Wedding Reviews for Clayton Hotel Sligo

Average Rating: 5 out of 5 - based on 57 reviews



on Mon, 4th of November, 2019
We had a lovely day for our wedding in the Clayton hotel in Sligo, the staff couldn't do enough for you, the hotel was lovely and clean and nicely done up,and the grounds was fab also. Was well impressed with it all.
on Mon, 4th of November, 2019
We had our wedding here on the 18th of October 2019, and we cannot praise Sandra, Sarah and all the staff at the Clayton hotel Sligo enough. We had a wedding of 80 adults and a few children. From the very beginning Sandra was fantastic to deal with. There was never an issue too big or too small to

Read More

deal with. I have to commend all staff, be it reception staff, to bar staff or the waiting staff, any time that my now husband would be on the premises they all pretty much greeted us by name, asking all about the wedding etc. It gave such a family and homely atmosphere during the run up and on the day of the wedding.

We had our ceremony in the hotel too, so I had all my morning preparations in the hotel the morning of the wedding. The rooms are extraordinary!! So big bright airy spacious rooms. The ceremony room was decorated fantastically, it really didn't feel part of the hotel. Every little detail was taken care of. We had the drinks reception then the wedding reception. We had our wedding pictures taken on both the amazing grounds of the hotel and in Hazelwood nearby.

The food during the reception was fabulous, I'm salivating just thinking about it! We had a number of guests with difficult intolerances to cater for, and the food they had was as equally tasty as what everyone else had. I had never attended a wedding before where platters for seconds were brought around, this was to much delight of a number of guests! The beef went down a storm, and I personally will be back for the hake.

My partner and I were inundated with queries of how we came upon this hotel, and guests complimenting all staff, the location, the rooms, the facilities and the food etc. I genuinely could not fault the hotel or any of the staff.

All of this meant my partner and I just had the most relaxed easy day and allowed us to just enjoy our day.

We really want to extend our gratitude to Sandra and Sarah,who ensured our day went off without a hitch.

Thanks again,

New Mr and Mrs Taylor
on Mon, 4th of November, 2019
We had the most amazing wedding day in the Clayton Hotel Sligo. We got married in the charming Canis Major chapel on the grounds which was not only absolutely stunning but was also so handy since we had lots of guests from overseas who had already travelled so much to be there. The scenic driveway

Read More

really impressed our guests and set the tone for a stellar day. Our reception was in the Pegasus ballroom, everything had been tailored to our taste and style as a couple perfectly - we loved every second of our big day. Sandra and the whole team made everything go so smoothly and were always there for anything we needed and beyond - we couldn't recommend them or the Clayton Sligo highly enough. Sinead and Shaune
on Mon, 4th of November, 2019
Amazing Hotel in the heart of Sligo. Made even more amazing by the staff. This really is a gem that has to be seen to be believed.

We had our wedding here at the end of August and all the staff went above and beyond for us. They took care of everything we needed. Minded the bride, groom and the

Read More

whole party with such care both to our face and in the background. If you want somewhere amazing for your wedding in this part of the country I couldn’t recommend it more.
Andrew and Sophie
on Mon, 4th of November, 2019
Thank you, and all your staff so much for everything. We both had a fabulous day and you all went above and beyond for us. So happy we chose to have our wedding with you guys, from start to finish it was all amazing. So sad it's over. Thanks again, Darren and Aleena .
on Mon, 4th of November, 2019
Myself and my husband had the absolute best day at our wedding!! From start to finish they pulled everything together for us-Sinead and Liam 10.05.19
on Mon, 4th of November, 2019
Thanks very much for all your help in making our day special
Noelle and Keith 09.02.19 - email
on Tue, 22nd of October, 2019
Had my wedding here in September 2019, we had the most amazing day. The staff went above and beyond their duties especially Sandra O'Hara and Laurie Kenna who treated us like royalty. All our guests on the day told us that the food was top class and there was not one complaint. To top it off the

Read More

weather was amazing we couldn't of asked for a better day. We will definitely be back for more visits. Thank you all from the bottom of our hearts xx,
The new Mr and Mrs Howley.
on Wed, 18th of September, 2019
My Super Wedding
This is the most amazing place to hold your wedding reception.
We celebrated our amazing day a few weeks ago.
Arrived to a warm greeting from Sandra O HaraMcLeish, Sinead Kirby, Corinna Scanlon, vilma and Marion Fowley...Great welcome by most amazing staff.
Sandra thank you for

Read More

being so supportive, helpful and sending us in right direction before and up to our Wedding day.
We had the most perfect day. Im still on cloud 9.
Thank you for setting up the most stunning ballroom. Loved the colours and lighting.
The sweet cart was a major hit...young and old people
on Wed, 17th of July, 2019
The Perfect Wedding
We would like to thank all at The Clayton Hotel for giving us such a wonderful Wedding Day. We had 100 guests stay at the hotel for 3 nights, the wedding celebrations started from the moment they stepped off the coach from the airport, where they were greeted with champagne,

