Wedding Reviews for Great Southern Killarney

Average Rating: 5 out of 5 - based on 21 reviews



Ann & Kevin O'Keeffe
wedding on Sat, 11th of June, 2022
Myself and Kevin would like to say a huge thank you to all the staff of the Great Southern Hotel. We cannot speak highly enough of how kind and accommodating all the staff were on lead up and on the day of our wedding. No task was too big and nothing was ever a problem.

Everything on the day was

Read More

just perfect, the drinks reception was beautiful and the piano player provided by the hotel was simply stunning and created a beautiful atmosphere.

After our tasting we knew the meal was going to be incredible but it was so nice to hear all our guests raving about every aspect of the food and service!

The hotel itself is a magnificent setting and we got beautiful photos throughout the day and evening in various parts of the grounds.

I would highly recommend the Great Southern to any couple who are looking for a wedding venue, you are guaranteed a stress free day with every minor detail thought of and taken care of by the amazing wedding team.

Thank you all so much!

Review submitted on Wed, 7th of September, 2022
Samantha & Shane Regan
wedding on Thu, 28th of April, 2022
Our wedding at the Great Southern Hotel was everything we could have dreamed of. We were due to get married in May 2020, and due to covid we had to postpone three times, and luckily, we finally had our big day in April 2022. The wedding coordinators Denise and Katie with whom we worked closely with

Read More

since we booked our original date could not have been nicer, they honestly did everything they could to help us when stress levels were high when we were faced with the unknown and were always so responsive over the phone or through emails.

Our wedding day was spectacular, every member of staff in the hotel from the door men to the receptionists to the waiters, could not do enough for you. We even had the afternoon lady help us with a small mishap with my mother’s dress on the morning of the wedding. Our reception was magical, the layout of drinks, and canopies was superb. Our guests are still raving about the incredible food and kindness and generosity of the staff before, during and after the meal. The groom had forgotten his paper that had his speech and Denise had it printed off within minutes, super-efficient like always.

Anything we ever asked for was done without any hassle, it made us feel so much at ease. I couldn’t recommend this hotel highly enough for couples planning their wedding day. I would love to do it all over again, and I wouldn’t change one thing. Thank you so much for making our dreams come through!

Samantha and Shane Regan

Review submitted on Tue, 28th of June, 2022
Maddy and Micheal O'Sullivan
wedding on Sat, 14th of August, 2021
We cannot thank Denise, Katie, Gillian and the whole team at The Great Southern Killarney enough. From the very beginning they were beyond helpful, reassuring us after we decided to book the Great Southern for our wedding despite not being able to see the hotel due to the pandemic and us living in

Read More

London.
Denise was incredibly patient, reassuring and positive throughout the uncertain times right up to a few weeks before the wedding.
We had the most incredible day and received nothing but praise from all of our guests about the hotel, the staff, the food, everything!
Thank you so much again for everything and for making our day so special. We would highly recommend to any couple looking for a wedding venue to consider the Great Southern.


Review submitted on Wed, 1st of June, 2022
Anne Marie & Matthew Doherty
wedding on Sun, 10th of April, 2022
Firstly can I start off by saying Julie was amazing to us on the day and in the weeks leading up to the wedding. She was very helpful at providing information and advice. Nothing we asked of her was too much and she is a credit to the Hotel. Katie was phenomenal in the lead up to the wedding

Read More

also.

Secondly, the other staff of the hotel were amazing from start to finish. The wait staff in the ballroom were brilliant and the service was expertly managed. The feedback we have received about the food has been excellent. Even the staff in the restaurant for breakfast were lovely, the person who greeted me Tuesday morning even told the person seating me that I was the bride from Sunday so I continued to feel very special.

The food, the service and the atmosphere of the hotel is what makes the Great Southern so special and head and shoulders above the competition.


