feel so special. Something we never felt in any other hotel as we were looking around. Kim is most definitely a credit to the hotel! We carried on, had our menu tasting night there which was so beautiful, we will never forget it, the quality and amount of food was absolutely amazing... Something which carried onto the day.... The value for money...and quality was impeccable!! Our guests were stunned with the quality, everything was so tasty and plenty of food,.,, the staff even went round with seconds for our main course meats.!! Matthew looked after us so well throughout the meal, the attention to detail and quality of service was second to none... Lots of special touches that added to the day, we noted Matthew had his eye on the room, guests, timing everything was impeccable! ... The waiting staff are all unbelievably friendly....happy to help... We ran over a little late with the day... But nothing was a problem to this team!! The day was perfect, staff and venue, holds a special place now for me and my now husband... Cannot sing highly enough of this place!
Wedding: 16th May 2015

Review submitted on Mon, 23rd of November, 2015
Shane and Nuala
We had our wedding here on the 18/09/2015. We had been to a weeding here a few years ago and feel in love the grounds and layout of hotel. After meeting with Kim we booked our weeding (at a great rate) we never looked back! Nothing we asked for was a problem for any member of staff. All our family

Read More

and friends were blown away with how good the food was how helpful the staff were and comfortable the rooms were. I cannot thank everyone at Castle Dargan Resort enough for making it so easy for us to enjoy our wedding day knowing we and our guests were well looked after. So if you are getting married and want a beautiful location with amazing service and food look no further!!! Thanks again to Kim and all the staff. Shane and Nuala
Wedding: 18th Sep 2015

Review submitted on Mon, 23rd of November, 2015
Mr and Mrs Ormsby
Hi ladies!! We hope everyone in Castle Dargan is keeping well. We are so sorry for the delay in writing this but it took us a while to finally accept that we need to get back to reality! We don't really know where to start. It's impossible for us to thank you all enough for the fantastic and amazing

Read More

wedding day that you helped us have at Castle Dargan. Kim from the minute we met with you, you were nothing but a pleasure to deal with. No question was too much and you were always there to solve any query I had and believe me I know how many of them I used to ask you!!!! You helped the lead up to the big day run some smoothly and Imelda from the moment you took over things just continued to run effortlessly. Everything ran to perfection on the 17th and guests were treated with such individual attention that its no wonder they are still talking about Castle Dargan. I was hoping you could pass on to Matthew our kindest regards and thanks for all he did for us both. The food was definitely without doubt the best wedding meal we have ever tasted and our guests were blown away by the standard. Guests are still raving about the "fantastic meal". Nobody wanted for anything and everything was timed to perfection. No glasses were ever empty and any requests were happily dealt with. Thank you so much for making this happen. Chrissie also was an absolute diamond! She blew everyone away with her welcome smile and kind words of greeting. Guests were made feel so special and she helped everyone including myself with anything that they wanted with a constant smile and nothing was ever too much. It was a pleasure to have chatted and spent time with Bríd the day before the wedding. She really understood the theme we were creating in the function room and helped add to this with her creative flair. Thank you all so much from the bottom of our hearts. We hope to get down to you guys before Christmas to thank you all in person. Thanks again for everything. Mr & Mrs Ormsby
Wedding: 17th Jul 2015

Review submitted on Mon, 23rd of November, 2015
Mr and Mrs Duggan
I don't know where to start. You were all so amazing with everything. I have never seen such precision and attention to detail. The whole place was so well organised and we just felt so spoilt. The serving staff were soon point that i was thinking that you do some army style drill sessions, no

Read More

hanging around and nothing missing. In addition all the guests couldn't get over the quality of the meals and they kept saying it was probably the best wedding meal they have ever had. The stakes were amazing and i don't know how the chef managed to cook them just perfect. For sure there was no shortage of food as well. Aidan loved his birthday surprise and the names on the plates was a brilliant touch. We were so happy that both of us nearly cried except that would have messed up my make up so no go. Thank you again and cant wait to come back for an anniversary dinner and spa night. All the best from the new Mr and Mrs Duggan i.e. Aidan and Kati.