Read More

canapes and a smile. The service throughout the hotel was exemplary from staff in all areas, our guests were extremely well looked after all weekend.
Our Wedding Day was extra special, with our ceremony in the Chapel in the grounds of the hotel, followed by a drinks reception then the wedding reception in the ballroom. The meal in the evening was outstanding with plenty of it, followed by a lovely buffet, our guests were very well fed all day, and the ones that had the roast beef couldn't stop talking about how amazing it was. We can not thank Sandra O'Hara enough, the wedding manager, for giving us such a special day, her professionalism and efficiency made the whole day go so smoothly, which allowed us to enjoy our day as well, nothing was too much trouble.
We would highly recommend The Clayton Hotel, Sligo for a Wedding, with its idyllic grounds, superb staff, fantastic facilities, amazing food, and great accommodation, everything in one place this is the perfect location for a wedding.
All our guests have not stopped talking about what a wonderful wedding and weekend they had.
Thank you all so much
on Tue, 16th of July, 2019
Absolutely fabulous had my wedding venue here and couldn't of asked for more as everything was perfect exactly the way I had hoped it would be and staff were brilliant and very welcoming couldn't of asked for more from all at Clayton especially Sandra wedding co-ordinator x

on Tue, 4th of June, 2019
We had our wedding in the clayton hotel co sligo on the 4th of May 2019, and all I can say is that I was the best day of our life's.
From start to finish nothing was a problem everything was on time and our guests would give 10/10 for time and great food served on the day.
Sandra is the wedding

Read More

and events manager and she was a dream to work with, she made the whole planning of our wedding so easy and stress free.
The clayton hotel really went above and beyond to make our dream wedding come true.
And I want to thank Sandra so much for helping us achieve this magical day.
Melissa & Colin x
on Fri, 31st of May, 2019
The day we went to visit the Clayton in Sligo for their wedding fair, we knew instantly they were the venue for us.
The venue itself was a beautiful building, their Pegasus ballroom was stunning and the fact that they had the Canis Major Chapel on the grounds meant all our wedding party could

Read More

enjoy the full day festivities at the hotel and not have to worry about travelling between church/hotel venues etc.

From our initial booking right through until we checked out of the hotel, the support and help we received from the staff at the Clayton was exemplary.

Sandra, Voytek and the team at the Clayton were with us every step of the way, providing help as well as suggestions on vendor contacts, food tasting recommendations, right through to saying yes to any ask or changes we requested.

Our wedding day was seamless and thoroughly enjoyed by all our guests, the food in particular was raved about by all our guests (especially the beef).

I would highly recommend the Clayton Hotel as a potential wedding venue for any couple to consider, having the perfect combination of an intimate personal wedding ceremony situated in stunning hotel with a beautiful ballroom to entertain your guests afterwards.
on Mon, 27th of May, 2019
Can't say anything bad about The Clayton Hotel Sligo, we had our wedding reception there on the 11 of May and it was just amazing, We can't thank the staff enough for all they done. Sandra the wedding co-ordinator was so helpful through the whole experience. Thanks again everyone for helping our day

Read More

go so smooth. We are so happy we picked The Clayton Hotel as our wedding venue. Rachel and Damien
on Fri, 19th of April, 2019
What can we say that will do enough to complement the Clayton hotel. Everything from start to finish was excellent. From the preparation right up until the big day everything we requested was met with no problems. Sandra and Voytek and all the staff went to great lengths to ensure our big day went

Read More

smoothly. Thanks so much from both of us. Would highly recommend to any couple.
on Fri, 19th of April, 2019
We had our wedding in the Clayton Hotel Sligo on April 5th and I have to say I can't sing it's praises highly enough. Sandra the wedding and events manager is an absolute star, she made the whole planning experience so easy and stress-free and was at the end of the phone whenever I needed her. The

Read More

head chef Edel came to meet us 1st at our menu tasting which I thought was a lovely touch and again wished us the best on the day, we were made feel very special from start to finish. The hotel is beautiful, the food is amazing and the staff were just fantastic. I highly recommend the Clayton Sligo for anyone's wedding, we look forward to returning for a stay here again. Well done everyone x

on Fri, 1st of February, 2019
What can we say about the Clayton Hotel that would do them justice?!?!
From beginning to end the professionalism from all staff was next to none.
Nothing we asked for was too much. Our guests still speak about the standard of the food served on the day.
Sandra went above and beyond to calm the

Read More

nerves of an anxious bride, making calls to suppliers that did not return my calls.
The function room is an absolute delight felt like our very own fairytale.
We couldn't have asked for a better day, oh and the bridal suite really is the height of luxury.
Beautiful grounds and rooms, fabulous food and superior service makes your day that bit more special.
on Fri, 25th of January, 2019
5 Star Wedding Venue*****
We had our wedding in the Clayton Hotel Sligo this NYE. From start to finish the customer service was 5 star. Sandra O'Hara (Wedding Coordinator) attended to every detail, promptly replied to all emails and put this bride at ease throughout the planning. Sandra is a