Review submitted on Tue, 3rd of May, 2022
Nicole & Daniel Hayes
wedding on Sat, 19th of February, 2022
Words cannot thank the staff at The Great Southern Hotel enough for their generosity and hospitality during our wedding in February 2022. Throughout the 18 months of planning there was never an issue and the wedding planners went above and beyond their duty to ensure that everything was as we wished

Read More

on the day. From the menu tasting, to the many visits to confirm details, everything was so enjoyable in the lead up to the day. And this experience only surpassed itself on the wedding day itself! All of our guests commented on the level of service, the friendly staff, the beautiful food and surroundings. As a couple on the day we felt completely looked after which allowed us to thoroughly enjoy ourselves throughout the day and night.
We would not hesitate in recommending this venue to any Bride & Groom, the Great Southern provides a touch of class which is just hard to find anywhere else!



Review submitted on Mon, 11th of April, 2022
Ciara & David Kearney
wedding on Fri, 4th of March, 2022
Thank you so much for all the help and guidance you have given us since we met at our first viewing. The whole process was made as stress free as possible. The list of suppliers you recommended couldn’t have been better! To all the other staff at the Great Southern; Stephen, Kieran and Johnny to

Read More

name a few were a big part of the weekend and no ask was too much.

Our guests are still raving about the food, the extra portions that were brought out was a lovely touch. We had the best day and didn’t take the smiles off our faces!

Kind regards,
Ciara & Dave

Review submitted on Mon, 21st of March, 2022
Lisa & David Cotter
wedding on Fri, 26th of November, 2021
From the first meeting we had with Denise, we knew the Great Southern was the venue for us. Our planning despite Covid restrictions throughout could not have been easier. Nothing was an issue and everyone was simply brilliant to work with. We must mention Denise especially who was just the dream to

Read More

work with. No ask was too big and her advice was always spot on throughout. I would highly recommend the Great Southern to anyone looking for a wedding venue, you really won't be disappointed.

Thanks for giving us such an unforgettable weekend.

Best Regards,
Lisa & David

Review submitted on Wed, 9th of March, 2022
Ciara & Kevin Carroll
wedding on Fri, 11th of February, 2022
We just want to say a huge huge thank you to the whole team for everything over the weekend of our wedding.

Everything went off so well on both the day of the wedding and the day after. We were so happy with everything from the reception, the food, the staff everything was just

Read More

amazing!!!

Special mention to Stephen and Jillian who were fantastic and were always on hand!!

Thanks so much for everything, you all really made it so easy for us and there was never any complaints from you as a team, anything we asked you for it was never a problem!

Thanks so much again!

Ciara & Kevin


Review submitted on Tue, 8th of March, 2022
Eamonn & Heansaí Brosnan
wedding on Thu, 30th of December, 2021
We celebrated our wedding in the Great Southern Hotel last December and to be quite honest there are no words that we can write here that would give it enough praise or justice. We have made several attempts to sit down and compose this message but each time we were lost for words as the day

Read More

absolutely swept us off our feet. We had the most amazing few days in this wonderful hotel and we made a lifetime of memories along the way. The care and attention that we received from the wedding team and everybody here was second to none and we and all our guests were made feel so special from start to finish. This hotel oozes with class in every corner of its magnificent interior. Our special day was so magical for us and we both know that this was down to the exceptional care and expertise of each and every member of staff. Planning a wedding during Covid times was challenging but the hotel always managed to put us at ease and were extremely accommodating right throughout the process. Not alone were the decorative interior and splendid Christmas decorations a focal talking point amongst our guests but everybody that attended paid huge compliments towards the food, service and of course the gorgeous drinks reception. As a newly married couple, we will never be able to fully thank each and every one of you enough for making it the best day of both our lives.


Review submitted on Fri, 25th of February, 2022
Emily & Tony Hyers
wedding on Thu, 6th of January, 2022
Tony and I first laid eyes on the Great Southern Killarney during a trip to Ireland in 2017 when Tony said "that would be an amazing place to get married." This statement couldn't have been closer to the truth. From our first enquiry, Denise was kind, professional, and accommodating, helping us plan

Read More

a wedding that fit us as a couple. Denise and the wedding team were always available in a timely manner by email, phone, or zoom and constantly went above and beyond to help in any way possible. Planning a wedding abroad during new covid variants was challenging, but Denise's understanding, reassurance, and assistance made the process as smooth as possible. During our stay the entire wedding team and hotel staff were all extremely gracious to our family and friends. We were able to enjoy our time, confident that everything was taken care of. The wedding day itself went perfectly and Katie was there checking in to make sure every detail was how we pictured it. From the decorations, to the food, to the service every single aspect of our day far exceeded expectations. We are so thankful to the entire wedding team for everything that went into making our day perfect.