Review submitted on Mon, 23rd of November, 2015
Michelle & Michael
A quick note to express our gratitude to you & all the staff at Castle Dargan for making our wedding day so special! From our first meeting with you, you helped make our preparation so easy. We felt we could approach you about our concerns & that you always did your best to help us. Guest were

Read More

raving about the food & pleasant staff, food & facilities. You are excellent at your chosen profession & we wish you all the best in the future.


Review submitted on Wed, 29th of October, 2014
Louise & Eoin
To Kim, Matthew & all the staff at Castle Dargan,
Thanks for making our day perfect, we cannot thankyou enough. It was amazing from start to finish.
Tracy & Micheál
Hi Kim, Matthew & Co,
Thank you all so much for giving us a great day. We were so pleased with everything. It was a New Year’s Eve we will never forget! We’ve enclosed a picture of the room for you. Thanks again for everything.
Rebecca & Darren

The day before my wedding was spent in the icon spa at castle dargan. The three girls Sophia, Margaret and Ashling couldn't do more, they started the whole experience of to a fantastic start.
The food at the bar was tip top. Cooked to perfection.
The wedding day itself was amazing. Make up was

Read More

done by Margaret in icon spa. She is the best make up artist. (I get my make up done a lot) but have never looked better. And every bride wants to look her best. My guests were so amazed. They could believe the finished product. Good enough to put on the cat walk.
On to the reception. My mother had passed away and we had the Maltese flag. But it wasn't possible to put up on the flag pole but knowing how much it meant to me they made sure it had pride of place and it turned out to be one of the centre pieces for the photography.
The champagne reception was fantastic and they certainly gave us more than we could ever of expected.
The wedding breakfast was out of this world. Fantastic views. Fantastic silver service. And a added surprise that had everyone on their feet clapping (I can't say what it is as future brides and groom. It will spoil the surprise) but it was tremendous.
The wedding co ordination Kim was brilliant. My wedding went without a hitch
All my guest thought the setting was brilliant the service was fantastic. Would not have got that in England. Castle dargan has out Ireland on the map for all my guests and I won't be surprised that they all return. What can I say but simply the best.
Then after all this I got a free treatment as the bride from icon spa. Facial. Highly recommend.
Well done Margaret, Sophia and Ashling you all have lived up to the expectations that a top hotel should have.


Review submitted on Wed, 29th of October, 2014
Maria & Conor

Hi Kim,
Just wanted to send a quick email to say a huge thank you to you and all at Castle Dargan for making our wedding weekend so brilliant!!
I cannot praise all the staff highly enough. The food was excellent, the service brilliant and everyone was so nice and accommodating to deal

Read More

with.
Matthew in particular was just so helpful and friendly, and went out of his way to make sure all our guests were happy on both the day itself and on the Sunday.
There was just a lovely, relaxed feeling throughout the weekend, and I can't thank you all enough.
Conor and I will be writing a nice review on Trip Advisor, will try to get it done this weekend.
You are a brilliant wedding coordinator, and it's very clear why you won the wedding coordinator of the year!
Thanks again,


Review submitted on Wed, 29th of October, 2014
Helena & Nicholas


Firstly I would like to thank Kim and all of the staff at Castle Dargan that made our wedding day so special! They went the extra mile with everything and could not do enough for us before, during and after the wedding. The attention to detail was amazing and there was not anything that was

Read More

forgotten. With us living in London, I sent numerous emails, but nothing was a problem. We got married in May 2014 and the wedding day was so relaxed and they took all of the stress out of the day. The guests and ourselves thought the the staff were so polite and helpful and the food was excellent, you would not go hungry at a wedding here! Castle Dargan is beautiful and it was picture perfect for the wedding photos! I would highly recommend having a wedding here as you will not be disappointed!


Review submitted on Wed, 29th of October, 2014
Marie & Conor

We recently held our wedding reception at Castle Dargan and we can't speak highly enough of the venue and staff. From the day that we first visited the hotel we found the staff pleasant and helpful, especially Kim who helped us with planning our reception. We had a fairly large wedding and nothing

Read More

was too much trouble for the staff and the day went off perfectly. Many of the guests commented on the coach house reception room and the views from the bar and the function room. The quality of the food was second to none and the fillet steak was superb. We had quite a few bits and pieces of additional décor etc. for the venue and the staff were exceptionally helpful in making sure that all was in place on the day. We would specifically like to mention Kim, Matt and Christine for all their help throughout the wedding. Overall we would highly recommend Castle Dargan as a wedding venue that both looks the part and delivers in spades on service and food. Thanks again!