Read More

natural wedding planner and is such a lovely, friendly and jovial person and an asset to the front of house for sure. Also, who can forget the lovely Voyteck, don't worry he'll ensure you don't...his humour and attention to detail especially on your wedding day, ensuring the smooth running of everything is fantastic. From Noel's excellent customer service and pleasantries, Norma and Sebastian's scrumptious and very memorable food, which guests continue to rave about (esp.) the slow cooked beef (A+) still remember the taste yum!!! When a guest who's a serious beef farmer compliments the beef to a high standard you know it's good. What initially won us over to choose the Clayton in Sligo over many wedding venues we visited in the west, was definitely the staff, not having to sit in the reception to discuss wedding plans as hotel guests walk through, instead directed to a beautifully decorated private wedding room, and every time you visited the hotel over the course of the year, the staff always greeted you by name, the personal touch beats any we've experienced in numerous wedding venues we visited and we visited a lot..... Thank you so much Sandra and all the staff at the Clayton, we'll look forward to many future stays at the Clayton and our return visit for our anniversary next year.xx
on Sat, 5th of January, 2019
Thanks to Sandra, Wojciech and all the staff at Clayton Sligo for doing such an amazing job looking after everyone at our wedding reception. The staff were professional, friendly and so attentive at all times! We would highly recommend the Clayton to anyone!!!
on Mon, 31st of December, 2018
We had our winter wedding in The Clayton Hotel Sligo. We had the pleasure of working with Sandra O'Hara who did everything she could to make our day as special as it was. The service was top class, the food was fantastic and we would highly recommend The Clayton as a wedding venue.
on Tue, 6th of November, 2018
To all the staff at the Clayton Sligo,
As you know we had our wedding there on the 25th of May 2018
I have to say from the start, everyone was very friendly and professional to deal with. They were able to answer any questions we had and no request was too big or small. The hotel itself was an

Read More

amazing venue and worked out really well for us. The food exceeded expectations, especially the beef which arrived to everyone as ordered. Sandra was great as our main coordinator. She talked us through all our options, took the time to meet us whenever we wanted, was able to draw on what the hotel had done for other weddings and made sure everything turned out the way we wanted. Any little extras we wanted were never a problem. On the day of the reception a special mention has to go to Wojciech and Natalia our co-ordinators on the day , they were there until after the meal on the day to make sure everything ran smoothly .( We cannot thank them enough ) They also managed to update the table plan when we had a guest cancel the morning of. They also helped us with the tidy up the next morning. We received so many compliments from our guests on venue choice, especially on how friendly the staff were and the food. We're so happy with our choice and would recommend it to anyone. We can't thank the staff of the Clayton Sligo enough."

Brendan & Karolina
Mr &Mrs Mc Garry
on Sat, 3rd of November, 2018
We had the most fabulous wedding day at the Clayton! We got married in the chapel on the grounds and it was stunningly done up, and our receptions couldn’t have been better, it was a total dream.

We live in Canada so we’re worried about planning a wedding from so far away but Sandra took care

Read More

of everything and was so responsive and really calmed our worries. Both her and Voytek were absolutely amazing to us through the whole process, all the way up to our wedding day. Our guest raved about the amazing food and level of service and we couldn’t be more impressed with how easy and nice it was working with everyone at the Clayton. Would highly recommend to any couple...we wish we could do it all again!

A huge thanks to Sandra and her team for making our day so special!

Janie and Siobhan
on Wed, 31st of October, 2018
I am so impressed with the staff and the over experience for our wedding at the Clayton Sligo. Sandra was so attentive on the lead up and any request was met with no problem it all went so smoothly they are true professionals and really enjoy their jobs and it shows.
I’m so happy we chose this

Read More

Venue. Voyteck and Sandra are amazing.
Highly recommend this venue.

on Thu, 25th of October, 2018
We had an amazing time. We were spoilt by all the staff, they helped make our wedding such a wonderful day. Any questions or requests were answered and acknowledged quickly and everything was smooth and beautiful on the day.
on Thu, 25th of October, 2018
Best day of our lives !!!

Our wedding at the Clayton was amazing and went without any hitch to the finest detail.

From the morning of our day getting ready we were looked after brilliantly.

Voytec was an excellent host and made us feel at ease knowing he was in control along with Lori who

Read More

was equally excellent.

From the drinks reception to the meal which was absolutely gorgeous, to the professionalism and organisation of our speeches, band and do. Everything was a breath of fresh air.
Our day lasted right into the wee small hours and honestly didn’t know where the time went we were all having so much fun.

The venue and grounds were breathtaking. The ballroom was perfect. It was great that our guest did not have to be moved for the band being set up, was so relaxed. The dance floor in middle was full all night.

Between Voytec and Lori there was always someone in charge overseeing everything. Great job by both.


It was a pleasure working with Sandra organising our day, she knows her stuff. Between Sandra’s great ideas and advise we were able to put our perfect day in place and we cannot thank you enough.
Coming from Belfast in the North, we had to organise a lot over email and phone calls which was hard, but Sandra has the patience of a saint and explained everything well.