Review submitted on Thu, 17th of February, 2022
Jamie Cahill & Michael O'Toole
wedding on Sun, 19th of December, 2021
First of all we want to thank everyone at the hotel for making our day so special. We imagined the day for so long and it went off just perfectly. It is hard to put into words how much we appreciate how far the staff went for us for our special day. Katie & Denise were always on hand to answer any

Read More

questions and cater to all of our needs. They were a pleasure to deal with and we really appreciate how much they made it feel like we were the only wedding in the hotel ever! We have visited the hotel many times and from the minute you walk through the door you really are made feel very special.
We would like to thank Gillian for her amazing organisation on the day. She was absolutely outstanding and we couldn't have asked for a better manager on the day. The food was incredible and the feedback from guests was surreal. Every comment about the hotel - the atmosphere, the food and the staff was second to none.
Many of our guests had never stayed before and now they mentioned if they are going to Killarney again there is nowhere else they could stay except the Great Southern.
You really are made feel so special in the hotel and that's what we love about it. We had day two in hotel also and it was absolutely perfect.
Nothing is ever too much for any of the staff and it shows as there is one nicer than the next. The room we got married in was picture perfect with the amazing architecture. The glass corridor down to the drinks reception and the function room itself are all absolutely stunning. If anyone is thinking about a wedding here we couldn't recommend enough.
We cannot wait to come back and visit and stay in this magical hotel!
Jamie and Mike x


Review submitted on Thu, 3rd of February, 2022
Louise & Tim Collins
wedding on Sat, 20th of November, 2021
We would highly recommend the Great Southern as a wedding venue. There were plenty of uncertainties around covid, including additional restrictions of a midnight close being announced two days before our wedding, however Katie & the team were very helpful and accommodating, especially with numbers

Read More

changing last minute. Katie was at hand in the months, weeks & days leading up to the wedding, always at the other end of an email/phone call. The meal tasting was so enjoyable and greatly added to the excitement of the build-up to the wedding. Sean, the porter was so friendly & efficient at helping us the day before & after the wedding in dropping off and collecting any items.

On the day itself, our guests loved the drinks reception, with the hot toddies, mulled wine & mulled cider being a big hit, as well as the delicious canapes. We had our speeches out in the reception area before going in for the main meal, which worked really well and the team had no problem accommodating this request. The food was gorgeous as well, with plenty to go around. Gillian & her team managed it all so smoothly, including the bar staff juggling orders ranging from trays of shots to pint glasses to keep the bouquets fresh. We also had the ham hock as part of the late-night food and that went down really well.

I would recommend couples to stay on a second night so you can soak up the experience of staying at the Great Southern. The rooms are so comfortable & luxurious and of course that breakfast! The night porter even suggested as we were going to bed that we get breakfast delivered to the room the next morning, and to go to the breakfast room just for tea & coffee so we could mingle after being well fed. It's the little touches like that from all team members at the Great Southern that make it so special for a wedding.

Review submitted on Thu, 13th of January, 2022
Caragh & Philip Murphy
wedding on Tue, 21st of December, 2021
To highlight how amazing you, the wedding team and the hotel were, I need to start from the beginning. From the moment we got engaged in Dec 2018 in room 202, the GS went above and beyond to make our stay so incredibly special. We knew that weekend that we would get married in the GS. We met with