Review submitted on Wed, 29th of October, 2014
Debbie Fallon
We got married in Castle Dargan on the 29th of August this year, and had an amazing time. The venue itself is fabulous, we had our civil ceremony there too and the room and the atmosphere was spectacular!

Everyone we encountered was a pleasure to deal with from start to finish during the wedding

Read More

planning process, the girls on reception had great patience and were so helpful with any queries ourselves or our guests had. The food at the tasting and on the day was beautiful, with brilliant attention to all the small details. Two months later, we're still getting told how good the food was and how excellent all the waiting staff were - I've lost count of how many of our guests said how friendly the waiting staff were and how they made sure every person at their table was happy with every single dish that went out.

From start to finish we had a brilliant experience with Castle Dargan, and Kim was always happy to help with our (many!) queries, no matter how big or small, thought of all the small things, and was a great source of reassurance that all was okay. She did as much as she could to ensure we'd have nothing to worry about on the day and to minimise our stress, I think I may have been one of the most relaxed brides ever. So we want to say a big thank you to all the staff, especially Chrissie, Stephen, Matthew and Kim; ye all made our wedding so perfect and ensured we had an amazing day - we'd do it all again tomorrow and wouldn't change a thing!

Thanks again from Debbie and Darragh

Review submitted on Mon, 27th of October, 2014
mr & Mrs Barnes Kelly
When we were planning our wedding last year we looked high and low for a quiet intimate friendly venue for our service and we are glad to report that we found just that and more in the gem that we now call castle dargan.we had a small family civil ceremony and reception afterwards and Kim the

Read More

wedding co coordinator was ever so helpful both with her time and her non judgemental approach.I was a very nervous bride but she was very understanding and made me feel relaxed throughout my stay at castle dargan. Although the venue itself is not an actual castle as the name might suggest,it snuggly sits on the land of the old castle ruins which nowadays sports a very impressive golf course and pleasant peaceful walkways. It's so picturesque and relaxing. Castle dargan house on site is where the wedding party stayed. It was old world style and beautiful and very private. The staff at castle dargan were first class. Attentive and respectful in every way possible as nothing was too much for them. The coach room where we had our ceremony was every so homely with its piano and cosy open fire...the warmth of the open fire on a cold November evening made everyone feel welcome.it was beautiful. For the ceremony the room was dressed in black and white which was very elegant and tastefully done.the lighted candleabra and low lighting created an intimate personal space under the high celling. it was very special and our memories of the day will always be fondly cherished. After the ceremony the coach room was set up for a sit down dinner for all.it was idelic with crisp white tablecovers and chairs dressed in black and white with a display of lillies as cetrepieces. it was just what we dreamed of for our day. The meal itself was a little feast.portions were lovely and well presented.flavours were mouth watering.attention to detail at top table was special and service was spot on.we opted for a round table as our top table. it was positioned by the open fire and the ambience was memorable. I feel we could write a book on our experience this time last year at castle dargan! After the meal we had music for a few hours which was thoroughly enjoyed by everyone. The next morning as our guests began making their way home we stayed behind just sitting in the coach room and reflected upon our experience at castle dargan...we did not want the magic to end!...it is a beautiful restful place and we are counting down the days now to Nov 8th our anniversary so we can relive the memories all over again and enjoy the picturesque setting of castle dargan!...an experience not to forget! We would highly recommend castle dargan as a wedding venue whether for a small intimate wedding or a larger wedding...one will not be disappointed!!!

Review submitted on Wed, 15th of October, 2014
Fionnuala O'Donnell
We recently celebrated our wedding here and had a fabulous day! We cannot praise the hotel enough! The setting, staff and food are superb. Our guests were blown away by the quality and sheer quantity of food on offer and the attentiveness of the staff. We were a small wedding party, circa 50 people.

Read More

When initially looking for wedding venues, we had great difficulty finding a venue where our guests wouldn't feel lost. When we arrived at Castle Dargan and saw the setting and venue, especially the coach house, we knew we had found the venue for us. Kim listened very carefully to us, noting our every request and as a consequence the day went off without a hitch. We felt so relaxed. It was amazing. We'll definitely be returning for the anniversary!