If we could do it again we wouldn’t change a thing.

Thank you again to the Clayton and all the staff it was a pleasure.

Emma & Ciarán
on Thu, 25th of October, 2018
WOW! From the moment we met with Sandra, we felt at ease. Billy and I knew what we wanted for our wedding (and what we didn't want). Our dreams and ideas quickly became reality, and defused a lot of potential stress! When we saw the church, we were awed and made up our minds there and then that this

Read More

was going to be our wedding venue.
We had a wonderful tasting menu and the one change we wanted was seamlessly incorporated.
As the day drew closer, any queries and issues we had were quickly and efficiently dealt with.
On the day Sandra, Natalia and Wojchic made everything run so smoothly. The church looked amazing, such a beautiful special space.
Our meal was delicious! The steak was so tender and succulent, the starters and desserts were amazing! It's now 6 weeks after the wedding, and people are still telling us how fantastic the dinner was!
All in all, everything was amazing, customer-led, nothing was any bother. We would recommend the Clayton to anyone for their wedding, it was just perfect. Again, WOW!

on Wed, 15th of August, 2018
Couldn't say enough about this hotel, got married here. Only the best, Sandra the wedding planner you're a star. Rooms, food, staff love love love. Thanks again.
on Wed, 15th of August, 2018
I cannot say enough, about this hotel they made our day perfect for us both! Got married here two weeks ago. Only the best, thank you so much Sandra you made our day perfect and stress free thank you so so much, also the staff were amazing too thank you for such a perfect day. We will definitely be

Read More

back. Jonathon and Amy
on Sun, 5th of August, 2018
Where to start? So glad that we chose the Clayton to host our wedding. Sandra is an absolute superstar she was amazing from the get-go. She was always prompt at answering all my questions (there was a lot of them) I told her that we were on a tight budget from the start and they helped us work

Read More

around that and customised a package to suit us. The day couldn't have gone better the staff were so efficient and every thing ran like clockwork. The hotel itself is absolutely stunning,the grounds are so beautiful and great for wedding pics. The food, the food was amazing!! We had slow-roasted rump steak and it was so delicious all our guests were full of praise for the food. The little chapel is so cute and quirky, it was lovely to have our ceremony there. I could literally rave about this place all day. If your thinking about booking your wedding here stop thinking about it and do it! :)
on Tue, 8th of May, 2018
Being from Sligo i wanted to show my now husband this hotel due to the fact they had a lovely little church on their grounds that we could get married in, he fell for the charm of the hotel the second we started our drive up. It was a normal Sunday afternoon no wedding fairs needed for us to fall in

Read More

love with beauty of the whole hotel and grounds. Went in with the hopes of getting a look at the church came out a bit later with a date for our wedding booked.The lead up to the wedding was made so pleasurable with the likes of their wedding coordinators Vilma and Sandra. Noeleen was great to deal with when helping to allocate your room. The eve of the wedding my husband and groomsmen stayed here and were well looked after by the staff and Wojtek was on hand to help take of the decorations for the next day and how and where we wanted them.As for the big day it was a truly amazing exceptional experience due to the team of staff. Wojtek is truly gifted at his job, he had it all running like a well oiled machine. The wedding dinner was out of this world delicious all guest truly full after. i would 100% recommend this hotel to all who wants to get married or just have a short break. The hotel is very child friendly and having staff like mention above plus Trevor and Noel should make your stay enjoyable and relaxed like all ours stays have been.A very big Thank you to all the staff in the Clayton Hotel Sligo .Hope to see you all soon. Tracy and Maurice November 2017
on Sun, 29th of April, 2018

We had our wedding in the Clayton Hotel. We initially made the booking with Vilma and then followed by Sandra who brought us through the planning process. This lady knew how to make us feel relaxed with any queries we had. If we were stuck for suppliers she had recommendations, any requests we

Read More

had, there was never an issue. Her communication with us in the lead up to the wedding was everything you would want. The Day of the wedding was the same.. made us feel so relaxed! Sandra made an appearance on the day and again helped us out with last minute changes, with Sandra and Wojciech on the day it added to the relaxed atmosphere, clayton are lucky with the team they have. Sandra, Wojciech, the restaurant manager to the head chef Edel even the servicing staff and front office reception were great in customer service cannot fault the clayton staff. we had specific rooms reservation - requests with early check in times and the Connor met our requests. There were numerous guests staying overnight and their reservations were arranged without a glitch.
Our civil ceremony was held in the canis major suite where we had hired a singer and keyboard piano player to sing specific songs. Wojciech was great at arranging our entrance I didn't see my bride till I walked up the aisle and it was exactly how I imagined it would be.
Every little detail just fell into place for us. The meal was fantastic and served really quick. There were no food complaints. I'll finish by saying the best thing about this hotel for us was we could have our civil ceremony in a beautiful setting. The drinks reception to the meal and entertainment went smoothly. Our wedding was exactly how we wanted and more. Thanks to Sandra, Wojciech and all the members of staff that played their part on the day.