Read More

you shortly after that (I’m sure it was over that Christmas holidays), and we had everything booked. Gearing up for the wedding was complicated with the arrival of Covid and our complete denial that it would still affect our wedding in Dec 2020, but you were always there, only a phone call away, and I always felt better any time we spoke. Through all the chopping and changing of the wedding plans, you were there, and when we decided to postpone, you and the team could not have been more accommodating, which made it so much easier on us.
After some time off thinking about the wedding, the plans kicked off again around September 2021 and Philip, and I were determined it would go ahead this time. Again, you were there through it all, sending the reminders, highlighting things we had not thought of. You are a well-oiled machine, knowing everything that is needed for a successful day. During this time, we had a few stays in the GS, one for our menu tasting (we eat so much fantastic food), where we were back in room 202 and a trip with my sister and mom for my makeup trial. Again, a stay where we were treated like queens. The staff, food, and hotel rooms are welcoming, making it hard to leave. You have been the main one to organise those stays so thank you so much.
On the 20th of Dec 2021 we arrived for the wedding; from the moment I stepped into the hotel, Pedro was there to meet us, helping us with all our bags, dresses, suits and all the wedding material for the function room. The check-in process was a breeze, and it felt so special to be there and have everyone falling all over us. Dinner in the Picture room is something I will treasure forever. The private set-up for my close family and friends was excellent, and the staff were so friendly and chatty. Overall, the service was terrific. Even when one groomsman arrived late, they ensured he was fed, even with the kitchen closing. It’s that attention that put the GS above anyone else.
On the day of the wedding, I don’t have words. It was the most magical day of our lives. From the minute I woke in the bridal suite, anything we needed was a phone call away from extension leads, our breakfast, calls for prosecco, etc. Meeting you on my way out of the room in my dress and walking down the stairs, I remember every bit of it; it truly was my fairy tale moment. Once we returned from the church, we were greeted with prosecco and the red carpet. I could cry when I think of how special those moments were; we felt famous. During the drinks reception, I had staff (in particular Liam) come over to check if I was ok and if we wanted anything (a drink, a plate of food). Again, this, to me, is exceptional service. Once we saw the function room set up, you, the wedding team and the banquet team did everything I asked for, having the confetti where we wanted, the knitted Christmas trees and of course Catriona and her incredible flowers. During the dinner, everything was perfect; the staff were so excellent, again constantly checking if we needed anything and ensuring we had drinks when required. The food service was so efficient and the food, oh the food (everyone was talking about it). We then danced the night away, and even with the 12 finish, we got to sit around together and have our little sing-song.
Our day two did not go as planned as my sister was unwell, but we still managed to sit around, eat the incredible food, and use the open tab we had on the bar. Our friends and family were delighted to sit around and debrief on the wedding day.
One person I need to mention here is Stephen; from the moment we met him at our menu tasting right through to our wedding, he was incredible, and again on the second day. My sister was very unwell the day after the wedding (where we all got a fright, severe dehydration from partying too hard a the wedding), but Stephen quickly stepped in and took over. He was just amazing, knowing exactly what to do, making sure my sister, Philip and I and my parents had everything we needed. Thankfully my sister was ok; a short trip to the hospital that evening for some fluids had her sorted.
Once everyone had gone, Philip and I stayed another night. We sat in the reading room, sipping on G&Ts and reminisced on the whole experience. Again, I could not fault it. There is nothing I would change, nothing I would do differently. Everything was perfect for the entire stay, the staff, the service, and the function room. I only wish I could do it all over again.
On the 1st of Jan 2022, we returned for a two-night stay to start our new year in our favourite place. After mentioning to reservations that we had just got married, we arrived to stay in room 202 with a bottle of prosecco on ice waiting for us. These little touches make you feel so special, no other hotel we have stayed in does this.


Review submitted on Thu, 13th of January, 2022
Simon & Aisling Bowes
wedding on Thu, 28th of October, 2021
When searching for venues for an October wedding, we knew that we wanted an all-in-one place to accommodate most of our family and friends. After getting a tour of the property and getting to spend time with Denise and Katie, we both instantly knew that The Great Southern Hotel was the perfect

Read More

location for our wedding day! Throughout the process, we worked with Denise And Katie to plan what was, in our opinion, the most perfect wedding day. They were always prompt in responding to our inquiries, gave us checklists to keep us on task, gave excellent recommendations for vendors, and did an amazing job of setting up the ceremony and reception spaces with our decorations. Their eye for detail before and on the day of the wedding surpassed our expectations.