Review submitted on Thu, 9th of October, 2014
Tara Regan
Hi,
I had my wedding at your hotel resort on 26th August 2011. Hubby and I had a wonderful reception and were treated like royalty at all times. The venue is second to none with idylic surroundings and scenery. The staff are so professional and attention to detail is predominant at all times. We

Read More

have been to many weddings since, but no other venue can compare to Castle Dargan for the incredible and amazing value. We would recommend your resort above any similar contender and wish any potential "bride and groom to be" to have a fabulous experience like us. We congratulate you and thank you and wish you continued success.

Yours sincerely
Tara Fitzpatrick

Review submitted on Thu, 9th of October, 2014
Mary Hunt Burke
Getting married for the second time is a pretty big decision & also when you are a mature couple. However our decision to choose Castle Dargan as our venue was "The Best" decision of all. From our first meeting with Kim "wedding coordinator " we knew our dream day was going to happen & on viewing

Read More

the different rooms where our service & reception would take place we again were 100% sure this was where we wee going to be married. Over the months leading up to our Big Day we had several meetings, e mails & telephone conversations with Kim & nothing was a problem.. Whatever our request she was more than happy to help. Sinead made sure all our guests accomadition was sorted & we also got to meet with Chef to discuss our menu this we found to be such an honour & he really put our minds at rest with regard to our choices. We had a wonderful evening at our menu tasting & we found it difficult to choose as all the dishes were amazing. As we got married at Christmas the decor in the hotel was just Magic , as was our wedding day, The Coach House where we had our service was so beautiful with black & red on our chairs, candlleabras everywhere, & amazing floral arrangements in abundance as I have already said we got married in a Winter Wonderland. The reception was fantastic wonderful food served by super efficient staff & the party continued into the early morning with the help of many more of the bar & hotel staff. Best Venue in Ireland to get married wish we could do it all again!

Review submitted on Thu, 9th of October, 2014
Deirdre Gilbride
When I drove into Castle Dargan with my fiance we both just knew that this was where we wanted to get married! It has the old blended with the new to create a lovely feeling in the hotel.

On the 17th of April 2009, we finally got yo have our wedding reception there! We had an absolutely amazing

Read More

day and the staff were so so helpful behind the scenes it was lovely to hear about after. From start to finish we had a ball and our guests ranted and raved about it after. Sam (wedding coordinator) at the time listened to all my ideas and perfected them wonderfully on the day, cake display, top table flowers, favours, sweets I had organised and drinks reception!

We have Castle Dargan in a special place in our hearts and always will. We would like nothing more to go back for a weekend , child free, and enjoy all the amenities we just didn't have time for the day/night of the wedding.

It's a super super venue and I would highly recommend it to everyone.

Review submitted on Wed, 8th of October, 2014
Patricia & Andrew Phillips
We recently held our wedding in Castle Dargan and we could not be more happy that we choose there. From the moment we contacted Kim, we knew that this was the place for us. We found throughout the build up to our wedding that the staff were more that helpful to us in every way. On the day of our

Read More

wedding, the Coach House room exceeded our expectations.
The staff, who are brilliant, took on the responsibility of organizing our guests, which in turn allowed us to feel more relaxed.
The food, from the arrival reception and main meal to the evening buffet was outstanding. They catered for Everyone. They even prepared our sons favorite meal which wasn't even on the menu. The friendliness and diligence of everyone who works in Castle Dargan ensured that everyone was relaxed and enjoyed the day. We felt that touches by the staff made our day even more special. We can not express our gratitude or praise the staff enough for everything they did for us. We enjoyed our time there soo much we cancelled the few days we had booked in another hotel to stay in Castle Dargan.
The location of Castle Dargan alone is enough to win you over.
We are beyond happy we choose Castle Dargan to hold our wedding.
Kim, Matthew, Chrissie, everyone, there are too many to mention, thank you, you are legends.

Review submitted on Sat, 4th of October, 2014
Elaine Sweeney
we had our wedding last march and i cannot reccommend castle dargan enough! the food was AMAZING and all staff went above an beyond for anythin we asked for! kim monaghan and her team dont get half enough reward for the work they put in between the venue and reassuring you from the start that they

Read More

have everything under control! the grounds and garden are also amazing regardless of weather so you will lwys have amazing pictures and memories to look back on

if i had to do it all over again i definately wouldnt change a thing esp the venue :)

Review submitted on Sat, 4th of October, 2014
Fiona and James McLoughlin
From the day of our first viewing Kim was very helpful and answered all our questions. The place was lovely and we knew we would have the place to ourselves for the day .