Regards
Gemma and Tina
on Tue, 13th of March, 2018
Sandra Thank you very much. We would like to thank you and especially voitech (probably spelled his name wrong) who worked tirelessly to ensure our day was the best and all the staff the service was second to none, the food was so good and all the guests had a ball and we are so happy to have had

Read More

our special day in the clayton.
on Mon, 5th of March, 2018
We celebrated our wedding at Clayton Hotel Sligo on February 16th 2018. From start to finish, everything was simply perfect.

When we arrived the day before to stay in the hotel, Sandra and Wojtek were there to greet us and help us organise all of our wedding things and talk us through

Read More

everything. We had beautiful rooms to stay in for the night before the wedding and all the staff in the hotel were so friendly and helpful.

We arrived to our drinks reception to a smiling Sandra, standing in the drizzle with an umbrella to cover me going into the hotel! The lobby looked fabulous decorated for our drinks reception and everyone was enjoying the Prosecco and canapés which were delicious! When we went to the function room area, I was so delighted and surprised to see that Sandra had put our leftover flowers into vases to decorate the area, it looked beautiful, she really went above and beyond for us. The function room looked gorgeous and they had laid out our little bits and bobs perfectly, we were so happy with it all.

On to the food!! This was without doubt the highlight of the day for all of guests at the wedding! We had so many compliments about every single course of our meal, the Rump Steak in particular was a big hit, everyone commented about how it was just melt in the mouth, absolutely gorgeous! I had the hake myself, and can confirm that it was just as delicious!

Everything really just ran so smoothly all day, it was clear that the team in The Clayton are very experienced and work so hard to ensure that your wedding day is truly special and exactly as you want it to be. Every staff member was so helpful and seemed genuinely happy to have us there to celebrate our wedding. We had the most amazing time and we would like to thank Sandra for all of her help throughout the planning process and especially on the day. And a huge thank you to Wojtek and his team for making sure the day went perfectly. We couldn’t imagine having had our wedding anywhere else!
on Mon, 5th of February, 2018
We held our wedding celebrations in the Clayton Hotel, Sligo on 7 October 2017. It was a wonderful day - and night!

We live in London, but the team at the Clayton made it really easy to organise our day despite being some distance away, including helping us to find a band. (We chose Keltic Kaos,

Read More

they were great and played a good mixture of floor fillers all night).

On the day, Sandra and Wojtek worked really hard and couldn’t do enough to make sure everything went like clockwork and dealt with last minute requests in a calm and efficient manner. Special thanks also to Jenny and her bar team for keeping the guests well watered into the wee hours!

We would have no hesitation recommending the Clayton for a wedding or any other celebration. Thank you for providing a perfect stage for so many wonderful memories – we just wish we could do it all again tomorrow!
on Mon, 15th of January, 2018
The service provided by the hotel was extremenly good. Everything went smoothly. The event origaniser were also very helpful and understaning. Everyone loved the hotel and the location. Was very happy with everthing and would like to thank the organisers and the staff for making it a memorial time.
on Tue, 9th of January, 2018
What an amazing day we had, the standard ye set for the day was so high, everything ran so smoothly and on time, the food was just amazing, everyone we’ve been talking to has been so full of praise.
Thanks for making our day so special, and for being so nice to work with! We appreciate it all so

Read More

much.
Happy New Year to you all.

Much love,
Shelly and Barry.
on Mon, 8th of January, 2018
Our Wedding Day
If there were 100 stars I would give it to you guys!! From the day we booked our wedding with vilma who was so lovely until our wedding day we received nothing but 100% excellent customer service. Sandra who took over dealing with us was absolutely amazing. Nothing was too much to

Read More

ask of her and she was excellent at responding to emails even on her days off!!! Noel was a pure gentleman who also made us feel so welcome everytime we went down and was so accommodating. Our Wedding day was nothing but spectacular!! Voytek was out on his own!! The service we received was fantastic and a huge huge thank you to Chef Edel and team who provided amazing food and the feedback we received from our guests said exactly that!! So guys overall a huge THANK YOU to you all for making our wedding day the most amazing and magical day. We would highly highly recommend you in future. Love the new Mr and Mrs Cullen xxx
on Mon, 8th of January, 2018

Wow guys!!! What can we say only AMAZING....We had our wedding on New Years eve and to say it was the most amazing experience ever would be an understatement...It was truly exceptional. Sandra, Voytek, Noel there are not enough words to say how brilliant ye were!! Also Vilma who we had the

Read More

pleasure of firstly dealing with. Service was amazing and nothing was too much bother at all. Voytek took care of us as we stayed last night also and he was so attentive to us and treated us so well. Huge compliments to Edel Chef and all staff the food was absolutely outstanding and everyone complimented it. So thanks a million guys we would certainly recommend ye as a fantastic venue for a wedding. Love Mr and Mrs Cullen
on Wed, 15th of November, 2017
We are based in the UK and chose the Clayton after seeing 4 or 5 other hotels in Sligo as we felt that venue was a stunning location and offered everything that we wanted , what we didn’t expect though was how excellent the staff of the hotel are .
Firstly your wedding co-ordinator Vilma Meenan