Our family and friends still rave about the beautiful location and the delicious food every time we see them! We couldn’t have been more happier with our special day, and we owe a lot of that to the staff at The Great Southern Hotel. The professionalism and combined experience of the entire team, including Steve and Jillian, ensured that every step of our wedding journey was nothing but perfect. The day was enjoyable & stress-free as a wedding can be. You won’t find a more flexible, reliable, and genuinely honoured place to host your wedding. They treat each couple with respect and as individuals instead of just another wedding couple. We are happy to have them as a part of our memories of our perfect wedding day. Thanks to all the staff at the Great Southern for giving us the best day of our lives.

Simon & Aisling Bowes

Review submitted on Thu, 6th of January, 2022
Sarah & Eric Hegarty
wedding on Wed, 1st of December, 2021
What I can say, everything was genuinely perfect. We couldn't have wished for a better day. All of the staff in the Great Southern were just fantastic. I couldn't tell you the number of people who commented on how well the Hotel looked, and how impressed they were with the food and the service. On

Read More

a personal level, Eric and I were so grateful to the rest of the wedding team for making the day so seamless and relaxing for us and also for being so accommodating in the run-up to the wedding. We were never worried about anything knowing we were in great hands! A massive thank you to all the staff at the Great Southern. You all really made the day for us, and we are so grateful!
We look forward to a visit very soon!

Thanks again,
Sarah & Eric Hegarty

Review submitted on Tue, 21st of December, 2021
Doirin & Barry Kelleher
wedding on Sat, 23rd of October, 2021
Barry and I had our wedding reception at Great Southern on October 23rd. It was the most amazing day from start to finish. As a couple planning a wedding during a pandemic and having to postpone our February date, Great Southern could not have done more to keep us at ease throughout the many ups and

Read More

downs!

In the month leading up to the wedding, we had many conversations and emails to ensure everything would run smoothly. No job was too big or too small and every request was met with positivity. In every meeting with the staff, we came out with the feeling of certainty that we wouldn’t need to worry about a thing on the day of the wedding. The standards of professional service were just unbeatable!

We got fantastic tips from Denise about the week of the wedding to eliminate stress. We were able to drop off lots of our stationary/ signage etc a few days beforehand and everything was perfect on the day. We did not have one moment of stress from once we arrived at the hotel the day before the wedding until we left three days later.

The venue was stunning on the day, the suppliers were all looked after so well and the guests were treated like royalty. The warmth of the staff was mentioned to us every time we had a conversation about our wedding since our big day. Another thing that was praised by every guest was the food! Every dish was absolute perfection! People were so impressed when they were offered seconds of fillet steaks or sea bass and every guest was accommodated for their dietary requirements in a very discreet manner.
No matter what our guests asked for, they were accommodated. Even when our friends brought their 13-day old baby with them, the staff guided them to an area that was quiet so that the baby could sleep.

The structure of the day was coordinated so well by staff that we never had to think about time or worry about running late for any element of the day. The great Southern do 5 star weddings! Thank you all so much! If only we could do it all again!

Review submitted on Thu, 16th of December, 2021
Mark & Katie McLernon
wedding on Thu, 22nd of July, 2021
Our wedding experience at the Great Southern Killarney was excellent. This was our second attempt to get married after we delayed it a year due to Covid. Denise and Katie supported us throughout. Any worries, requests or questions we had, were managed effectively and efficiently. The lead into the

Read More

wedding was made stress free. Obviously, with Covid, there were last-minute changes to the table plan, but the Great Southern were able to accommodate this with ease.

The day itself ran seamlessly from the welcome reception right through to the end of the night. Nothing was too much trouble. The drinks reception in the garden was fantastic, and we were blessed by the fabulous weather. The food and wine for the meal were delicious, which was echoed by our guests. Our guests have complimented the venue on several occasions. We could not have asked for much more. Thank you so much to the team at the Great Southern. It was the most perfect day!

Kind regards,
Mark & Katie

Review submitted on Thu, 16th of December, 2021
Timothy & Thalita O'Sullivan
wedding on Fri, 3rd of September, 2021
We are so happy and grateful to have chosen The Great Southern Killarney as our wedding venue. Planning a wedding in a world recovering from a global Pandemic is not easy, there are so many uncertainties and insecurities. However, Great Southern made the entire process easier, enjoyable and

Read More

special.