The room were we had the ceremony was fantastic so cosy and just the right size for our guests . We couldn't of picked a

Read More

nicer place .

The staff on the day were very friendly and helpful . The food was very enjoyable .

Overall we really enjoyed our day , and felt Kim and staff were very easy to deal with and the place and location was fabulous .

Review submitted on Sat, 4th of October, 2014
Gillian Scully
My husband and I had our wedding in castle dargan in March 2011 .we would highly recommend castle dargan to any couple for their special day .we had an intimate meal with our close family in d coach house and then an evening reception for our guests all d staff at castle dargan were brilliant the

Read More

staff make sure everything ran perect from d moment we arrived at the hotel the food was amazing I would highly recommend castle daragan for either a small wedding r a large one we had both an inmate day reception and our evening reception it also is a fabulous location for your pictures


Review submitted on Fri, 3rd of October, 2014
Leona
We had our reception in Castle Dargan way back in 2007 & booked it when the place was still a building site (they were putting down the carpets in the bedrooms they day we were there to look round & the function room was just a shell!!) but there was something about the place that we didn't worry

Read More

about booking. We were taking people on an hours drive from the church so it needed to be good & it was! Everything from the drinks reception to the balcony looking over the golf course was fantastic and when it came to the meal things only got better. It was the first time any of our guests had seen a service like it - where the top table are served to a theme tune & plates placed & uncovered in perfect synchronisation (though it's been copied many times it's never quite been the same standard)

We had a wonderful day & people still comment on the hotel (view & how comfy the beds are!!) and the meal (service & quality)

Review submitted on Fri, 3rd of October, 2014
adelle gormley
We had out wedding in Castle Dargan on the 10th July 14. What can I say.....frim the beginning the day was amazing and the staff couldn't do enough. We got married in the coach house and the attention to detail was amazing. I was welcomed by both Kim and Matthew who never left our side all day and

Read More

where always close by to attend to our every need. The wedding meal was out of this world my wedding guests are still talking about the gravy! The service throughout the whole day was 1st class ans the little suprise at desert made is feel very special! I cannot put into words how much I loved castle dargan! I only wish I could do it all again! I will definitely be recommending this venue to everyone! Looking forward to visiting again.

Review submitted on Fri, 3rd of October, 2014
Sharon Kiely
Our magical day was 10th May 2008. We loved the whole day and nothing was too much on the day, we would highly recommend this hotel for your big day. Samantha was our wedding coordinator and what a super job, people still tell is about our day which has alot to do with the venue but more importantly

Read More

the super staff, and can do attitude they all had

Review submitted on Fri, 3rd of October, 2014
Teresa & James Hoey
We shared our wedding day earlier this year with Castle Dargan and it most defiantly the best day of our lives to date, we couldn't have been happier, Kim was amazing and anything we needed done she was always there to help, the staff were wonderful, the food tasting was amazing and Imelda was

Read More

lovely and great at her job, the food on the day was out of this world, we honestly could not of asked for more, from the day we booked it Kim always kept in touch. Everyone is so welcoming, the rooms are beautiful, the views over the golf course from the function room is out of this world. We would like to say a massive massive thank you to Kim and all the staff at Castle Dargan for such an amazing day. We would recommend this Hotel to anyone not only for their wedding but also for a meal or wkend away.

Review submitted on Fri, 3rd of October, 2014
Lorraine
We had our wedding in Castle Dargan in September 2014. We had a civil ceremony in the beautiful coach room, which was the perfect shape and size for our wedding. We then had a drinks reception in the lovely glass ceiling-ed room between the coach room and the bar. We were very lucky with the weather