Read More

was a pleasure to deal with , she took real interest in our wedding and kept in regular contact (when she went off on maternity leave Sandra O’Hara did a great job of filling her shoes) , nothing was too much trouble and any questions were quickly answered which kept our minds at ease (you worry about the small things when you’re in a different country!).
We came to have a weeklong stay in January 2017 and were very well taken care of by everyone at the hotel , particularly TREVOR who was in the bar when we went down for dinner one evening . In passing conversation we mentioned we had booked our wedding and would be bringing about 30 guests from the UK over in September and he insisted upon buying us a drink !
When we returned in September he remembered us when we saw him the night before the wedding , he was not due to come in on Friday but did pop in to wish us both the best of luck which was above and beyond the call of duty and a really great thing for him to do .
All of our party from the UK loved the hotel . The rooms, food ,facilities are all second to none and we have had nothing but praise about our choice of venue .
Many of our party had never been to Ireland before and every one of our guests wants to return to see more of Co Sligo and all of them wish to return to “The Clayton” when they do .
Finally a great big thanks to Wojtek and his team that ran the day for us , from operating the music to arranging the tables/food/decorations/ they were superb , if anything was needed there were no questions it was taken care of quickly and without fuss .
At one point I asked for a drink that wasn’t available in the Canis Major and I was told they had it in the main hotel bar , I was about to go and get it when one of the girls on our bar stopped me and insisted they get it and that I shouldn’t miss a moment of our wedding and they would be back as quick as they could .. and so they were !
Absolutely faultless service .
We are delighted to have had our wedding at your hotel and look forward to coming back regularly to celebrate and just to relax in style when we return to Sligo .
on Sun, 12th of November, 2017
We would highly recommend the Clayton Sligo as a wedding reception venue. The staff were fantastic and a pleasure to deal with, both in the lead up and on the day itself. Everyone commented on how great the food was. We are delighted we chose this hotel for our wedding.
on Thu, 9th of November, 2017
Couldn't recommend more. From start to finish they ensure our wedding day was extra special. Everything was done with our satisfaction most in mind. From the setting, food, staff & décor all faultless.
on Wed, 8th of November, 2017
†Wedding‡
30th September 2017, We got married in the church out the front and had our reception in the gala room of hotel. Sandra couldn't of done more for us during the preparations, polite and professional, a credit to the Clayton. The hotel staff decorated the church and ballroom for us. They

Read More

greeted all our guests with a smile. The meal was fabulous, everyone is still on to us about the beef. They were very generous with the bar extension. Bridal Suite was amazing. Overall would highly recommend as your wedding ceremony or reception.
Claire and Wayne 30.09.17
on Wed, 8th of November, 2017
“Thank you so much for the best day of our life’s! We just got Married in May. The service was excellent we were really pleased with everything. Food was excellent! I would definitely recommend getting married here! It was the best day of our lives!”

Maria McGandy and Janette Walker, May

Read More

2017
on Wed, 8th of November, 2017
We had our wedding reception in Clayton Hotel Sligo on 27th October, it was amazing, their attention to detail was exceptional, we would like to thank every member of staff that made our day special, function room was dressed to perfection, the food was amazing...thank you Chefs, guests have

Read More

commented to us on the fabulous food, on the fun interaction they had with all bar & floor staff, families remarked on the fabulous spacious rooms to facilitate their children.....from the moment I booked with you the service I received was flawless......well done to you all it was perfect
Love Grainne & John 27.10.17 xx
on Wed, 8th of November, 2017
We had our wedding in the Clayton Hotel on the 14th of July. This hotel is fabulous for pictures. The staff in the hotel could not do enough for us! Vilma the wedding planner was so helpful and she is so organised. Everyone was talking about how nice the hotel was and how amazing the food was. The

Read More

rooms are also lovely and very spacious.

Michelle and Stephen 14.07.17
on Wed, 8th of November, 2017
“My husband and I got married on 5th August 2017. From the moment we booked until our wedding was over, the staff couldn’t do enough for us. Our wedding package included everything you could think of for an excellent price. Over the course of our engagement, we dealt with a number of different

Read More

wedding coordinators, however they were all very helpful.The ballroom is newly decorated and it is stunning! Every time we went to see the hotel, they had added in another little detail.
On the day, the staff made sure everything ran smoothly; we had nothing to think about. The food was absolutely exceptional and our guests talked about it for a long time afterwards.
I cannot recommend the hotel enough. For anyone getting married in the area, this is the perfect hotel!”