The menu is quite vast, and the food is beautiful. The wine and drink choices were also fantastic. The staff team is amazing. Our wedding coordinator, Denise, has incredible knowledge to make our day perfect in every detail. Jillian and her team made the day smooth and beautiful. Our guests cannot stop praising our wedding and the excellent service they had during the entire day and day after. The hotel is also so beautiful that we decided to take our engagement and wedding shots at the gardens. It was the best decision ever! The photos are amazing, and we got to spend more time with our guests too.

Thank you for making our day so special. As we believed and heard from many of our guests, it was better than any fairy tale. We highly recommend Great Southern as a perfect wedding venue.

Review submitted on Thu, 16th of December, 2021
Sarah & Tom Slattery
wedding on Sat, 17th of July, 2021
How do we put into words how happy we were with our choice of the Great Southern?! Weddings can be challenging to organise at the best of times not to mind in the middle of a global pandemic! Having had to postpone our wedding and with ever-changing guidelines, we didn't really know how the day

Read More

would turn out. However, with Denise's attention to detail particularly in the lead up to the wedding, no stone was left unturned. She completely put our mind at ease on every aspect of the reception in the Great Southern from smaller things such as advice on the layout of the room to advice on what additional extras are most appealing to guests. We couldn't speak more highly of Denise and the support she gave to us throughout the process of organising our wedding.

This support continued on the day itself where Denise was everywhere at once! Everything went so smoothly under Denise's and Jadwiga's watchful eyes. From the beautiful breakfast in the bridal room prior to the ceremony, the drinks reception, and most importantly the meal itself, everything was done to the highest possible standard. We honestly couldn't have asked for more. We got fantastic comments from our friends and family about the food, but not only about the meal but also the canapés and scones served during the drinks reception which went down a treat! The fantastic service overall in the hotel was noted by all of our guests. We were delighted as we saw first hand the effort the staff went to meet ours and our guests' needs. The service really was to a very high standard and exceeded all expectations. Finally, we were thrilled that we decided to have a BBQ in the gardens the next day. We got so many compliments on the high quality of food served, the staff and how accommodating the staff were. Jadwiga kept up the high standard from the day before! The space was laid out beautifully and it really showed off the wonderful setting of the hotel which really is a sight to behold.

Review submitted on Thu, 16th of December, 2021
Anthony & Valerie McGuire
wedding on Fri, 1st of October, 2021
Jillian, Stephen and the chefs and every single staff member made my and Anthony dreams come true. Every single part of our day was magical, from the minute we walked into the hotel, where we were greeted by the staff, to the food and the atmosphere you created. We were just in awe of the team. I

Read More

always dreamed of having my wedding in Great Southern but never did I think it would be on the level it was.

Every person who attended the wedding praised how fabulous the hotel was. The food was such a hit that people are still craving it. We left saying this will be our forever holiday hotel because the memories are just so amazing.

Thank you so so so much for making our dreams a reality. It was definitely no easy task with COVID.

We are looking forward to visiting the hotel as soon as we can.

The very best wishes,

Anthony and Valerie McGuire

Review submitted on Thu, 16th of December, 2021
Una & James Noonan
wedding on Thu, 11th of November, 2021
From the moment we went to view the hotel for our wedding, we knew there was nowhere else that would even compare. Our wedding coordinator, Denise, was amazing from the start, nothing was ever an issue, and she made everything straightforward. The whole way through the planning and on the day

Read More

itself.

The staff of the hotel are incredible. From the minute we walked in the door until we left, they were nothing but welcoming and so helpful. They couldn’t have done enough for our guests and us. Everything on the day itself surpassed all our expectations. From the drinks reception to the amazing meal, we were blown away!
Our guests have not stopped saying how amazing the hotel, staff and food were.
We honestly had the best day ever, and it’s all down to the amazing staff of the Great Southern. We can’t wait to come back again soon, and we look forward to celebrating other weddings there as we know you’ll have a few bookings as a result of our wonderful day!

Thanks again to you all,
Úna & James x

Review submitted on Thu, 16th of December, 2021
Great! you are going to make a supplier or venue a favourite. But first you need to ...
Log in Or Create an Account