Read More

which meant that our guests could enjoy drinks on the balcony of the bar overlooking the stunning views and Castle Dargan golf course. Our wedding dinner was delicious and served very promptly, which was very important to us. We had a BBQ the day after our wedding also and my husband's band played in the same room we had our drinks reception. The food was excellent again. a lot of the wedding guests took advantage of the good weather and played golf that afternoon. I stayed with my bridesmaids in one of the apartments the night before and we all got our hair and make-up done there.
The staff were simply fantastic in Castle Dargan! In particular Kim , the wedding coordinator and Matthew. No request was too big or strange. We had a lot of extra personal touches that we wanted to include in the wedding and they accommodated us to do this. From helping to put up and take down bunting, giant pinwheels and giant balloons to moving things around and arranging chairs we rented especially for the day! They were very patient, calm and nothing seemed to faze which made the whole experience a lot easier for us.
All our guests commented on what a wonderful wedding it was and that was definitely due to Castle Dargan - the location, the views, the lovely rooms, the amazing staff and delicious food.
We genuinely had the best weekend of our lives and would highly recommend it for anyone considering it as a wedding location, particularly as a venue for a civil ceremony.



Review submitted on Fri, 3rd of October, 2014
Jennifer o'kelly
We got married in Castle Dargan in august 2014. From the moment we viewed the hotel we loved it. During all the planning especially in the last months / weeks the staff couldn't do enough for us and always had time for us whenever we called. All the little extras we had planned were all carried out

Read More

with no problems at all. The food was amazing all weekend and there was nothing we could fault at all. The bedrooms are lovely and the reception is amazing. The views from there and the bar are beautiful.

Review submitted on Fri, 3rd of October, 2014
Roisin Toolan
I don't have the words to describe how unreal the whole castle dargan team are to brides and grooms.
The setting is stunning, beautifully decorated & very well maintained.

The staff, Kim, Matthew & Chrissie nearly bent over backwards to ensure our wedding day was exactly the way we wanted it.

Read More

On the day of the wedding they treated us like the only bride & groom to ever step into the hotel!!

The food is outstanding & extra portions offered to all guests!

For any bride & groom considering Castle Dargan you can't go wrong they have it all!

Review submitted on Fri, 3rd of October, 2014
Laura Hannigan
We were lucky enough to celebrate our Wedding day in March 2014 in Castle Dargan. From the moment we met with Kim Monaghan to discuss wedding options, we felt completely at ease and totally at home sitting by the fire with our Tea and cookies. We had visited a few other hotels previous to our visit

Read More

with CD, where heated negotiations were matched only by Jack Bauer. However, Kim took all our suggestions on board, laughed heartily at our ludicrous demands, and in the end a deal & date was struck!

The lead up was seemless, Kim or Chrissy were always on hand to help out with ironing out concerns or sorting beds for all our guests.. We pretty much hijacked the hotel the day before the wedding, dragging down all our clobber, sweet carts, table decor, photo booths etc and continued to run around the place like we owned it, much to the amusment of Kim! She was of course on hand with notepad and pen to take down all my idiosyncratic ideas for the day that was to follow!

When the day arrived, we were greeted with a smile and a glass of bubbles by Matt, who was our guardian angel for the day! All our guests were blown away by the drinks reception and for what seemed to be the never ending flow of prosecco! The meal was prompt and tasty, and again all our guests were more than pleased! Matt ensured that all our guests were catered for, including those who couldnt make the meal because of the parental pull and a colic baby! Tables were cleared away with speed to give way to the band and dancing! The day proceeded without a hiccup and we had the best day!

Hangovers follow happiness, and the day after was no exception (adrenaline my ass!)! In the mist of all the wedding plans we had completed neglected to discuss how to get all our extras home! Chrissy just waved us home, and contiuned to work surrounded by guitars, odd shoes, sweet jars and frames!

All in all, I honestly cannot recommend the Hotel and staff enough, they are bloody mighty!

Love
The Doohannigans

Review submitted on Fri, 3rd of October, 2014
Orla Bree
My husband and I held our wedding reception at Castle Dargan in April 2013 and we couldn't be happier with our decision. We live in Sydney and I am originally from Sligo and my husband from Kildare so we wanted to get married close to home. I had never been to Castle Dargan but on the strength of