August 2017 Janet and Declan
on Wed, 8th of November, 2017
Amazing Wedding Experience

We had our wedding at the Clayton Hotel, Sligo on 15th September 2017. The staff at all levels took great care of us and were very professional at all times. A special mention of managers Willie and Lucas, wedding organisers Vilma & Sandra, chef Edel, Siobhan, Pauric &

Read More

the very proficient Vojcek and his team, who calmly, warmly & expertly ensured that everything ran smoothly on the day. We were totally relaxed and felt everything was in very safe hands.
They certainly lived up to their promise of a 'be-spoke' wedding, we got to have everything as we wanted it to be. The setting was perfect with the delightful Canis Major church on the extensive & well-kept grounds. Just a short walk away, the main hotel a historical stone building, houses the beautiful, tastefully decorated function room.
It was our pleasure having them host our big day.

Bríd Brady & Alfie Bradley 15.09.17
on Tue, 7th of November, 2017
We had our wedding at the Clayton Hotel, Sligo on 20th October 2017. The staff at all across all functions took great care of us and were very professional at all times. A special mention of managers Vilma (whom we initially went with the hotel for our wedding because of her profesionalism), wedding

Read More

organisers Vilma & Sandra, Grainne and Siobhan who took care of us on the day, Pauric who gave us a great welcome and great service at our menu tasting & Voytek and his team, who ensured that everything ran smoothly on the day. We were totally relaxed and felt everything was in very safe hands.

We would speak particularly highly of the bar and floor staff too, who were very personable and good fun over the course of the weekend which helped create a good atmosphere. The hotel porters too did a great job too and were patient and helpful at all times. The communication between staff members seems to be good without exception: this is something that can be hard to achieve and points to a well managed hotel. We felt we made an excellent choice in deciding on the Clayton and we were delighted with the weekend.

The food was excellent and our guests were delighted with the rump steak on the menu. It was overall very good value for money for a 5 course meal. 

The setting was perfect with the delightful Canis Major church on the extensive & well-kept grounds. Just a short walk away, the main hotel a historical stone building, houses the beautiful, tastefully decorated function room. 

We were delighted to have them manage and host our big day.
on Fri, 3rd of November, 2017
The Clayton hotel and all its staff were amazing. My husband to be at the time and I went to look around one afternoon and from that moment we both knew this was the hotel for us. We got married in the Canis Major Church in the grounds of the hotel. Stunning and all the guests told us so. On the run

Read More

up to the wedding no matter how many questions we had or the type of questions nothing was to much bother. The staff were that helpful that on the day of the wedding 20 minutes before the service my hubby to be remembered he had forgot the buttonholes a 40 minute drive away. In a panic he went to reception and the staff jumped into action. We had buttonholes with minutes to spare. The whole day ran like clockwork. The food was amazing. Rooms fabulous. Great value for money. I can not say one bad thing about this hotel or it's staff. We both totally recommend having your wedding at the Clayton Hotel in Sligo. It is all our guests have talked about since. Would do it all again and wouldn't change a thing (other than taking the buttonholes myself)

Forever Grateful to the Clayton hotel and staff Mr & Mrs Frazer :)
on Thu, 2nd of November, 2017
We had our wedding here on the 17th August. I was consistently greeted by friendly and welcoming staff who couldn't do enough for us! The service that we got made our day. A number of guests commented on how much they enjoyed the dinner, how beautiful the whole setting was and how seamlessly the day

Read More

flowed! Woijtek in particular was exceptionally helpful though all the staff were lovely - many thanks again and we'll be back, Aoife and Ricky 17.08.17
on Wed, 25th of January, 2017
We had our wedding here in July 2016; we were dealing with Cora; she made everything to do with the planning very easy; she gave us a list of questions the hotel needed to know and gave us plenty of time to come back with answers; we didn't have any unusual special requests but I got the impression

Read More

that it wouldn't have been a problem if we had. Everyone initially met in the chapel, which is just to the side of the main building as you come in; there was a champagne reception and some finger food; that was really nice as everyone there was with wedding and everyone was chatting when we arrived; it was a beautiful day so the grounds looked lovely and we got some really nice photos; Willy the manager introduced himself and couldn't have been nicer, he showed us into the reception room so we could have a quick look around; Willy was very attentive and made us feel really relaxed which was great because we were able to relax and enjoy ourselves then; the reception room was really nice; we had been given the option of how we wanted it laid out, they had different colour lighting to choose from and the temperature was just right; the food was lovely, there was plenty of staff and it came out at a good pace; Willy kept checking in with us from time to time to check everything was okay; the audio system was good, everyone could hear the speeches quite clearly; there was a video system as well for pre-recorded messages; the audio on this wasn't so good, that may have been because we didn't have the right connection, maybe check this a few days before; there's a stage for the band and a good size dance floor in the centre of the room, and a bar at one end; they cut and served the cake for us, some more food was brought out later in the night and the rooms were lovely and quite big.
We thoroughly enjoyed the day, in large part thanks to Cora and Willy and the rest of the staff, and being able to relax; I would have no problem recommending this hotel for a wedding reception.
on Mon, 22nd of August, 2016
We got married in the Clarion on the 23rd of July 2016 and I could not recommend the Clarion highly enough to all bride and grooms to be out there. From start to finish we felt confident that our wedding day was going to be amazing in the very capable hands of Cora. I was a very detail oriented

Read More

bride and sent Cora a string of emails and requests and nothing was ever too much for her. She answered promptly and always with enthusiasm. The week running up to the wedding we had almost 100 guests travel from the UK and stay in the hotel and they were all looked after to the highest standard. They all commented on the size and cleanliness of their rooms and the excellent service they received in the hotel bar and restaurant and also at reception. The day of the wedding we had a humanist hand fasting ceremony in the chapel on the grounds. It was a very moving ceremony and the setting was perfect. it just looked like a dream with lanterns and cherry blossoms everywhere. The reception room was decorated so beautifully and the meal was superb. With over 200 guests and not one complaint on food you know you have a great venue. The bar was well staffed and nobody had to wait to be served too long. we partied late into the night and were looked after all the way. So if you are looking for a venue for your upcoming wedding you will not be disappointed especially if you are interested in having your ceremony and reception in the same venue. So thank you to Cora and all the staff in the hotel fro making our wedding day so memorable for all our family and friends and the greatest day of our lives. I'm only sad we can't relive the weekend all over again. Aideen and Paul Adcock xxx
on Sun, 7th of August, 2016
Wud highly recommend the Clarion Hotel we had our wedding there last week and cud not be happier, the rooms were beautiful, the food was amazing and the staff was so lovely and so so helpful and the wedding coordinators were fantastic cora and her team made the day stress free
on Tue, 2nd of August, 2016
On the 11th June 2016 we celebrated our wedding in the Clarion in Sligo.
From the moment we booked our wedding the standard of service was just excellent. Nothing was ever too much trouble. My husband and I are from Northern Ireland and we couldn't always travel to Sligo to sort things out but we

Read More

had the best wedding planner at the hotel Cora who was always at hand if I had any questions or suggestions and everything was sorted there and then. We had over 60 guests who stayed the whole weekend for celebrations and cora made sure all rooms were booked and everyone was happy.
We had our wedding ceremony in the church on the grounds of the hotel and it was beautiful and the photos we got were just fab.
On the wedding day we also had Vojtek on hand who made sure everything ran smoothly and not once did we have to ask for anything as everything was at hand and ran to plan. During the meal we had 5 courses and the waiting staff were fantastic serving meals and clearing in great time and without any hassle. There was also a lot of children at our wedding and this wasn't a problem at all as the Clarion is a very family friendly hotel.. The food was top class and everyone commented on the quality and quantity of food. No one went hungry.
I would highly recommend the Clarion in Sligo to anyone no matter where you live. Sligo is a beautiful place and we are so glad to have found this hidden gem.
I would like to thank all the staff at the Clarion especially Cora and Vojtek for making our wedding day so special.
on Wed, 20th of July, 2016
Got married at the Clarion Hotel Sligo in May and it was the best day of our lives. Everything was amazing starting with the service, décor, staff, food and unbelievable sunny weather. Special thanks to our wedding coordinator Cora and all staff who looked after us so well. As a past bride, I

Read More

highly recommend Clarion Hotel Sligo as a wedding venue and would love to do it all over again!!! :) Mr & Mrs Meenan xxx
on Wed, 20th of July, 2016
We had our wedding reception in the clarion hotel in May 2016.I believe they change the name in October 2016 to Clayton hotel. Will have to go back before that (any excuse)
It did not disappoint. It was an amazing day, even the weather was amazing. Truly Perfect day. 5* all round!!

We had

Read More

booked out over 35 rooms with friends and family joining us for the weekend. Everyone we spoke to commented how lovely and spacious all their rooms were. Clean the hotel was. Friendly people were. This was so nice to hear. The food went down a storm. Again people commenting on the wedding meal as fantastic. We chose the menu and added bits so we're so glad to hear such feedback. The hospitality from the staff. Even the grounds themselves were commented on on how nice it was. Again after all the planning my wife and I (ok my wife) put into it it was soo good to hear such great reviews. We are so very grateful to all who helped us before and during our wedding.
We had a small party the next night too in the clanis major for friends and family. Again, The hotel pulled out all the stops for us. Staff so helpful and caring. Food was gorgeous. So many people to thank but genuinely ALL the staff helped us make the day so special. It's not just a line. ALL the staff were amazing. It's true that it's not the location that makes it sometimes it's those behind the scenes working away. To them all k thank them very much for doing a truly fantastic job.
Now. To get back to work to pay for it!
Thank you Clarion hotel
on Mon, 27th of June, 2016
We too experienced our original wedding venue closing, we however had two months to go until the big day...fortunately we too experienced 5 * treatment from The Clarion Hotel Sligo and our wedding was back on the road! Thank you Cora, Wojtek & Megan from Essence Spa for all your support leading up

Read More

to the wedding, it was a sorcher of a day (Irish sunburns all round) - we enjoyed every minute! Perhaps we'll return for our first anniversary...next May 2017! Love Mr & Mrs Robinson. Xx
Great! you are going to make a supplier or venue a favourite. But first you need to ...
Log in Or Create an Account