Read More

friend's and family's recommendations we booked it. The Award winning wedding coordinator Kim Monaghan was a pleasure to deal with and she made the entire experience stress-free for us which was just what we needed given we were trying to organise the wedding from another country, she responded promptly to all our queries and went above and beyond the scope of her role. Most of our guests stayed at Castle Dargan over the wedding weekend and they all spoke so highly of the accommodation and hospitality they received from all the staff throughout their stay. The wedding day itself went perfectly and we have Kim and all the rest of the Castle Dargan staff to thank for that. We honestly could not have asked for more from the weekend - everyone at Castle Dargan went above and beyond for us and we felt extremely special all weekend, it was 5 star service. We stayed in Castle Dargan House which was gorgeous and the rose petals and candles in our room on our wedding night was a lovely touch. It is a beautiful setting for a wedding, the grounds are fantastic for wedding photos and even if it rains on the day there are opportunities for great shots indoors in Castle Dargan House. The food at the reception was amazing, people were having second serves and the atmosphere was so friendly and inviting. We had a BBQ the day after the wedding and the food at this was also delicious and plentiful. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this fantastic hotel and wedding venue to anyone thinking of booking it. You would struggle to find somewhere more accommodating and helpful and in such a lovely setting. We can't wait to visit again for dinner next time we are back in beautiful Sligo.

Review submitted on Thu, 2nd of October, 2014
Maura Gorman
We had our wedding here last year and had an amazing day. Everything about Castle Dargan was fantastic , the staff were so helpful and the day went off without a hitch thanks to them. Food was lovely , really recommend it for your big day x
Julie Colleran
We got married in Castle Dargan on 27th July 2013. Amazing! We had terrific support with the planning, and on the day everything was incredible – beautiful venue, faultless food. The staff were brilliant especially Kim and Mathew. Nothing was too much trouble. We absolutely loved it!!
Marie Barrett
We had our wedding in Castle Dargan in March 2014 and I have nothing but great things to say about our whole experience. From the very moment that we set foot in Castle Dargan we knew it was the venue for our wedding Day. From the views from the ballroom windows to the fantastic food and wine the

Read More

whole experience was excellent. We had so much fun planning our day with Kim Monaghan who is the event manager there. She was amazing and made sure everything was at the high standard we expected.
A few weeks before our wedding day my dad died very suddenly and as you can imagine your wedding takes on a whole different meaning to what you had planned. Our family’s wanted us to go ahead with the wedding and it was then that Kim and all the staff at Castle Dargan came into their own. For us little details no longer were important but Kim being the true professional that she is made sure that every single little thing was perfect on the day. They organised sweet tables, cake tables, helped blow up musical instruments for later in the evening, table plans were sorted, every single little detail was covered. They went out of their way to ensure every person at our wedding had an experience that was unforgettable. The food was fantastic and the amount of people who commented afterwards about the unbelievable steaks was truly a testament to the fantastic chef! We all remembered dad on the day and spoke so lovingly of him that it felt like he was there with us.
Castle Dargan is a hidden gem and they really helped make our wedding day one that we will never forget for the rest of our lives. Thank you again to all.
Marie & Conor


Review submitted on Thu, 2nd of October, 2014
Samantha Barraclough
My husband and I held our wedding reception at Castle Dargan in August 2014 and we couldn't be happier with our decision. Although we live in England we decided to get married in Sligo as we have a lot of family there and we knew the county would make a stunning setting for our big day. The wedding

Read More

coordinator Kim Monaghan was a pleasure to deal with and she made the entire experience stress-free for us which was just what we needed given we were trying to organise the wedding from another country. We had many friends stay at Castle Dargan over the wedding weekend and they all spoke so highly of the accommodation and hospitality they received from all the staff throughout their stay. Some were able to take advantage of the deals they have from time to time which included dinner one night and therefore made their break great value for money. The wedding day itself went perfectly and we have Kim, Matthew and all the rest of the Castle Dargan staff to thank for that. We honestly could not have asked for more - everyone at Castle Dargan went above and beyond for us and we felt so special all day. We stayed in Castle Dargan House that night which was gorgeous and the prosecco in our room was a lovely touch. The food at the reception was amazing and the atmosphere was so friendly and inviting we wouldn't hesitate to recommend this fantastic hotel and wedding venue to anyone thinking of booking it. You would struggle to find somewhere more accommodating and helpful. We can't wait to visit again for dinner next time we are in beautiful Sligo.

Review submitted on Thu, 2nd of October, 2014
Great! you are going to make a supplier or venue a favourite. But first you need to ...
Log in Or Create an Account